We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“England at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I spent a night here in July. The weather was lovely and as the hotel is in a beautiful setting it showed England at its best.
Our room was comfortable with a good view. Fresh milk was provided for our tea. The staff were welcoming and helpful - the atmosphere relaxed and not stuffy.
The dinner in the Burlington restaurant was very good. We had the tasting menu which was a series of lovely surprises. You let them know if there is anything you cannot eat and they then just bring you the courses. I would highly recommend it.
This is a traditional country house hotel and it feels like a treat to stay. We would not hesitate to return and intend to do so.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bossyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

We went on a one night dinner bed & breakfast package to this very well known hotel. It is certainly a lovely place in a great location & the staff are very attentive. However... our room in the Nidderdale section was compact , no better in quality or size than any Hilton type hotel, apart from the pleasant view.The lounges & bars are classy , but the prices are sky high. We dined in the Brasserie & the food was no more than ok , with rather slow service.
It was a pleasant experience , but I have stayed in grander hotels , got more & paid less.

Room Tip: Nidderdale rooms are small , you will need to spend more for a good one. No aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Duncan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

From the moment we arrived, our stay was wonderful. We had the Herbert Royale Suite and what an amazing experience. Beautiful view from our windows and the rooms matched it. The Staff were very efficient and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We stayed for 2 nights and had the Chef's tasting menu both nights, the food was exquisite, we were well advised as to the wine that should accompany the courses. The Spa was an enjoyable. Overall a wonderful experience and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great staff who are friendly and attentive, relaxing place very homely and not stuffy, comfortable rooms. Food wonderful at breakfast and meal in evening was superb. Lovely location. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I visited the Devonshire Arms during the Tour De France, wrongly assuming that they would have, like the rest of Yorkshire, made an effort. I was wrong. There was not a yellow bicycle or indeed anything else relating to the Tour in or around the premises. This was surely a time for the Devonshire Arms to "shine". We sincerely expected the hotel to be bursting at the seams - not the case. The food offerings were adequate but nothing special. You need to shape up Devonshire Arms this was a very disappointing visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CheltenhamLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The the we stayed here to mark a special celebration and we weren't disappointed. This place is fantastic in every way but be prepared to pay the price! The taster menu in the restaurant is a little overpowering for the palete. Service is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feretdubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here yesterday on a travel zoo voucher. Stunning setting Arrived to porters taking your bags for you . On check in they gave us a free upgrade to a four poster bed , bottle of champagne and a lovely card for our 30th wedding anniversary ( thankyou )We strolled to bolton abbey 1/2 mile away and chilled by the river , Had a lovely meal in the brasserie . And again a lovely breakfast . Some one had booked the trike tour outside the hotel a must next time looks fab. This hotel has it all and could show other hotels how things should be done . We will returning soon for another overnight stay. Thanks to all the staff For a lovely stay... Angus and Gill.

Room Tip: All rooms look lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angus535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Abbey
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
11 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
12.2 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
828 reviews
21 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
617 reviews
16.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Address: | Bolton Abbey Estate, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bolton Abbey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Price Range: $207 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 30,000 acres of land on the Bolton Abbey Estate, this impressive 4-star country house hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, an adult-only spa, a gym and an indoor pool. Skipton is just 5.8 miles away and Harrogate is 16.2 miles away. Each elegant room has a spacious seating area and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player ans satellite channels. All rooms offer different views of The Dales, River Wharfe and Italian Garden, and all rooms feature a luxury bathroom. Situated in the very heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Devonshire Arms Hotel has a luxurious spa featuring a sauna, steam room, swimming pool and whirlpool. A range of treatments and massages are available and the property also has outdoor tennis courts. Clay pigeon shooting, fly-fishing, and falconry displays are all possible within the Bolton Abbey Estate. The award-winning Burlington Restaurant offers a seasonal menu using the finest local produce. Guests can enjoy the ever-popular afternoon tea, and there is also a lounge bar. The Brasserie offers guests a more modern gastro-menu featuring some of Yorkshire's favourite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel Bolton Abbey
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel And Spa
Devonshire Arms Country Skipton
Devonshire Arms Country Hotel
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing