We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It may be anchored now!”
Review of Pilot Boat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pilot Boat Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Bembridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“It may be anchored now!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Well what an improved venue from a year ago! The whole eating experience has improved, the food was good, well presented and the staff attitude was welcoming. We went at a lunch time and it was very quiet and perhaps a little light low volumed music would have prevented us all hearing each others conversation and a little more warmth would have been good. The decor is tasteful but it still lacks atmospere, I really want The Pilot Boat to work as it has the location and there are limited eateries in Bembridge. It is important that the landlord is present to promote his hostelry and to get to know his customers but on his own admission he does not work often which leaves the bar staff to do his job. So come on Mr Landlord get out there and meet us all otherwise the anchor will be pulled again,!

Room Tip: Sorry unable to help, but there is no reason for the rooms to be of a lesser standard than the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    40
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
29
52
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

A nice local pub, which is situated close to the beach, offers typical British food and a very relaxing atmosphere. Sometimes they have live local bands in there. It's an ideal place for tourists really...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Pilot Boat Inn was recommended by friends who live on the IoW. It's a quirky and fun place to stay - the landlord, George, is so friendly and welcoming. We only stayed a night and needed a twin room - it was a fabulous room - small, yes - but beautifully furnished with very comfortable (firm) beds and a lovely bathroom with very good toiletries. It really felt more like a small hotel than a B&B. We had supper in the bar which was most delicious and next morning our breakfast was quite simply one of the best I've had. Really very good indeed.
The pub is due to appear in Four in a Bed early next year so I suspect it's going to be a very very busy B&B for many years to come. The small downside to our room was that it was above the kitchen which was only a problem because we were very tired and went to bed early. It was absolutely fine once the kitchen staff had gone home for the night. I thought it was very good value given the excellent cooked breakfast and newspapers to read.

Room Tip: a double at the front would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pusilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is primarily a local pub, providing food, with half a dozen B&B rooms. Stayed for 3 nights, our friends stayed for 5 nights. The rooms are newly-renovated, clean & tasteful. Ours & our friends' rooms didn't have wardrobes - at £90 per night, this was a real surprise. Our room was spacious, theirs wasn't. Beds lovely and HUGE (maybe smaller beds and wardrobes would be good?!). So, great for one night, but maybe find hotel with bigger rooms, for longer stays.
Owner and staff very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Pub locals also friendly.

Room Tip: Ask to see all available rooms first, then take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snapshooter888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We didnt know where we were going to stop on the isle of white,boy did we end up in an amazing pub.Driving past all the boats in Bembridge and WOW.A pub that looks like a boat.Luckily for us they had a room.(our room was called the bridge)It was spotlessly clean,fantastic shower ,wonderfull bed,everything you need.Down in the bar,hand pulled local ale for me,great wine for the wife.We had a fantastic evening.In the morning a quick walk to the beach (about 100 meters) away,and back for breakfast.They couldnt do enough for us,George and Juliet were the most amazing hosts,the breakfast was Fantastic,Fantastic Fantastic.
We will be stopping again soon,I just wish it was a little closer.The staff couldnt do enough for us,they were brilliant.We highly recommend this place to anybody

Room Tip: The Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DalesAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Arrived Sunday for lunch with a Wheelchair. Whilst this was not great access for a wheelchair, the staff (I assume the landlord) was great and offered help as did a couple of other 'locals'. Once in, nothing was too much trouble. Food was great as was the service. Dogs also welcome which was great and good to see a lovely old deaf retriever 'Elsa' lying around the pub. Very homely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Owner at Pilot Boat Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Actually we have complete wheelchair access around the side of the building! This may not be obvious when you come in but a question to any staff and you would have been shown where it is!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed for one night, lovely rooms and the best nights sleep I've had in ages and loads of hot water. Great pub made special by the staff. Good meal great beer and a sparkling host, nice one George. The roast beef for lunch was amazing. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: All great rooms, beds amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kolwezirolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bembridge
2.0 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
442 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crab & Lobster Inn
The Crab & Lobster Inn
#10 of 10 in Bembridge
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mulberry Cottage
Mulberry Cottage
#2 of 10 in Bembridge
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Spinnaker
The Spinnaker
#4 of 10 in Bembridge
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilot Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot Boat Inn

Property: Pilot Boat Inn
Address: Station Road, Bembridge PO35 5NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Bembridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bembridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pilot Boat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boat-shaped pub located on Bembridge harbour with 5 all new ensuite cabins (in 2012), all beautifully appointed, above pub which was completely refurbished in 2011 and serving all fresh, made in house pub food, including homemade burgers, fish pie, local crab salad and fresh off the boat fish. Also sofas, roaring fire, piano, beer, three outside terraces and attractive friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Pilot Boat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilot Boat Inn Bembridge, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing