We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first visit!”

The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Bembridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $86
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood kitchen is a fresh seafood, cocktail & wine kind of place. Quirky. Outdoor. Seasonal. On the beach. Reached down a few wooden stairs. A tiny hut serving seafood platters, cocktails & wines from 12o/c. This is the spot for fresh seafood platters on a sunny day. Chilled rose. Relaxed. Open on dry days. Do call to check. We dont do tea and cake, afternoon teas, burgers, chips, chicken nuggets and no fancy coffees. Dont arrive in a hurry. Enjoy the view, seafood, cocktails & wine. Cards accepted. Casual dress. Blankets/sunscreen provided. CAMPING LOO! Baby changing and baby food heating facilities. Kids welcome with a small kids menu and a few toys to play with. Food is cooked to order from a kisok, so expect a wait. Local IW crab and lobster (if the fishermen can get out and we haven't sold out). Most of our menu is Gluten free. We are not posh, our furniture doesn't match. But we are friendly and relaxed. Bring kids, dogs and a jumper! X
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I visited the IOW for a short end of Sept weekend break, walking around the headland from Bembridge with mutterings from her about a 'beach hut cafe around here somewhere'. And then it hove into view! We had lunch there, after a warm welcome had put us well at ease. We marvelled at the gorgeous view from our outside table in front of the kitchen window. We felt utter relaxation there, an elusive thing to feel. And we ate a really 'top notch' lunch, the sauce accompanying my sardines as delicious as it was "secret!" Of all the years we have been visiting the island, this is one area of the island we have never before visited. We will not be over-looking it during future visits...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank spacey1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 307 of 377 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

After hearing and reading so much about this place, we decided to book up and venture over to the Beach Hut for my birthday meal.
Well what can I say, from start to finish we were made to feel so very welcome. Unfortunately, the weather was slightly overcast, so we sat inside, but it was lovely and so cosy, with such lovely views.
We brought our own wine along which was kindly placed in a wine cooler, and we slowly browsed over the menu and specials board, trying to decide what we wanted, with the great range of fish dishes to choose from.
We were not disappointed, all our meals were excellent, very tasty and well presented, with complimentary bread, which with the cutlery, was served in sand castle buckets, which is a great ideal to go with the beach surrounding's. And to finish my meal off, the staff knew it was my birthday and I was given ice cream, a lovely touch, thank you.
Its a little gem in the corner of our Island which I wish we had visited earlier, but we will definitely be back, we cant praise you guys enough, we wish you well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Well worth seeking out. Views are delightful, food excellent & staff friendly & helpful. Will definitely return on our next visit to the IOW.
On a different note, I understand the owner's pride & passion in his place & I think that drives the quality of the whole experience. However, no matter how frustrated he gets with negative reviews, he should bite his tongue & refrain from letting it become personal & trading personal insults with reviewers. I think it detracts from what he is trying (& succeeding) to create. These reviews are people's perception (which for them is their reality), which you are of course entitled not to accept, but venting your spleen in a public domain doesn't help your case! Just saying, 'cos I liked your & your establishment...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank AlanCotswoldsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonIOW, Owner at The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thanks for the nice review, we're glad you enjoyed your visit to The Beach Hut. We hope to see you again.

On a different note, it seems you are suggesting that any review is ok as it is just the customers perception but any replies we make are 'venting my spleen'. (Aren't I allowed an opinion too?) I don't think at any time I was 'trading personal insults'. But don't tempt me!!! ;-)

To be serious for a change, bad reviews greatly affect our 'score' on TA and potentially affect our business that we have invested time and money in. Therefore, resonable complaints will be dealt with in a courteous and professional manner. Silly reviews (such as scoring us 'terrible' because we are full and you haven't booked) or petty nit-picking will be treated with the comtempt it deserves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were recommended to visit and made a special trip to go there, it was 1.45 on a rainy Saturday afternoon and the area was nearly deserted, greeted by a smiling waiter - we were asked if we'd booked to be told sorry guys we're full, actually the restaurant was half empty, but he insisted that it was fully booked and they couldn't fit us it. We explained we'd made a special trip and were prepared to dine quickly, whilst we looked around at a sea of empty tables, we were still turned away by the still smiling unbending waiter, very very disappointing!!
Moral of the story - do not ever go here without a booking!!!

3  Thank dress-doll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcouple1, Owner at The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

This is an absolute nonsense review:

A) It appears you didn't eat with us. Isn’t eating somewhere the point of a TA review?
B) It didn't rain on a Saturday in August at 1.45pm in Bembridge.
C) We don't have any waiters. We are pleased you were met by someone smiling, but we try not to have them too bendy.
D) We could not possibly have an empty and deserted restaurant, We don’t have one. We are a kiosk with outside tables and chairs. We have limited seating for 8 inside. Hardly a restaurant with a sea of tables.
E) Every Saturday was fully booked with customers eating outside on the hottest and most sunniest August known to the UK for 4 years. We had some rain around 3pm on a Saturday. That day our sea of 8 seats inside our half empty restaurant would have been full of already eating guests who had taken the time to book so not to have been disappointed.

If this is true we find a review from someone being told somewhere is full when they turn up, having not booked and then complaining on TA, confirmation of their own petulant attitude rather than respectful one of a business managing orders and bookings in a traditional way of taking reservations and running a busy kitchen serving over 100 lunches from a small kiosk. But we thank you very much for your review. It is our first terrible one.

Moral of the story – do not review somewhere unless you have eaten there and if you make a special trip and don’t want to be disappointed, book a table.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a great spot for lunch, bring your own wine and cash only be warned! Plus the nearest loo is a very long way away (unless you gatecrash the Crab and Lobster) I read that they were going to put in a portaloo, but haven't yet. Proper wild location among the quirky beach huts of Forelands Beach. All tables outside so dress accordingly. Lovely seafood and fish, but not much else if you don't fancy it or are allergic. So enjoy a great lunch and then chill out on the lovely wild beach on your doorstep.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annastylewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcouple1, Owner at The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hi Anna, many thanks for your lovely review. Glad you liked, look forward to seeing you all when you are back in town. Just a quick response on 'loogate', having been round the many options for a loo at the cafe over the 18 months we've had it, I can confirm it's proved particularly tricky as there is no mains drainage. We were never going to put a portaloo in as it can't be emptied (waste won't go uphil as the two portaloo companies on the Island told us with much shaking of the head). We also can't put a Portaloo in the car park at the top of the stairs as 1. Its not our land, and 2. someone once did and it was abused and left a mess so had to be removed. This year we installed a rather posh camping loo for the team in a shed build by Jon with nice toiletries supplied for them to use as our days are hot and sticky sometimes. Twice it was used by the public and blocked up and the nice toiletries we supplied for our staff were stolen. Jon had to unblock and empty it. And during this time the staff had no loo. So all in all that was a disaster and we have been force to padlock it again. A camping loo has a very small capacity so if it's opened up again and gets filled up Jon has to empty it daily into the cespit which is a particularly unpleasant job and out of use once full as it can't be emptied if the cafe is full of people. So we clearly state via the website, voicemail, our menu, inside blackboard, Facebook page and to all that book that the nearest loo is 2 mins drive in the car from us or 10 mins along the beach by foot. Our terrace was once public toilets which were run and owned by the council. They removed them some time ago and have recently replaced them at the RNLI lifeboat station 2 mins in the car from us. We are also lucky to have public loos in the village and down on the embankment (kindly funded by our very nice Parish Council) , which considering the last IW County Council closed and sold off most of the public loos over the last few years on the Island, means we in Bembridge are unusually spoilt with our choice of where to spend a penny! Hope that explains why we have a limited facility. Next time you come on down, peruse and select one of the many delightful loo options that Bembridge has to offer before heading to us! See you soon. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood Kitchen also viewed

Bembridge, Isle of Wight
Bembridge, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing