We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2010

This is almost somewhere that coulc be part of the plot of a book, the surrounding countryside is spectacular with Beamsley Beacon firmly in the foreground. It is paradise for walkers and anglers with the River Wharfe at the end of the field. This hotel deserves every superlative there is.

The hotel boasts a Michelin starred restaurant with very good reason. The food is excellent and the wine list superb. This is the only place that I have seen both Krug and Petrus in the same place albeit that my budget would not stretch that far!! For those that want cheaper alternatives there is a Brasserie at the other end of the hotel with a well stocked bar and real ale. I particulalry enjoyed the locally brewed Golden Pippin from Skipton brewery.

Rooms are a decent size and well decorated. There is also a spar and fitness centre for those who wish to partake. This is over the road very near the hotel.

Staff are very friendly and normally local to the hotel and nothing is too much bother. The hotel allows dogs in and invariably you will see the hotel spaniel wandering around who has a particular penchant for the delicious shortbread biscuits that they server with the equally excellent morning coffee.

Do not hesitate, visit and stay at this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prometheangift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,311 - 1,317 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2010

The location is beautiful and well away from it all, whilst also being just of the main road, so its easy to get to

We ate in the bar on Friday evening, high quality pub grub at a sensible price, but be aware that the bar is quite modern (compared to the rest of the hotel) with bright white painted walls in an old stable block / bar with bright coloured furnishing. Not romantic, but actually a nice contrast to the main buildings at the hotel

Saturday we went for a walk around the valley floor, walking up one side of the river and back down the other. Lovely walk with the Bolton Abbey ruins, the remaining church and a number of tea rooms - and you have the choice of a short or long walk, hills or flat - and even pram friendly areas - suits everyone (which means it can be busy on a sunny day)

Saturday evening we dined in the Burlington Room - and went for the full on multi-course set menu (about 11 courses) with complimentary wines - the food was excellent and the wines were well matched. Certainly worth the Mitchelin star. Next time i'd go for the smaller 7 course set meal, sadly though they do not offer matching wines for each course - would be a great if they did. Only bad point was the wine waiter who quickly mumbled about each wine - would have been good to have a proper description of each wine

Room was great (Artist Room, over looking the gardens), staff were friendly at all times and a great weekend ....we'll be going back

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riddler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

This hotel is in a lovely location and is a good base to see the Yorkshire Dales. We stayed for one night and booked last minute.

The room itself (a Nidderdale room) was fairly small, but was nicely decorated and very clean. The bathroom was also nice. The public areas of the hotel are very nice, with lots of comfy places to sit. The staff are also very friendly and helpful. We used the spa for a swim - the pool is small but is fine for a quick swim.

Breakfast was very nice - probably one of the nicest cooked breakfasts I've had.

There were a couple of niggles I would comment on

- I specifically mentioned that my husband is very tall when we booked, and were told that our room would have a 6 foot bed. In fact, it was two 3 foot beds pushed together which obviously come up fairly short - a bit too short for my husband.

- There were no tissues or slippers provided in the room, which is surprising for a hotel of this standard and cost.

- The Burlington restaurant was nice, although the service was very slow.

Overall, we would probably return to the hotel as it is very nice and the location is good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

A hotel that I had passed many times and always fancied staying. I saw an offer on the internet and made snap decision to go for 1 night. After booking I was sent an e mail stating there would be a twelve and a half percent discretionary charge on food and drinks and 7% on the room which I have never heard of before, a bit OTT and I objected to it.
Lovely greeting on arrival, unfortunately not given the room booked, far too small for a twin, given another room, but not the lovely Nidderdale room from the photos on the internet.
Had a lovely massage at the spa,had a refreshing walk in beautiful scenery and enjoyed sitting by the log fire.The meal at the Burlington restaurant was very good, quite a different experience!
A pleasant stay in a beautiful place marred by hassle over the room,the bill (discretionary s/c added) and to top the lot, an e-mail from the manager stating he was 'saddened' that l was not happy with the room- the room that wasn't booked, too small and had not been cleaned properly!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJSSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

This hotel is in an absolutely idyllic location, in the midst of the Yorkshire Dales with wonderful walking and views literally on the doorstep. Hospitality and attention to detail are clearly the priority of staff and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We were accompanied by our small dog which we found curled up asleep on the receptionist's desk when we emerged from dinner, the restaurant being the only place she was not allowed to accompany us. The afternoon teas are to die for! Residence at the hotel gives free access to all the surrounding countryside and 10% discount at the tea and gift shops. There are detailed maps of local walks (and home made biscuits with cafetieres and coffee) in the room and a spa across the road. Lest this all sound a bit hearty, I should point out that I have a significant disability so the 'walking' was very gentle - wheelchairs and, weather permitting, electronic buggies are available from a nearby gift shop. This hotel is also great value, particularly when compared to similar establishments in the South of England. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcgri19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We had tried to get to the Devonshire Arms on 2 previous occasions, and due to a flood and family illness this was 3rd time lucky and we were so looking forward to it.

We arrived and checked in quite quickly and were asked if we would like help with our bags, we said yes and we waited and waited and waited.....Eventually we struggled in with them ourselves and someone did come and take them up.

Nice enough room, The Fishermans. Right on the road though and did get quite noisy . I'd have hated to have been there on a really hot night as no air conditioning. Also 2 of the spotlights didn't work, I left a note for Housekeeping and then none of them worked!! Also they didn't replenish the milk, sugar or teabags on the second day.

Had a meal in the brasserie the first night, nice enough, nothing outstanding and they didn't have the wine we wanted.

Decided to have breakfast in our room, unfortunately not sure who's we got, but it definitely wasn't what we ordered and by the time my husband did get his poached eggs and bacon it was stone cold. Haven't these people ever heard of hot boxes. Second morning they nearly got it right, but someone must have been missing their yogurt and fruit, because we certainly didn't order that.

Did use the Spa, which is definitely due for an upgrade, looked very tatty.

The shining star was the Burlington Restaurant, the food and the service were wonderful and we couldn't fault a thing, which I'm afraid can't be said of the other staff who I didn't find friendly at all. Maybe it was because we arrived in shorts and didn't have the regulation puffa jacket on, who knows. The waiter split a full bottle of tonic water and snapped at my husband when he said he'd only just missed him.

Lovely day in Harrogate and had an early lunch at Betty's Tea Rooms which was scrummy.

All in all for the price, not impressed and won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mat1lda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Outstanding service, happy and helpful staff, wonderful location, beautiful room, fantastic rood. Faultless.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidays167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Abbey
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
11 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
12.2 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
828 reviews
21 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
617 reviews
16.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Address: | Bolton Abbey Estate, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bolton Abbey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Price Range: $207 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 30,000 acres of land on the Bolton Abbey Estate, this impressive 4-star country house hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, an adult-only spa, a gym and an indoor pool. Skipton is just 5.8 miles away and Harrogate is 16.2 miles away. Each elegant room has a spacious seating area and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player ans satellite channels. All rooms offer different views of The Dales, River Wharfe and Italian Garden, and all rooms feature a luxury bathroom. Situated in the very heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Devonshire Arms Hotel has a luxurious spa featuring a sauna, steam room, swimming pool and whirlpool. A range of treatments and massages are available and the property also has outdoor tennis courts. Clay pigeon shooting, fly-fishing, and falconry displays are all possible within the Bolton Abbey Estate. The award-winning Burlington Restaurant offers a seasonal menu using the finest local produce. Guests can enjoy the ever-popular afternoon tea, and there is also a lounge bar. The Brasserie offers guests a more modern gastro-menu featuring some of Yorkshire's favourite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel Bolton Abbey
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel And Spa
Devonshire Arms Country Skipton
Devonshire Arms Country Hotel
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing