We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, luxurious stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful, luxurious stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

I spent two nights at the hotel and spa for my 30th birthday. We took advantage of the excellent 40% discount the hotel were offering on the Dinner Bed & Breakfast Package.
Everything exceeded our expectations, the room was great, both restaurants were superb and the spa was very relaxing. Hospitality was very professional.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeandpaul_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    256
    86
    47
    40
See reviews for
176
854
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

The staff couldn't do enough for us and we really felt like guests at a counrty house party for our Christmas stay. Our 2 labradors accompanied us and were made to feel just as welcome. We would definately recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a luxurious and relaxing country break.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hebebeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

We stayed here for a 3 night Christmas break and it exceeded all of our expectations (and we expect a lot). From the moment we arrived and staff were out to meet and greet us, taking our luggage inside, and receiving a warm welcome from reception staff, we never looked back. A lovely cosy room (bathroom could have been a bit bigger) roaring fires, cosy comfy lounges and a friendly and efficient service. The food in the Burlington restaurant was superb, along with Eric the restaurant manager who, by the end of the visit felt like a friend. Everything we had been told would happen in our pre Christmas information, did, and we were thoroughly spoilt. Going to midnight mass in a 1920's charabanc, coming back to hot chocolate, and snow covering the beautiful surroundings outside the hotel made it all the more magical. The restaurant and kitchen staff worked their socks off to provide a first class service, and we can't wait to go back again next year.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

This hotel had been on my list to visit for ages so booked for my birthday. Tried to book for 2 nights but booked up, so only one night available which was a blessing in the end (would have checked out after one night).
Reception area looks tired. Rooms quite small and dark and bathroom small.
We booked dinner in the restaurant which is nicely set out (good space between tables) and pleasantly decorated as is the lounge. My husband likes wine and asked the sommelier to recommend a wine. Unfortunately he seemed uninterested and distracted, which we found disappointing as the lounge/restaurant didn't seem busy.
We also found the restaurant manager untalkative and when he did speak, he mumbled.
We had ordered the tasting menu which we found 'hit and miss'. Some courses were stunning but some flavours were overpowering in other courses.
However the main complaint I would have is that the hotel allows dogs which we were unaware of until we returned to the lounge for coffee to find it full of dogs!. Many of the dogs were well behaved but unfortunately there was one which wasn't and took rather a keen interest in another dog! To be honest I don't blame the dogs as the owners clearly couldn't be bothered to discipline the dog. The coffee tables are quite low in the lounge and as a result my husband refused to eat any of the petit fours in case there were dog hairs on them. Needless to say, we beat a hasty retreat to bed.
Things went from bad to worse the following morning - we had been asked on arrival if we would like an early moning call accompanied by tea or coffee. We booked an 8am call. However at 7am we received the call telling us that our tea was on its way. This never arrived at 7am or 8am.
In summary, a great hotel I'm sure if you want to take your dog away with you but if you want a romantic break, forget it. Needless to say, we checked out the following morning and booked into a nearby hotel for the following night which was a completely different experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snugglesYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

Beautiful hotel in fabulous location, this hotel exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived.
After being personally shown around the hotel we were taken to our room, which whilst on the small side, was extremely comfortable, beautifully finished and luxurious. The en-suit again was compact but more than adequate, spotlessly clean, filled with large fluffy towels and Molton Brown goodies. The hotel was warm and welcoming, as were the staff, who appeared to do their utmost to make our stay perfect. A divine afternoon tea was taken in a very atmospheric lounge with roaring fire, antiques and beautiful Christmas decorations. The spa and pool (across the road) was lovely, intimate and had many extra touches.
We had dinner in the Burlington restaurant, again, the service and ambiance were outstanding. The food was exquisite, the restaurant utterly deserving of it's fine dining reputation.
Overall, whilst our stay here was not cheap, it was money well spent as the experience was and will remain, absolutely special and truly memorable.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otisplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed 4 nights over new year and had an excellent time. Both the food and service in the Brasserie and Burlington restaurant was excellent. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the location is delightful.

Some public areas of the hotel have recently been refurbished which may overcome the objections of a previous reviewer.

The gym and swimming pool both got quite busy and are only small but having said that the hotel was full for the New Year Package and maybe more children than normal given it was in school holidays. My wife had two treatments which she thought were good.

Very dog friendly, all the dogs we saw were well behaved and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

I’m torn on my review of this hotel. On one hand I loved the weekend, the food was gorgeous, the ambience was lovely, and they allow dogs (hurrah!!) but on the other hand I felt a little ripped off for the price that we paid, and the somewhat shabby nature of some of the hotel.

The good bits

Staff – as ever with these places these guys are very friendly and go the extra mile

Food – we ate at the non Michelin starred place on the Friday – I ordered a Ploughmans for my main meal - WOW. I just loved the food. Bangers and mash, you know all the hearty stuff you want for a Friday night. Great. Good Northern food, in decent portions. We ate at the Michelin place on the Saturday, and it was wonderful! When you read the menu and your heart sinks, as you think you won’t like a lot of it? That was us – but it was just divine!

Setting – just wonderful – sheep, fields, dogs running free and Bolton Abbey as a backdrop. Wonderful walks. It’s a wonderful walk of about 25 mins to the abbey – during the winter take your wellies.

Dog Friendly – if you like dogs, you’ll love it here as its dog friendly. All well behaved dogs. Wonderful!!

Fires – open fires everywhere – so lovely during the winter months!

Not so good bits:

Rooms - We went for the weekend and stayed in one of the suites, so we’re talking some fair money to be paid here. There was black mould in the shower(quite a lot) – normal housekeeping should take care of this. Also the shower leaked as the door didn’t close properly and the skirting had started to rot. Now, when you pay £400 a night I sort of expect a rolling level of maintenance and these items should be picked up. Its clean, but when you start picking up on burns/permanent stains on the carpet it starts to feel old.

Main Areas - There was peeling wallpaper on the main staircase, and if I’m honest the reception areas looked like it all needed a good paint, and new carpets.

Breakfast – just basic cereals (6?) on the buffet with juice, and then everything else was hot breakfast to order. No homemade granola, yogurt, cheese, fruit….the normal items for a continental breakfast.

I loved the weekend, but as I said earlier I did feel slightly ripped off – we paid nearly £1000 for a 2 night stay in somewhere that had great food, but peeling wallpaper and black mould in the shower – when you say it like that, it doesn’t sound so good. A bit more attention to detail and this would be a great place!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffee&applepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Abbey
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
16.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
5.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Address: | Bolton Abbey Estate, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bolton Abbey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 30,000 acres of land on the Bolton Abbey Estate, this impressive 4-star country house hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, an adult-only spa, a gym and an indoor pool. Skipton is just 5.8 miles away and Harrogate is 16.2 miles away. Each elegant room has a spacious seating area and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player ans satellite channels. All rooms offer different views of The Dales, River Wharfe and Italian Garden, and all rooms feature a luxury bathroom. Situated in the very heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Devonshire Arms Hotel has a luxurious spa featuring a sauna, steam room, swimming pool and whirlpool. A range of treatments and massages are available and the property also has outdoor tennis courts. Clay pigeon shooting, fly-fishing, and falconry displays are all possible within the Bolton Abbey Estate. The award-winning Burlington Restaurant offers a seasonal menu using the finest local produce. Guests can enjoy the ever-popular afternoon tea, and there is also a lounge bar. The Brasserie offers guests a more modern gastro-menu featuring some of Yorkshire's favourite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel And Spa
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel Bolton Abbey
Devonshire Arms Country Skipton
Devonshire Arms Country Hotel
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing