We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great opportunity missed”

Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Kenmore
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: International, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Award winning bar, restaurant & brasserie in magnificent Highland Perthshire in the conservation village of Kenmore. Wood burning fires, leather couches, family friendly, pets welcome, alfresco dining on the sunny decking and a pleasant & welcoming atmosphere. Open all year, 7 days a week serving from 9am - 9pm. Bookings recommend for Friday & Saturday evenings. Special occasions, birthday parties and wedding etc.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We visited here after a walk and wanted afternoon tea, we ordered tea and a mixture of cakes and scones, it took 20 mins for the drinks to arrive and we had finished this before the cakes arrived. There was an indifferent attitude by the staff. It is in a beautiful setting and could be fabulous with the right care and attention to customer service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angie337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your review following your visit to The Courtyard in December. We’re sorry we did not provide our normal high standard of service on this occasion. Please accept our apologies, we hope this will not deter you from visiting next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 426 of 631 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

My Husband and I honeymooned in Kenmore between 16th and 23rd Dec 2013 and we are so happy we found this place, we visited everyday to buy in fresh food to cook at our self catered cottage, and to either eat breakfast/lunch/dinner or simply to have a drink. The food is amazing, even the hot drinks i.e hot chocolates taste divine and not like a 'pub hot chocolate' the atmosphere was lovely, one day we took our books and sat by the log stove for ours reading and drinking - it was heaven. The cafe is very pet friendly and the staff are so welcoming and were very excited for us when they realised we were newlyweds. It has crossed our minds to relocate up here and the courtyard would definitley be a reason to go ahead with it! Can't wait to come back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maiher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Congratulations (again!!) and thanks for such a fabulous review. We’re so glad you enjoyed it and made the most of your stay by treating yourselves at The Courtyard in addition to self-catering. Perhaps we will see you for your 1st Anniversary? We hope so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

In the midst of winter a warm and welcome oasis. The restaurant uses this time in early January when it is quieter to take chance to upgrade / paint etc so was closed Tuesday/Wednesday. One side of the restaurant was closed off so didn't impinge on the other open half. Despite that enjoyed a very tasty Pumpkin soup and fresh bread as a quick lunch between 2 lots of 9 holes. Chose to eat at one of the large comfy leather sofas near the wood burning stove for lunch. Dinner in the evening in attractive surroundings was most tasty. Great choice of menu and wine list to suit all palates and reasonably priced. Really enjoyed the haggis, neeps and turnips in a whiskey and honey sauce.......not my usual choice! Highly recommend.

Thank adnilyesac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Lovely review from a lovely lady, thank you! Thank you also for being so accommodating in terms of our essential maintenance programme. We’re delighted you enjoyed both the Golf and The Courtyard and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Visited with my husband for a late lunch, we were immediately welcomed and given menus. Drinks came very quickly and we felt really looked after, Had a lovely comfy seat on the sofa next to the open log fire which was toasty. Food arrived, well presented and tasty. We will return next time we are in the area

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GolfStar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review, we’re so glad you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you next time you’re in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I frequently visit Kenmore and the Courtyard Restaurant is always on our itinerary! The food is delicious and the venue is welcoming. The staff are courteous, professional and friendly. I would recommend the Courtyard Restaurant to anyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bordercollie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thanks for both a great review and your loyal custom. We’re glad you enjoyed your latest visit and look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant also viewed

Kenmore, Perth and Kinross
Kenmore, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing