We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellence of the court yard and staff”

Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Kenmore
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: International, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Award winning bar, restaurant & brasserie in magnificent Highland Perthshire in the conservation village of Kenmore. Wood burning fires, leather couches, family friendly, pets welcome, alfresco dining on the sunny decking and a pleasant & welcoming atmosphere. Open all year, 7 days a week serving from 9am - 9pm. Bookings recommend for Friday & Saturday evenings. Special occasions, birthday parties and wedding etc.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

just returned from a week staying in the stables at the mains and dined in the court yard a couple of time.althought pricey compared too what we pay down where i stay the quality of the food was amazing and not really anymore expensive as the other places too eat in the area.the service was brilliant even tho they were constantly run off their feet they still made the effort too make conversation.we had a woman called ashley i think her name was that served us a few times and she was brilliant.always remembered you and made a point of coming over to make general convo.a gold star for her i would say...hope to visit again soon :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mccleary12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCourtyardManager, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for a great review and especially for the comments regarding the excellent service provided by our staff. Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 487 of 641 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We are on the start of a few days break in Perthshire, and on entering Kenmore saw this establishment. Impressed by its look, we stopped. I warn you - don't make the same mistake! It clearly relies on its location and kerb appeal to pull in punters where it can overcharge them for very poor quality. It is doing the other businesses in Kenmore a disservice, as we were so disappointed that we didn't stay to see any more of the town.

First impressions were good, it's well laid out and comfortable. The baby change was actually clean (more rare than you'd think...), and the place smelled lovely from the fire pit in the centre of the room.

However, things went south when it came to ordering. One look at the menu put us off ideas of lunch - nearly £8 for a "bar snack" of humous. But as we'd already ordered two soft drinks and unloaded our baby from the car, felt we had to have something. We ordered a slice of almond cake and a fruit scone with cream and jam. I'm glad we had been told it was almond cake, because it tasted of nothing. It was also the smallest piece of cake I've ever been served...so at least this place is good for dieters...? The scone was more generous in size, but very dry and the cream was just squirty stuff.

The price for this - £8.40. Value? I'll let you decide...but I know we won't be calling in on our way home. It's one thing to set your prices upmarket, but if the offering doesn't match then the customer just feels cheated.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCourtyardManager, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for reviewing The Courtyard following your visit in May. We're sorry you didn't feel able to order any of our bar snacks - including the Home Marinaded Olives, Hummus & Pitta Bread at £6.95 - and were disappointed with the home baked cakes. On the plus side we note you appreciated the comfortable surroundings and in particular the cleanliness of the baby change facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in a cottage here at the beginning of April. In between sightseeing we spent lovely mornings, afternoons and evenings in the Courtyard bar by the log fire. The food was superb we had a beautiful cooked breakfast and the Cullen skink was so tasty while it snowed outside. The staff were all very attentive and courteous and the service excellent. Joanne and Billy looked after us very well and we met Ross, the chef on our last night so we were able to thank him for the lovely food.
I would recommend here without hesitation. The whole atmosphere in the bar, the scenery and The Bothy cottage made our holiday so very lovely and we will definitely be going back.
Many thanks.
Jon and Janine

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jaywalkerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCourtyardManager, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent Courtyard experience, we’re so pleased you enjoyed not only the food but the ambience and the company too. The staff will be delighted to read your kind comments and we hope it won’t be too long until you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We try to visit this restaurant each time we are in Kenmore and it has yet to disappoint us. The staff, although rushed off their feet, are eager to help and the service is fast and efficient. Value for money meals in the bar, didn't try the restaurant this time as the bar with its huge log fire is so welcoming. Really good food, well presented, prepared and good value for money. Definitely a place to visit if you are anywhere near Kenmore.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tigiwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

after being a regular customer of previous owners and was dismayed by the plummet in food and quality of service i was pleasently surprised by the upturn in service food drinks all a major improvement of the last 10 to 12 months of turmoil hope this continues

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCourtyardManager, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Great news to hear our efforts are paying off, thank you so much for sticking with us and for taking the time to post such a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant also viewed

Kenmore, Perth and Kinross
Kenmore, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing