We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, shame about the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bembridge
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
719 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, shame about the price!”
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We have stayed at the Bembridge Coast Hotel about three or four times now and each time we enjoy our stay. I agree that it is mostly over 60s that stay there, but I am in my 20's and my husband in his 40's and as we go on holiday to relax and enjoy OURSELVES rather than to make friends or mix much with the other guests, this doesn't bother us. It's actually nice to know that our holiday won't be ruined by badly behaved children running around the place.

We usually try and avoid the themed weekends as there is rarely anything on that we are interested in and the prices are usually more expensive during these times. However we did once go to a Baron Knights weekend and were extremely upset and disappointed to find that the hotel had changed the night and time of their appearance without making it very clear, so we ended up missing the performance. When we complained, the Duty Manager was not very sympathetic and did not take us seriously. We did receive a money-off voucher for our next stay in the end, but this had to be used in such a short time that we were unable to make use of it.

CLEANLINESS

We cannot fault the cleanliness as both the rooms and the public areas all seem to be spotless. The restaurant is large and airy and the food choice good, particularly the carvery buffet.

LOCATION

The location is perfect for us as we bring our own car and can access all areas of the Isle of Wight from the hotel. The hotel has a large car park which always seems to have enough spaces to accomodate all of its guests. I love the grounds and gardens and sea views - these are my favourite at this hotel. When the weather is warm it is lovely to sit outside and admire the gardens and views.

ROOMS

We generally stay in the standard rooms which are enough for us as we do not spend much time in them. They are quite a good size and clean and comfortable. I have stayed in an upgraded room before and found them very nice, but too expensive for a regular stay. I would upgrade for a special occasion, though.

SERVICE

As mentioned previously with the Baron Knights mix-up, we do not think too much to the service. Luckily we have not had cause to deal with the staff much apart from this so I can't comment on what they are like at other times.

I did once enquire as to what had happened to the Jacuzzi in the pool area, as we arrived one year and it had gone and yet it was still being advertised in the brochure and on the website! The leisure facilities are the main reason we choose this hotel and we were extremely disappointed to find that it was no longer there. We were told that all of the Warner Hotels had removed/were removing their Jacuzzis due to health and safety reasons but the receptionist seemed unconcerned about the misrepresentation in their brochue. This occurred during a stay a few years ago and not during our April 2008 stay, but I am using it as an example of the staff's general attitude.

VALUE

As previously mentioned, this hotel is expensive. The lunch meals in the bar are reasonably priced, as are items sold in the little hotel shop (a very useful commodity) but we could only ever afford to spend a long weekend here rather than a week. Although I don't think that there is enough at this hotel or on the Isle of White to keep us occupied for a week anyway.

They have a good range of entertainment and themed weekends at this hotel (not much of it appeals to us, but I can see that there is a wide range of types of entertainment available) and it is a nice, relaxed, comfortable hotel and a good base from which to explore the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyGirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil_at_Bembridge, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2009
Thank you for your review and I am delighted you have chosen to stay with us on several occasions. I note your review was from last year and let me assure you we work very hard on the team's attitude towards guest care. This year our guests have rated our team attitude/efficiency at 83% Very Good which in this industry is a very very credible result. It is nice to read all the things you like about the hotel and I think the Baron Knights issue was before my time which must have been before Summer 2006 and not something that happens very often. Anyway thanks again and we hope to welcome you back AGAIN soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    421
    118
    33
    15
See reviews for
147
631
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We had a most enjoyable Easter Break at the Bembridge Coast Hotel. It is in a beautiful location, right on the coast. You can join footpaths from the hotel car park and explore Bembridge easily. The restuarant is very clean and welcoming. The meals are good, and you can have plenty of what you like. We stayed in Ledge House, and did notice that a bundle of dirty bedding was left on the landing overnight. The room was adequate and the bathroom was clean. For the actual time you spend in your room, there really is no need to pay for an upgrade.
The pool and sauna are a nice touch.
We didn't take part in day time activities, but the evening entertainment was good. We all thought Union Gap were very good, but Eddison Lighthouse (the main stars of the weekend) were very poor!!! The hotels own entertainment of Songs from the Musicals was excellent, and we would like to congratulate the team for such a professional show.
We have been to other Warner Hotels, and this time there were definitely younger people there, showing it is not only for oldies!
We love the Isle of Wight and can't think of a nicer place to stay than the Bembridge Coast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-on-Crouch
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

We have just returned from a three day break over Valentines Weekend, having been invited by friends to join in their Golden Wedding celebrations. We had no idea what to expect. It was our first visit to a Warners Leisure Hotel, but we were so impressed that we have already booked for the same time next year (with a substantial discount). We are also planning to visit some of the other Warner hotels in the meantime. We had a standard Ambassador room, which was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was a good size, the bed was enormous and there was even a iron and ironing board. The food was wonderful with a choice of the carvery or a la carte every evening, and an excellent breakfast buffet. Nothing was too much trouble for our waitress Ali and we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. There was as much or as little to do as everyone wanted and no pressure to join in at all. The entertainment team put on three excellent shows during our stay, and also performed various duties throughout the day. We were lucky enough to have good weather but if it had been bad there was certainly enough to do at the hotel. We are definitely looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil_at_Bembridge, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2009
I am delighted you had a great time and thanks for a lovely review . We will look forward to welcoming you back soon !
I have also passed on the kind comments to Ali the waitress with a big thank you and a small award in recognition of her excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

We have just returned from a fantastic 4 day dance and party break organised by GN Holidays at this wonderful Hotel. It was so well put together, we were occupied the whole time with Dance tution, Demos from pro dancers 2 of which were on the 2005 " Strictly", when we were not dancing there was Swimming, Sauna, Archery, Quizzes, Table Tennis and much more inc a FREE bar from midday to 11pm!! All of the staff were very chirpy and helpful and we were made to feel so welcome.The restaurant had an amazing menu with food to suit everyones taste, we were able to share the same table with our friends despite them booking their holiday several months after us.A special mention for Arek our waiter, Lizzie one of the lovely friendly dancers and Gareth he had us in stitches...a very funny guy.We will certainly return again. Due to the snow on the mainland we decided not to return on Monday and it was no bother at all to book for an extra night, half price as well.The receptionist took care of everything for us and rebooked our ferry for the following day, and we certainly werent in any hurry to leave anyway!!! we were having such a great time. Nothing was too much trouble...thanks to all.

  • Liked — Everything, views, food, dancing, staff, entertainment, leisure suite
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SussexDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil_at_Bembridge, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2009
Thank You for your kind words and I am so pleased you had a fantastic time. I have also shared the review with our leadership team and passed on the kind comments to Arek, Lizzie and Gareth. Hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

celebration Birthday weekend for me and my two sisters and hisbands. lovely location, comfortable rooms but restaurant horrendous, packed with insufficient staff, mostly buffet type food, boring menu, huge queues. breakfast the worse, queues queuse and more queues.
Entetainment venue packed, difficult to find a seat, could not see entetainment and could not get back to the bar once you were there.
would not return
very expensive for what it is.
not value for money, look for good hotels in location you like.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — terrible restaurant and food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lion106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil_at_Norton, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2009
As General Manager of the hotel I am also very dissapointed about this review. The main listing for Bembridge Coast on Trip Advisor shows the general feedback is excellent and we are indeed rated the second best Hotel on
the beautiful Isle of Wight. With regard to the restaurant service in 2008 of the 1000's of guests surveyed 86% rated their Restaurant service as VERY GOOD. We also have a fully trained team of professionals on hand to deal with any customer service issues, our guests only need to ask for assistance if not entirely satisfied with their experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in, the room was excellent, spacious, clean with bed linen and towels changed daily. The food was excellent and varied, catering for most peoples taste.
We were allocated a dining table which was ours only for our entire stay so there was no table hunting.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.
Entertainment was excellent.
We would highly recommend this hotel and would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — room, food, location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

Having stayed at three previous warner premier resorts Littlecote, Cricket St Thomas and Home Lacey and knowing how good the standard can be i was looking forward to staying at this one with my wife. We booked a "Royal Room" for 7 days (4+3) and the theme was Cabaret with comedy being Stu Fransis (not everyones cup of tea but he was only on one night)

First thing we noticed was the age factor, everyone here is at least 70+ this is the oldest warner resort we have been to by far, the earlier comment by another poster of feeling young at 50 is spot on. We are 40 and could have been great, great grand children to some of these holiday makers - it was like being in an old folks home. More sticks then at a hockey match. We went out the hotel at night three evenings of the stay and even the Taxi drivers commented how much business they do in Hospital trips, taking old people to Hospital who have falen ill whilst at the resort!. Some have even died there im told!

We arrived at about 3.30pm on the first day due to travelling, couldnt get so much as a sandwich from the cafe/ bar area because they can only sell whats made up and it had all gone by then and its to much trouble for them anyway!.

The fact that its attracts OAPs is a big minus because the hotel gear everything around them. Ie evening meal 6-7.30, If you dont get your seat by 7.15 you dont get in to eat and by then some of the popular starters may have gone because the old folk have been queing outside since 5.30 ready to go in!

I wouldnt mind but the entertainment doesnt start until 9.00pm unless you count bingo and the warm up singer singing old time hits and asking old folk to dance the foxtrot, quickstep, tango and what ever else before hand.

The entertainment artists were dire. The singer on the one night had a great voice to be fair but his material was total pants. Im not talking old time here, im talking "this next number is a ted Heath big band number" who?? and i thought Ted Heath was a politician! This was material Pre war, frankly even some of the old folk here must have struggled to know it. After this no further entertainment is available unlike other warner resorts.

The option is either a disco which is dead as the warner girl sticks a tape on of "Jive bunny" or something equally as naff and watches everyone leave or its Kareokee (let the holiday makers entertain themselves) which is just as short lived anyway as many dont want to get involved unless the entertainment guy sings tongue twister songs to them that they have to join in with like "suzzie shines shoes at suzzies shoe shine shop" or something like that or old time sing along war time songs. The old folk dont mind it all finishing up anyway, after all they want to be in bed early to get up early before anyone else for breakfast!

Also when the show was on, some of the time It was hot as well in the cabaret area, i asked for the air con to be put on, the artists were sweating buckets and when they did put it on i noticed one or two old folk reaching for their cardigans and it was quickly turned off again!

Some of bar staff were next to hopeless, kids who cant pour a decent pint. Meanwhile the old folk are buying pints of coke and slipping miniture vodkas and spirits in out of their handbags because they are to tight to pay the bar prices!

You cant play the one arm bandits some of time because they cant be bothered to fill up the change machine and some of staff find it to much trouble so you end up having to go to reception to get change. The two £250 bandits need replacing anyway, the coin stots dont work properly on one of them- only taking one coin at a time to play.

If you want internet access its only via a phone type facility in full view of everyone in the lobby or walking past and having a good nosey at what your doing. so checking on business or financial matters isnt very easy at Warner - this wont affect most of the visitors because they dont know what the "tinternet" is anyway!

The place was driving us insane and how the staff cope with some of these people i just dont know, some are just rude, ignorent with little manners! . I regreted booking the two package deal to get 7 nights and was looking forward to going home!

Next issue with the place is the lack of room service. Its plain awful. If you miss your breakfast because you wernt up for the 7.30-9.00 breakfast you cant get one in your room. You can only select three limited sandwhich options like bacon & brie, tuna salad or prawn which you dont want first thing. Again warner are in effect dictating to you that if you want breakfast you need to be up early for it or get nothing! You also need to be out your room early each day otherwise you dont get fresh towels because the Royal room is first on the list to do i think?

The Royal rooms at this resort are at the start of the floor landing, hence every man and his uncle thunders past your room to get to their room in some cases talking loudly.

Having a Royal Room normally means you get the better seats in the restaurant. We didnt, we mentioned it and were moved for the second part of the stay near a window - i have no idea why we didnt get the right table in the first place other than friends of the staff or some othe reason must have been staying

The beach if you can call it that, is shingle, it stinks and is dirty with thousands of flys. You need to go down a steep enbankment to gain access and its not worth the effort.

In all to sum up unless you are an OAP dont go to this resort but dont ignore the other warner premier resorts. Had we have been here first we would have been put off warner for life. We will never return here even if we had tickets for free! but we will go to the other premier resorts which are a world apart in every way!

Warner should make it clear in the brochure that this resort is for old folk only and that services are restricted as a result

  • Liked — The Royal Room was clean, tidy and had nice views
  • Disliked — The fact that everything is aimed at OAPs, The dire Room Service, not to the same standard as the other warner premier resorts.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank RedRich98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammersfan31, Entertainments Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2009
After reading this review, I couldn't help but feel disappointed. I can only respond to the parts I have knowledge about, but hope that I can explain some things as follows:

* - Occaisonally the cabaret is not 'everyones cup of tea' but then we know that will never be the case. We have always aimed to please the majority of our guests and that remains our focus.

* - The team at our Coffe Lounge are only too willing to help people that have arrived late, and unless they are closed, will make every effort to concuct something for guests that have had a long journey. And it is certainly not 'too much trouble for them'

* - Entertainment does start before 9pm, every night, there is bingo, but for those who don't wish to take part, can enjoy our early evening lounge entertainment instead. The live music does cater for what the majority want, but be it ballroom dancing, line dancing, pop music, jives or rock and roll, we aim to play as wider variety as we can. we do realise that not everyone likes the same thing and that is why we try do play such a variety of styles. Entertainment is also offered after the main cabaret act has finished, whether it be more live music, lounge entertainment, late night music, fun casino games or even sports competitions. The late night disco is for people who wish to stay up late and continue dancing, and another thing we pride ourselves on is constantly asking the guests for any requests they may have, to let us know and we will more than happily play them. Late night karaoke are usually a storming success, I can say this as it is usually I who runs it. It is definitely not 'letting the holiday makers entertain themselves'. However, once again we do try to judge the audience and see what the majority will prefer. If one person wanted Marilyn Manson but seventy people wanted Matt Monroe, the choice is obvious(not saying we won't do a Marilyn Manson song, but it may be a shot one!). I have had sessions where the 'old folk' have stayed up until nearly 3am singing along and having good fun, usually as a cause of them all joining in with the tongue twisters and enjoying the variety - which we sadly see so little of on television these days.

* - Some of the bar team may well have been new, so a lack of good service can only be apologised for, and I'm confident that we now have a professional team that provide that superior service that once again we strive to provide our guests.

* - Friends of team members to certainly not get preferential treatment to our guests in the restaurant, or in any other part of the hotel for that matter. I am pleased that this issue was resolved though, even if it was during the latter part of your stay.

* - Breakfast is very very rarely served from as early as 7am but is always served to well past 9am and people can be assured our room service menu has a great deal more than what has been descibed.

* - There are Royale rooms situated at both ends of our corridors - rooms that are arguably the best hotel rooms on the whole Island. I find it hard to believe that you describe people staying here as like being at an 'old peoples home' and seeing 'more sticks than at a hockey match'(stolen gag) yet they have the capability to 'thunder' past your room.

I have only just been informed of this website and so apologise there hasn't been a response sooner, but knowing the hard work that Warner to to create an environment pleasing to our guest, we can only improve with constructive comments that will help fellow guests experience of Bembridge. Yes we cater mainly for the retired generation, but we also know that not everyone that comes here enjoys the same thing, and that's why we pride ourselves on offering our guests choices when they stay with us. Many, many times we have had younger groups stay with us, and many many times they return, time after time, knowing they are holidaying in a place which has given them such enjoyment and fond memories from previous visits. Long may that continue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bembridge
8.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
830 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
6.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel
Address: Fishermans Walk, Bembridge PO35 5TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Bembridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bembridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With spectacular views over The Solent, this secluded, shoreline Character Hotel is just the place to take in the sea air. As well as the sea views, enjoy the beautiful Spanish gardens and the indoor bowls complex. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing