We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,570)
Filter reviews
1,570 results
Traveler rating
1,045
315
111
60
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,045
315
111
60
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burlington restaurant devonshire arms tasting menu afternoon tea attention to detail cocktail lounge the river across the road biscuits four poster bed one night stay michelin star whole experience main restaurant country house hotel wedding anniversary car park
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 1,570 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2017

This hotel is of a certain kind. Expensive yes, but very enjoyable. Not a frequent sort of a treat at these prices. But once in a while you need to come to a place like this. Very relaxing atmosphere set in beautiful countryside. charming and attentive staff. Our room was small , but perfectly formed. Like being invited into a fine country home. There are excellent spa facillities and a couple of bars to have a relaxing drink in. Breakfast was very nice as well. We will be back one day as a treat.

Room Tip: we had a nice room, smallish but ample size. lovely views across to the Fells.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Operations Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Good Evening,

Many thanks for your kind words in relation to your recent visit at The Devonshire Arms, I was delighted to hear of your enjoyable stay and I do hope we can welcome you back to The Devonshire Arms soon.

Best wishes,
Jamie Broadbent
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017

We stayed here twice last year as a couple & thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. However, this time we were part of a group of ten on an annual reunion, & during our 3 night stay we got the distinct impression that this hotel isn't so good at dealing with groups.
We were unable to dine as a group in the fabulous Burlington Restaurant, because apparently groups can only dine on the chef's Tasting Menu, rather than from the A La Carte. Although I'm sure this would have been fabulous, many of our group are septuagenarians with health problems leading to different dietary requirements, which means an a la carte menu is the best option for all. As a result we spent 3 nights eating in the Brasserie instead. Decent food & lovely staff, but hardly on a par with the glorious Burlington.
Also, it was made clear to us on our 2nd & 3rd evenings that we weren't particularly welcome in the lovely bar for our pre-dinner drinks if we weren't dining in the Burlington. It was all done very politely, of course ("We think you'll be much more comfortable in the lounge down the corridor") but it was obvious why we had been moved to less salubrious surroundings. In fact the armchairs & sofas were comfortable enough, but so soft & low-slung that most of our group found it very difficult to get out of them without assistance.
The only time we got into the Burlington was en route to breakfast in the adjoining conservatory in the mornings. Sadly, they were unable to organise a large table for our group, as the Brasserie had done, but promised to keep one end of the long conservatory for our exclusive use. This worked well on our 1st morning, but on both of the subsequent mornings, other residents were offered tables in 'our' end area. Convenient for the staff perhaps, but extremely uncomfortable for the strangers who were forced to breakfast in the midst of what was obviously a large & convivial group of old friends exchanging reminiscences. And those of our group who arrived later for breakfast then had to be seated in other parts of the conservatory, of course, which rather negated the point of our reunion.
Finally, after our first visit here last year, when we stayed in Shepherd, we discovered a couple of problems in the room which we passed on in writing when we completed the hotel's guest questionnaire at the end of our stay. We stayed in Shepherd again this time, but were very disappointed to find that the problems we'd highlighted had not been rectified during the intervening 18 months. Since mentioning them in writing to the hotel didn't work, perhaps listing them on Trip Advisor will serve to concentrate minds:
1. The joints of the left-hand chair at the table in front of the window have become so loose that the entire chair is seriously wobbly & uncomfortable to sit on. This chair should be professionally repaired to give it rigidity before being made available to hotel residents.
2. The duvet is extremely flat, solid & heavy: entirely the opposite of what a continental quilt should be. Obviously the result of years of laundering, but it really needs to be replaced in the interest of a good night's sleep.
I shall send the other issues we came across this time in writing with our guest questionnaire, as I did last time. I sincerely hope they will be acted upon before our next stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank delavalliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Operations Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Good Evening,

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Devonshire Arms on your recent stay with friends. Here at The Devonshire Arms we do aim to make every guest experience an enjoyable and memorable stay and I am disappointed this has not been the case. Please may I ask you contact me directly on Jamie.Broadbent@thedevonshirearms.co.uk to discuss your stay further.

Best wishes,
Jamie Broadbent
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017

if you need to postpone a trip because of illness the hotel will start to quote its terms and conditions. We asked to postpone for 5 weeks only. They will ask for the full booking price instead of the deposit up front, and then tell you that if it happens again you will lose the full price!!! We were uncomfortable paying the full booking cost up front and therefore our booking was cancelled and we lost our initial deposit. Awful customer response!!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank bullscross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

We stayed one night on the 'Taste of the Dales Burlington Dining Offer' which included complimentary upgrade of room, six course tasting menu in the Burlington restaurant, and breakfast.

As you'd expect of an establishment of this calibre the service was first class throughout from checking in, to service at dinner/breakfast to checking out. Nice touches included complimentary Yorkshire Parkin (made in the hotel) in the room, with free tea/coffee/crisps/biscuits/milk. Compared to some hotels, the cost of snacks are also reasonably priced, although £9 for a small bottle of Prosecco from the mini bar is a bit steep, although probably par for the course.

Room (luxury room with four poster bed, which was very comfortable) was very pretty and had a lovely view of the garden - however, decor a bit dated and could do with a refresh (bathroom in particular). Enjoyed the room nonetheless.

As for dinner, the food was very good overall, although I was disappointed with the lack of vegetarian options. Despite this, the chef came up with some options for me and apart from one of the courses, I was happy with what I had. I do, however, think they could try harder to provide more vegetarian options on the tasting and a la carte menus - given that plenty of other fine dining establishments in the local area already do. They did, however, provide me with a vegetarian alternative to a cooked English breakfast, including veggie sausages and so I was very happy with that.

Overall, the Taste of the Dales offer is very reasonable but you need to be wary of the cost of the add ons, such as the paring wines at dinner, cheese board, wine bar in the room and spa treatments, which make the cost of a one night stay quite pricey - but it was a special occasion - so worth it in the end. We would stay again and hope they can offer more vegetarian dinner options next time.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

We had fantastic meal with friends in the middle of the week. We had a drink in the bar and were made to feel very welcome The staff were lovely and friendly. And the food was rearly good will definitely be going again in the near future

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Isabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews