We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning!!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed at the hotel during December with a number of work colleagues. What can I say? The hotel simply oozes charm and quality, is in a beautiful setting, with stunning areas to relax in and very comfortable bedrooms. The highlight of the stay was the 8 course private dining tasting menu with matching wines - what a treat! This was one of the best (if not, the best) meal I have ever tasted. The young chef is incredibly talented! We also enjoyed the sing song around the piano..The breakfast was also fabulous. Go treat yourself!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    276
    96
    48
    33
See reviews for
196
906
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a warm, comfortable and relaxing place to stay. The service is excellent, but never stuffy. This was our third visit, but our first since there has been a new chef. We ate in The Burlington and had the three course A La Carte. In fact you eat six courses as there are also hors d'oeuvres amuse bouche and a pre dessert. Our food was superb, probably better even than in the past!
Residents were from every age group.
We have never used the spa.
We will certainly go back!

Room Tip: We have stayed in each category of room. They are all great, but the more you pay the larger they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bracken234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a trip to Bolton Abbey and decided to have cream tea here before our journey home. We arrived a little early and our order was taken, the young man didn't explain that we would then have a short wait until 12noon when the order would be processed....could he not have done our tea while we waited for our scone?

Whilst I enjoyed the tea and scone I found the whole atmosphere awkward and stuffy, no background music to put people at ease. Pretentious staff at reception looking down their noses at a young couple. Plus, if you don't want people in casual clothes, don't open up for walkers!

Would I come back to stay here....not sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My boyfriend bought me a night here as a gift. The location is wonderful- a stones throw from bolton abbey, as are the rooms, I felt as though I was staying in a palace. Truly luxurious with wonderful little freebies in the room and excellent presentation. The swimming pool and health barn included in the price was also absolutely lovely, wonderful pool it was just a pity the plunge and sauna were out of order and we could only use the steam room. We were given our own small room and robe throughout the duration of our stay at the health barn. Poor staff service at the health barn bar. My critcism is the exceptionally poor variety of vegetarian evening meal options- if you don't like tortellini you are stuffed. I also found the food pathetically pretentious and the portions are laughably small, its ridiculous. Also, some of the service staff were very rude and cold with us, I think because we were young. They treated us with great hostility and suspicion and we did feel unwelcome at times. Very expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaDorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband & I stayed for bed & breakfast for a wedding reception, we stayed in roon 28 which was small, but comfortable and had everything we need. Comfy bed with pure white bedding, the bathroom had thick, large white fluffy towels, the staff were very friendly (nothing too much trouble). Breakfast was in a lovely dinning room, white starched tablecloths & napkins and white china crockery. Exceptional service. Beautiful surroundings

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here on 6th March 2014 we stayed here for 1 night.
Upon arrival we were overjoyed with the hotel from the outside, at that a lad came out and took our bags to reception and then to our room which was nice.
At reception we were met by Eric the concierge he was really nice he showed us round the hotel and to our rooms and gave us lots of information.

Our room was fantastic I can't say anymore, like the idea of ringing reception for some fresh milk for a cup of tea/Coffee.

We were dining in the Burlington restaurant we was having the tasting menu, oh my god it was fantastic, our favourite was the Skrei Cod it was marvellous!!!

All the staff were great I cannot fault anything or anyone they all went out there way to make our meal fantastic.

The breakfast the next morning was fantastic.

I cannot pick 1 fault with our stay here everything was perfect.

Thank You!!

See You Soon Hopefully

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartTheWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and myself stayed here last weekend on a DBB deal. We know the area very well and have stayed around the area on several occasions but never at the Devonshire Arms as we always thought it would be too expensive. The deal was a Christmas present and we were really looking forward to it. From the moment we arrived the staff were polite, helpfull and friendly, the hotel and our room were just what we expected lovely. We had a meal in the brasserie which couldn't have been better including the service. The breakfast, well what can I say it was fantastic. We will certainly be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo1234557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Abbey
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
11.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
5.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
591 reviews
18.7 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
10.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Address: | Bolton Abbey Estate, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bolton Abbey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 30,000 acres of land on the Bolton Abbey Estate, this impressive 4-star country house hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, an adult-only spa, a gym and an indoor pool. Skipton is just 5.8 miles away and Harrogate is 16.2 miles away. Each elegant room has a spacious seating area and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player ans satellite channels. All rooms offer different views of The Dales, River Wharfe and Italian Garden, and all rooms feature a luxury bathroom. Situated in the very heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Devonshire Arms Hotel has a luxurious spa featuring a sauna, steam room, swimming pool and whirlpool. A range of treatments and massages are available and the property also has outdoor tennis courts. Clay pigeon shooting, fly-fishing, and falconry displays are all possible within the Bolton Abbey Estate. The award-winning Burlington Restaurant offers a seasonal menu using the finest local produce. Guests can enjoy the ever-popular afternoon tea, and there is also a lounge bar. The Brasserie offers guests a more modern gastro-menu featuring some of Yorkshire's favourite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel Bolton Abbey
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel And Spa
Devonshire Arms Country Skipton
Devonshire Arms Country Hotel
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing