We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An idyllic location, wonderful house and warm hosts with amusing tales to tell and the sweetest pooch called Alfie.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rock House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock House
Ranked #1 of 1 Kenmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An idyllic location, wonderful house and warm hosts with amusing tales to tell and the sweetest pooch called Alfie.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

Rock House was recommended to us by friends so we looked up the website and thought 'WOW' but did wonder if it could really be so perfectly perched high above Loch Tay with the most stunning views and be such a contemporary architectural gem blending into the surrounding rock. We were not disappointed - it exceeded expectations not least because of the wonderful Penny and Roland, who felt like friends almost immediately - never mind the amazing setting and the luxurious but 'homey' ambience. We loved our stay and all the warm hospitality and glorious food, the views, the red squirrels playing on the deck, the lovely little extra touches - mini Easter eggs in our room, homemade biscuits, the White Company products.....all made for an unforgettable couple of days. We have booked to return in the Autumn to stay in one of the cottages and cannot wait. This will be a regular haunt. Thanks Penny and Roland.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilly1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
96
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We arrived in the dark on Friday night to the warmest of welcomes and an outstanding dinner. Penny is an exquisite hostess in every way - the food, the relaxed atmosphere. We quickly felt we had arrived at friends' house for a dinner party. We woke the next morning to the beautiful scenery up and down Loch Tay, and the silence of the countryside. The bedroom was perfectly decorated (White Company /French style), the en suite immaculate and fresh. The breakfast was quite superb, as we sat beside the huge glass windows looking down to the loch and being entertained by red squirrels on the deck outside! Roland and Penny were excellent hosts in every respect and this is an experience we will be repeating.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MouseSaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

This place is really special. Our stay was completely faultless, from the delightful owners to the stunning house/interior and surrounding views - a highlight for me was the best breakfast that I think I've ever had. Miles better than 5* hotels that I've stayed in. Go there and experience it for yourself - you definitely won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MA_Reid31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed with hosts Penny and Roland in Rock House between Christmas and New Year, as a very last-minute treat. From the first phonecall on Boxing Day to waving us away after a 2 night stay, we could not have felt better accommodated. The House itself is stunning (think Grand Designs with location managed by Where Eagles Dare), but it is the nature of the stay that makes for such a great break. Even Alfie (the family Norwich Terrier) was determined to make us feel welcome, and great extra treats such as lighting a campfire down by the lochside, all conspired to encourage many repeat visits. For us the best bit of all was being pampered by Penny's amazing cooking on our second night, having been ably wine-advised by the very knowledgable Roland - we loved the meal and felt like Royalty!

Hoping we can find an excuse to be in Loch Tay again very soon - thanks again to our hosts.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alburtodimperio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

Fabulous hosts. Fabulous architecture. Fabulous interior. Fabulous cooking. Fabulous surroundings. We loved the Rockhouse and would recommend it without hesitation. Five stars all round. I especially loved the gorgeous downstairs bedroom we stayed in and the luxurious en suite bathroom full of White Company toiletries, dressing gown and slippers. Oh and that Penny was so lovely she even gave us a glass of milk before we headed off for bed!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Part of us has been left behind in this beautiful part of the world...Rock House, Loch Tay is a piece of heaven on Earth that has stolen a little piece of our souls to stay behind forever in its green and stunning land...From the moment we landed in Scotland we were warmed by its friendly people and awesome landscape - even more so when we arrived at Rock House and were met by the charming Roland...and later that evening by the lovely Penny. We felt like family and were treated as such...Our bedroom was clean, bright and fresh and the comfy bed made with crisp white cotton sheets and piled with sumptuous pillows and cushions...We could lay on the bed feeling totally cossested drinking tea,nibbling on the delicious biscuits (not, thankfully, custard creams or rich tea) and later in the evening sipping wine and crunching on the Kettle crisps and chocolate (also provided - great touch!!)...Breakfast was a long and delicious affair...everything (bar the milk, coffee, tea and butter) made by Penny's fair hand.. From the intensely fruity selection of homemade jams and marmalades slathered thickly on homemade bread, to the creamy yoghurt poured over handpicked blueberries and sprinkled with cinnamon crunch (again Penny's own recipe) to the mother of all breakfast grand finale's - the cooked breakfast! Exquisite and cooked to exact specification - even, much to Penny's chagrin, having to purposefully overcook eggs to meet the strange taste's of my parter Mike (well his is American!!). And all this calorific cosseting whilst watching the moods of Loch Tay from the huge windows, or looking enviously at all the lovely pieces of Art and bits and bobs that are in abundance at Rock House... Ideal Home should do an article on these talented people and they definately should be on the telly! Penny is Scotland's answer to Nigella Lawson and Roland...well words fail but he even lent us a camera as we could not find ours!! I could eulogise about Rock House and its lovely inhabitants (including Alfie the sweetest Norwich Terrier ever) for hours but the best thing is to go up to Rock House and find out for yourself...beware though, you might not want to leave...We will be booking again for sure...(ps ignore your sat nav - heed the Rock House directions, or you could end up like a white stretch limo we came across on a one track hairpin bend: completely wedged and immovable). Sarah and Mike

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

My husband and I had the great fortune to stay at Skye Cottage for 4 nights last year, and are looking forward to our next trip as soon as possible. The view from the living room cannot be beat; a straight shot down to Loch Tay, gorgeous sunrise views! Roland and Penny are fabulous hosts, and our dinner with them was excellent. The decor of the cottage is lovely, and the selection of books was eclectic and fun. Some wonderful cookbooks that I read cover to cover among others. All in all it was a faultless stay, even the rainy day that was stayed in. Actually, in retrospect, that was one of our favorite days. We have meat from the butcher in Aberfeldy produce from the store, a bottle of wine and some lovely biscuits from Penny. Good books a fire in the fireplace and the patter of rain on the roof. Very cozy, romantic, and relaxing!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VJStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
1.7 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
14.2 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,222 reviews
15.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
10.0 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House

Property: Rock House
Address: Loch Tay, Kenmore PH15 2HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmore
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rock House Hotel Kenmore
Rock House Kenmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing