We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

The Crab & Lobster Inn
Ranked #11 of 23 Restaurants in Bembridge
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

As a local resident of Bembridge we like to visit our local restaurants to see how they are doing and in the past the Crab & Lobster Inn has always delivered on food and drink.It was thus very disappointing to have a return visit and find that the food was not as good as we remembered. The menu was pretty standard and the "specials" weren't things that would whet your taste buds. I know it was March and not the height of the season but we have decided that rather than risk another disappointment (we've been twice in the past few months) that we'll only return to the Crab for a pint from now on. Its sad because Bembridge is such a lovely place to live. I hope that the food will improve as the Crab occupies a lovely position in the Village. Sorry that this isn't a good review but hopefully things will improve as the summer season gets underway.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    332
    202
    121
    120
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not good on a cold day”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for four nights and had a very mixed experience. The room was good in every way except that the heating was totally inadequate for the freezing conditions of that particular week. We managed to get an extra duvet by the last night. The food was good and we enjoyed eating there but the pub is one large room not well heated. We booked a table by the fire in the morning but come the evening it had not been saved for us the manager or owner had written it in the book but did not identify the table. Booking the place was even hard work. Tried to book it in person three weeks earlier but no one was their who could deal with it. Left contact number but no return call and it took several tries over a couple of weeks to book. I know it's the off season for a seaside pub but it seems to have no hands on leadership.

Helpful?
Thank RichardandGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good crab sandwiches”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Crab and Lobster Inn is on the beach at Bembridge - lovely food. Friendly atmosphere easy parking. Well signed posted from Bembridge Village. Staff helpful and friendly. We had crab sandwiches which were filled with crab and a small salad. Good value. They also do Lobster dishes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerry133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Sunny Monday Lunchtime!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We decided to indulge as it was the first warm day of spring so ventured over to to the Crab & Lobster. Ordering a BLT, crab fishcake and crab sandwiches (well there were three of us). We sipped our drinks in the lovely fresh spring sunshine and waited, and waited, and waited. Now some may say that 45 mins isn't too long to wait (and I can't say it was very busy) and then discovering that the order before us was for, what looked like, a fish and shellfish banquet, maybe it was understandable. Anyhow, when it arrived, it was as good as usual. Would I go back, yes, although I'd try not to be behind such a large order!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidWhe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pub.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very cosy out of the way pub offering a good varied range of beers and ales. Food menu is short but filled out with a specials board so there is plenty to choose from. I had the seafood platter which was superb, but too much, would have been better not having chips. My wife had Lasagne which was disappointing, too greasy and over cooked. Having said that, the staff were very friendly and refunded the cost of the Lasagne without question and could not apologies enough. Despite the problem we would go again but eat local food leaving the pasta for the Italians.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab & Lobster Inn also viewed

 
Bembridge, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Crab & Lobster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing