We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel with a view...”

The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood Kitchen
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Bembridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $91
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood kitchen is a fresh seafood, cocktail & wine kind of place. Quirky. Outdoor. Seasonal. On the beach. Reached down a few wooden stairs. A tiny hut serving seafood platters, cocktails & wines from 12o/c. This is the spot for fresh seafood platters on a sunny day. Chilled rose. Relaxed. Open on dry days. Do call to check. We dont do tea and cake, afternoon teas, burgers, chips, chicken nuggets and no fancy coffees. Dont arrive in a hurry. Enjoy the view, seafood, cocktails & wine. Cards accepted. Casual dress. Blankets/sunscreen provided. CAMPING LOO! Baby changing and baby food heating facilities. Kids welcome with a small kids menu and a few toys to play with. Food is cooked to order from a kisok, so expect a wait. Local IW crab and lobster (if the fishermen can get out and we haven't sold out). Most of our menu is Gluten free. We are not posh, our furniture doesn't match. But we are friendly and relaxed. Bring kids, dogs and a jumper! X
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Fantastic ( and sometimes dramatic ) location and wonderful food ... any time of day .
We have been mainly in for coffee & cakes and lunch.. excellent stuff . Then (or before ) there is a great walk to be had on the beach ...crikey , what more could one want !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mary-Anne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 341 of 377 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have been to the beach hut a few times over the last year or so, the food always pleases, is freshly prepared and delicious.
We were last here over May bank holiday, so it was very busy, and service very slow, which, whilst understandable, is a pity, as you feel with a better system, it could be swifter. However, we are always happy to sit and watch the seascape, and the kids very happy to run on beach.!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LizW176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went The Beach Hut for lunch with friends, the food was pretty good, the boys had mussels which were served almost immediately, which worried us a bit - had they been just kept warm - a bit dodgy for sea food - we found out later, when they both had dodgy tummies. I would say the staff were very friendly and the view spectacular.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We visited on a beautiful Sunday afternoon for coffee and cake. Fresh Columbian coffee and lovely homemade carrot cake and lemon muffin served with very friendly chat and lovely smiles. When I asked for a glass of water a whole jug and two glasses was brought to our table.

The view is stunning and the food yummy - what more could you ask for. Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kimshros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I would agree with Pam P's review. Didn't realise that the place had a change of ownership since the last time we visited over 5 years ago. The day we visited it was a the first bright sunny Saturday we have had for ages. We didn't realise that if you book a table a waitress comes and takes your order; if don't book then you have to stand in a queue..sometimes a long queue! Why can't everyone's order be taken at the table at least then the waiting staff might notice that tables need clearing. Many times waiting staff passed tables needing clearing empty handed. We ordered 2 dishes from the tasting menu we got one dish then had to ask for the other one having waited 10 minutes for it to appear we weren't keen to mention it earlier to staff having overheard the owner tell her staff that customers where "in a bad mood today"!!

The food was good once it arrived although I'm not sure what brand of tea bag they use but felt it was not a high quality tea bag but I appreciate that it is all a matter of personal taste. The location is fabulous and we have leant our lesson about ordering and wouldn't want to cross the scary owner!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alig99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonIOW, Owner at The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Sorry you didn't like the tea. I have informed Mr Twinings that his product is of low quality, however I have yet to get a response from him.

As for the queue, no one likes to wait but it what happens when it's busy. That is the advantage of booking a table for a specified time!

Now be nice next time, or I'll set the 'scary' owner on you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood Kitchen also viewed

Bembridge, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing