We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bembridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just returned from a mid week break at Bembridge and the standard did not approach other Warner hotels we have stayed in, Check in was fine with the complementary tea & coffee for Concierge club members, however after dinner tea /coffee is now chargeable and not part of the meal, having paid for a half board stay, I do not expect to pay for the tea/coffee after the meal, especially as it was previously provided and the conditions changed after booking.
The room (503) was very pleasant but lacked bath towels on check in, reported to reception, not delivered until the following morning. Tuesday morning, Toilet blocked before use, asked to move rooms but persuaded to stay as maintenance could easily clear the problem and no other equivalent rooms available, toilet cleared, Wednesday morning, same problem after using toilet, reception did show us another smaller room (803) but declined as it was over the kitchen and smelled and didn't want to re pack and unpack everything again. Maintenance again unblocked the toilet. Wednesday afternoon, maintenance called out to unblock the toilet again. I believe the problem was not restricted to just room 503 as other guests on that floor also suffered the same problem, perhaps something more serious.
The restaurant. Our waiter Carl and, on his day off, waitress Jemma were superb, very attentive and very efficient, however, the food didn't come up to standard with limited choice of vegetables, choice of 2 on the carvery, no cold meats with the salads, and NO tea or coffee afterwards. Breakfast was better but again no cold meats or cheeses for the continental breakfast.
The grounds were very good, with plenty of space for the sun loungers overlooking the Solent, and well maintained, although with the current dry spell, maybe a little parched. Layout could have been improved with the targets for archery not in the middle of the 9 hole pitch and putt course, although the golfers disappeared when they saw the cross bows being loaded.
The Entertainment team were reasonably proficient, but again with the same show at every Warner it would have been nice to see some variation. Similarly with the Quizzes a when you already have the answers some of the challenge is taken away.
Warner hotels used to have a superior standard, however if this latest break is anything to go by, standards are definitely slipping, and not worthy of continued support. As a concierge club member we used to have a general 10% discount as a reward for customer loyalty, we now get a book of vouchers, the majority of which are irrelevant to the holiday, and can be found as give-aways in Sunday supplements. It seems Warner only want loyalty one way.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyDelrusci_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil_at_Bembridge, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Bembridge Coast Hotel.

I am so pleased you felt Carl and Gemma’s service in the restaurant was superb. I will pass your comment on.

I am however very sorry to hear of the disappointment you felt in other areas. Suffice to say the problems you encountered in your room are not typical of the standards we have set here at Bembridge Coast and as such are completely unacceptable. Please accept my sincere apologies. Should you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me. Phone 01983873931 or Email phil.howden@bourne-leisure.co.uk
Kind Regards

Phil Howden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

996 - 1,002 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just returned from this hotel where I stayed with my mother for a five day break.
The food is excellent, so much of it that I have put half a stone on!!! All the hotel staff are amazing, so friendly and helpful. The evening entertainment is nigh on West End standard. Beds are comfortable and rooms really clean and spacious as long as you book a signature room.
Ask for a room away from the reception and delivery area though as very noisy when lorries and coaches arrive as the drivers leave their engines running.

Room Tip: South end rooms are quieter and ask for a seaview as the views are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil_at_Bembridge, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thanks for such a great review and I am delighted you found the team amazing, friendly and helpful. Our new Head Chef will also be pleased to hear you felt the food was excellent. I am glad your signature room was clean and spacious and this is why they are our most popular rooms. Finally the Entertainment's team work extremely hard on their performance and I am pleased what you saw was nigh on "West End" standard. I hope you and your mother get the opportunity to return and see us in the near future.

Kind Regards

Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have just arrived back from this Warners. We loved the situation and views from the second floor rooms over the Solent. However, we have been to nearly all the Warners and have found each one progressively lacking. I think now the time has come to re-evaluate these holidays and update much of their accommodation and entertainment. The house entertainment at Bembridge was very poor, the best bit about the stay was Showmaddymaddy who were excellent. Now to come to the food. This was the biggest disappointment. Apart from the fact there must have been some sort of outbreak of a virus (information given out on this was very little - the management should have been much more visible to the guests regarding this, instead of putting a small slip of paper in the welcome pack pointing out what was going to happen. We are adults, not children, and would have liked to be treated as such. The variety of food was very poor. Quality of food, range of food available etc., etc. One of our party had hardly anything to eat all the weekend as he usually has the range of salads and tuna or ham to accompany it (this is for his main meal). Unfortunately there was no range of leafy salads to speak of and no tuna or ham to go with it. There was a carvery but not everybody wants hot meat with a salad, so suffice to say he had to make up for it at lunchtime outside out of the complex. It is all very well trying to sell these breaks at 50% off, or two for one etc., etc., but surely they would be better off investing the full price paid into better facilities and food that way you wouldn't feel cheated if you had paid full price. Our break was on a special offer but in no way did this represent value for money. Unfortunately I think we have come to the end of our Warners holidays, which is a shame because the very first two we went to years ago, i.e. Littlecote and Thoresby Hall were very good but even these have deteriorated over the years. Something needs to be done and fast otherwise I think Warners will rapidly go down in peoples estimation. There were several people at Bembridge who thought the same as us, they have been to Warners for years but never again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil_at_Bembridge, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I can assure you that feedback such as this is very important to us, as we continually strive to improve the Warner experience with the services and standards we offer.

Your comments will be discussed with the management team here at the hotel and acted upon accordingly.

Regards


Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in July 2013 and cannot recommend it highly enough. The room was of a good size and the beds comfortable. Food delicous and a good range of choice. Staff very friendly and courteous and could not do enough for us to make our stay memorable. The call centre staff are excellent too, when I phoned about our ferry tickets not arriving (not the fault of Warners), I was assured that our booking letter would be sufficient and also was given some very helpful tips about the ferry. This was our first experience of a Warners holiday and we certainly hope to return.

Room Tip: Try for a Signature Room and if possible with a sea view in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil_at_Bembridge, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you so much for such a lovely review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your first Warner Experience with us. I am also delighted you found the Food delicious with a good range of choice. Our team work hard to ensure everyone has a great time and I will share this great feedback when we next meet. Best Wishes Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Enjoyed our recent stay at Bembridge Coastal for a 1950s theme long weekend.Reception staff were efficient and helpful.Rooom was of a good size including the en suite bathroom.Facilities good including the indoor pool.Entertainment staff were hard working and generally very talented.Waiting and bar staff were hard working and helpful.Breakfasts were good with plenty of choice.Evening meals lacked some variety.Overall an enjoyable experience which was helped by the excellent weather.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJRKENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil_at_Bembridge, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable weekend overall and thank you for the nice comments on our Reception, Entertainments, Bar and Restaurant teams. I am also glad you felt we offered good facilities including the Pool. We are blessed on the Island with higher than average sunshine hours and I hope you can get back to enjoy a stay with us again soon. Once again thanks for taking the team to leave us your feedback. Best Wishes Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, great location, friendly staff, great entertainment, fab sea views but.....Drinks too expensive!!! 2 glasses of wine £11! It's a shame as would
be great to purchase more drinks at the bar and enjoy the ambience and music. Why so much for just average tasting wine? Also they have stopped selling Vina Sol by the glass!?! Why?

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoodGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil_at_Bembridge, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed our stunning sea views and found my team to be welcoming and friendly. We are always changing our food and drink offering to reflect feedback of our guests. I will take your feedback about drink prices on board. We often change which wines we offer by the glass to offer variety. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Regards Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Have stayed here over several years , but this year noticed standards/service have deteriorated.
Ferry tickets never arrived in post.The table we booked, was allocated to another party, unbeknown to the Restuarant Manager(same thing happened to a friend who stayed there 2 weeks ago) !!!.
Some of the evening buffet food and a Chef's special was of such poor quality that it was inedible . Drinks ordered through waitress lost at bar (recommend taking drinks into Restuarant so you can have a drink with your meal.) Room was dusty but otherwise quite clean.The staff did try but think the Hotel Mgt have cut corners/reduced staff and those remaining have trouble coping.
Apart from this, the stay was of reasonable value, but just hope things dont get worse.

Room Tip: The South Block has the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Visitor2012-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil_at_Bembridge, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. This does not sound up to our usual high-standards and therefore I apologise. Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention as all feedback is truly valued and acted upon accordingly. Regards Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bembridge
5.1 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
3 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
468 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
456 reviews
6.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel

Address: Fishermans Walk, Bembridge PO35 5TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Bembridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bembridge
Price Range: $75 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With spectacular views over The Solent, this secluded, shoreline Character Hotel is just the place to take in the sea air. As well as the sea views, enjoy the beautiful Spanish gardens and the indoor bowls complex. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing