We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent insight into the local past”

The Scottish Crannog Centre
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Kenmore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Scottish Crannog Centre is a 5 star, authentic reconstruction of an early Iron Age loch-dwelling which was built by the Scottish Trust for Underwater Archaeology. We also have a Gold award for environmental responsibility.Take a look at some of our underwater discoveries in the exhibition; walk over water into the Iron Age on your unique crannog tour, and get hands-on with ancient crafts and technologies. You can even hire a dugout canoe to paddle into prehistory (weather permitting). Special events run regularly and feature artists, musicians, skilled craft workers and other specialists who, together with our own team of Iron Age guides, actively bring the past to life for adults and children alike from ages 4 +. Also at our Centre, why not browse in our gift shop offering an excellent selection of books, crafts, and related items, or enjoy light refreshments from our snackbar.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent insight into the local past”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

An excellent recontruction of how folk used to live. Very informative staff, and great demonstration of how difficult it is to make fire!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank natds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    106
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
92 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great visit on a rainy day”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We ran into a spot of rain when we visited Loch Tay and found the Crannog Centre to be a fascinating way to spend an hour or two. The staff are enthusiastic and informative and the re-created dwelling is quite interesting. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ToniMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing piece of living history”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We visited the Crannog Centre after reading an article in the press and seeing a TV programme which featured the centre. Fascinating and compliments to enthusiastic and knowledgeable staff who really brought the whole visit to life. There are opportunities to try out fire making using traditional methods and wood turning on bow lathes. Wheelchairs access is difficult due to the authentic location and construction of the building. Recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank busker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hands on History”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This small site certainly punches well above its weight - it is a little gem that must not be missed if in the area. The staff are fabulous, friendly, very knowledgeable and make sure you get the most out of your visit. But it not just about listening and reading you are encouraged to have a go at all the activities, so whether you are old, young or have children it is a truly enjoyable visit. And at the end you walk out over the water and sit in the crannog itself and feel the way the lived 2,500 years ago. Dont miss it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank david_ng18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsall
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous piece of history”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stumbled upon this Crannog whilst out walking looking for a coffee. What we got was a fascinating piece of history, including hands on activities as well the opportunity to enter the Crannog itself. An unexpected piece of educational fun aswell as a coffee at the end.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DavinaKelsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scottish Crannog Centre also viewed

Kenmore, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Scottish Crannog Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing