We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog lovers please note”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dog lovers please note”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

For the umpteenth time we go to the Devonshire, this time for the new year package and then a few more days for Sue's birthday not counting those visits now! First the new chef is in our view much better, not to many flavours on the plate lovely balance of flavours, better even than Michael was and he never got justice from the GFG, Adam will and at least one star possibly two given comparison with say The Vineyard or the Capital or any French two star restaurant. Not Yorkshire proportions but lots of lovely tastes. Lots of people saying not had smoked eel before and it was lovely, of course it is.
Next the staff are still the main asset, if you name is not here sorry it does not mean anything adverse it's space, time . Guillaume a tireless restaurant manager, Mr Fairclough whose wine list and knowledge of same is outstanding, more wine merchant and sommelier rather than wine waiter. Eddie, Gary, Ryan unfailing help in all matters in and outside the hotel. Note if you are going on a walk ESP. The hotel walk on Boxing or NY day WEAR THE PROPER GEAR, boots not fashion boots, not heels! And waterproofs top to toe.
Shona, Efan and LIz in the bar doing two people's work on their own which is why Guillaume is always around as back up. Michael who gave me clean shoes everyday and all the reception staff thank you all. Lastly the lovely Magdalena in the restaurant xxx to you. Gregor and the house team had our room done by the time we got back from breakfast, another improvement, TY.
Our room, the Herbert Royle is now decorated nicely the garish colour clashes having been removed, Shepherd, Thrace, Craike on the landing are v. Nice too but most rooms are. Prefer rooms with a view of the river.
Finally the best dog hotel along side the Cary Arms we have found in Britain and The Republic. This hotel is a gem in terms of food, open fires and setting but it is the staff that make it a place in a class of its own in the UK service comparable with the Feltrinelli, but a bit less expensive!
Like going to stay with old friends would be a good summary.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSandzillah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    265
    92
    48
    33
See reviews for
192
884
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We visited last january (only just remembered i never posted a review!). My boyfriend and i often visit establishments such as this (my boyfriend being a chef and making it his mission to visit as many michellin starred restaurants as possible!) and this was by far the best experience ive ever had.
The room was simple but elegant with views onto the garden, which covered in snow was beautiful. For dinner we opted for the tasting menu which was by far the best i have ever had. The food was superb and the timing of service was spot on. The petit fours were to die for (the fennel jelly was particularly fantastic). Afternoon tea was also second to none, the carrot cake was amazing! Service was fantastic, with the servers being attentive but not overly so to where it becomes annoying.
We will be returning this year for our anniversary and would highly reccomend to anyone wanting a secluded break with spectacular food and wine.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rcgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here on the 7th January 2014 as a surprise for my girlfriend and to propose to her. We arrived and a member of staff helped with our bags. We were shown around the hotel and to our room which was the Littondale 4 poster and the room was called the Wharfedale, we were upgraded from the Nidderdale to the Littondale free of charge by the team when I emailed them and told of my intention of proposing at the hotel. The room was lovely and quaint and to me exuded quality.

I cannot fault the hotel one bit, the staff were amazing as well as the best meal I have ever had in the Burlington Restaurant. Ben the waiter in there was so professional and had an amazing knowledge of the wine and food, I'm sure he will do very well in his career. The lady in the Cocktail lounge was so nice also and when she found out we had just got engaged took us to the Cocktail lounge again for complimentary Rose Champaign and talked to us for over an hour which we really enjoyed.

I would recommend anyone to go here to have an amazing experience you will never forget.

Room Tip: Room from the Littondale up are the ones to go for, expensive but to me worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our most expensive and disappointing hotel stay of 2013 and we did a lot of short breaks. We were staying in a £500 a night suite as a birthday treat - all three of our birthdays fell over our three night stay.

None of what I am about to write applies to the Burlington restaurant. The staff were professional, friendly and incredibly good at their job. The food was exceptional.

The staff in the hotel were at the other extreme to the Burlington. They were rude, lazy and didn’t really know anything about the hotel. The surly woman at the front desk made us feel anything but welcome. The staff on the front desk continued to get things wrong throughout our stay. They could not even comprehend that my husband and I had different surnames even though we reminded them several times.

On arrival, no one welcomed us or helped us with our bags. My then 3 year old son carried his own bag, my husband made 3 journeys with no offer of help. Whilst checking in I asked if we could use the pool, we were told it was closing but Joseph could use it first thing in the morning. I later read that there time restrictions for children.

Once settled in the room we realised that the ice in the ice bucket had completely melted and that there were only two water glasses, two sets of towels, two biscuits and two apples, despite there being three of us.

The rooms were never cleaned properly we even found the water glasses left by the bed from the night before.

I would not recommend the intercom service. We dined at the Burlington on the second evening whilst eating we saw the receptionist walk past us several times. Our son is a really good sleeper and was almost 4. I would not have felt comfortable leaving a younger child and I don’t understand how this can be called a baby minding service unless someone is there listening the whole time. When we collected our dog from the front desk there was no one there. We asked about this the next evening and were told that when people arrive at the hotel the front desk staff are needed to show people to their rooms and at night there is only one person on.
Three members of staff watched whilst I carried all our luggage out to the car, only on my fourth trip did the front desk manager open the door for me (with still no offer to get a porter or carry anything himself). Finally on inspection of the bill it was wrong.

Individually the points are relatively minor apart from the child monitoring service (I suspect there may be legal issues with leaving reception unattended whilst in a “duty of care” situation) and if we had been staying at a Travelodge I would have accepted them all. However I expected much better at the Devonshire arms. For the price we paid I had high expectations of service but the reality was we spent most of our time and money out of the hotel because we didn’t feel very welcome. We have since stayed at 2 cheap Holiday Inn hotels- the service far surpassed our stay at the Devonshire arms and the average nightly cost was only £70 for BBD!

I was asked to fill in a questionnaire about out visit on our return home, which I did. We were subsequently offered a free stay, which we declined.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank trav36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Beautiful location,food excellent but not quite enough.Rooms well decorated and very clean but not really large enough for the cost,240 pounds B and B is a bit excessive for such small bedrooms.Really expected a larger bed than just a double for this cost.
Staff were excellent and very cheerful at all times,good facilities within the hotel,boots,jackets ect to enable you to walk at all times and admire the beautiful location.
A very nice country hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iain m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Iain m
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
It was nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were well looked after by all the team.
I was sorry to see that you felt your room was not as big as you had hoped for, perhaps on your next visit we can make sure you get one of our larger rooms.
Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I would like to warn future guests at this hotel. My handbag was taken from our looked bedroom on New Years Eve. There is no security box in the bedroom so I left the bag on the bed. I had to initiate a phone call to the police who visited me within 2hours at 10am. The General Manager spoke to me at 245pm. and vehemently supported his staff to the extent that gave me the feeling that I was making up the whole incident. My bag contained little money but I have lost keys, cards and very personal things of no value. My special treat was ruined and I did not enjoy the rest of the break.I am out of pocket about £1000 replacing bag,keys cards.
Dorothy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dorothy636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
When this lady first came to us saying that her handbag was missing, along with her assertion that a member of staff had taken it, we were naturally very concerned indeed. The members of staff who serviced the room have a total of fifteen years of unblemished service here and there was nothing remarkable about the handbag or its contents, so it seemed odd.

We all agreed that it was best to call in the police. When they examined the matter and interviewed the guests concerned and the members of staff, they drew the conclusion that it was highly unlikely that the handbag was taken by a member of staff.

Andrew Mackay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed New Year here. The staff we attentive, knowledgable and courteous but at the same time very friendly. The food was excellent, and we enjoyed eating in the brasserie and the Burlington restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Abbey
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
16.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,529 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
787 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,129 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Address: | Bolton Abbey Estate, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bolton Abbey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 30,000 acres of land on the Bolton Abbey Estate, this impressive 4-star country house hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, an adult-only spa, a gym and an indoor pool. Skipton is just 5.8 miles away and Harrogate is 16.2 miles away. Each elegant room has a spacious seating area and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player ans satellite channels. All rooms offer different views of The Dales, River Wharfe and Italian Garden, and all rooms feature a luxury bathroom. Situated in the very heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Devonshire Arms Hotel has a luxurious spa featuring a sauna, steam room, swimming pool and whirlpool. A range of treatments and massages are available and the property also has outdoor tennis courts. Clay pigeon shooting, fly-fishing, and falconry displays are all possible within the Bolton Abbey Estate. The award-winning Burlington Restaurant offers a seasonal menu using the finest local produce. Guests can enjoy the ever-popular afternoon tea, and there is also a lounge bar. The Brasserie offers guests a more modern gastro-menu featuring some of Yorkshire's favourite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel And Spa
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel Bolton Abbey
Devonshire Arms Country Skipton
Devonshire Arms Country Hotel
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing