We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our daughter has just got married with the reception, wedding breakfast and celebrations held at the Dev. We can honestly say our expectations where surpassed in every area. We knew from past experience that the place was special but it was such a thrill to hear so many of our guests mainly from London area just wowed by the standard of service, quality of accommodation in a part of the dales that my family has enjoyed for years. Collectively 20 odd rooms were used by our party.
We had chosen the indulgence wedding package which had a few extra thrills and also worked with florist Vanessa on a tailored wedding flowers package. In particular bearing in mind the Dev was catering for 99 guests the quality of the canopies and meal was absolutely first class and comparable to top London venues. Each course was served hot and all 99 within a minute or 2. The servers were discretely present and yet always by your side. We lacked for nothing. Thanks to all staff but Special recognition must go to Kalie wedding coordinator and others including Tom, Liz and porter Gary whose service was spot on.
The following day many guests met for a super breakfast followed by a walk along the Wharfe to the Strid. Everyone chatting about the best wedding ever before heading back South. The Dev did the North of England proud and I am sure will have many returning guests.

Room Tip: Feedback was all rooms were to a high standard. We stayed in the Shepherd suite which was luxury tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CHRIS R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

829 - 835 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Devonshire Arms a few times over the years and to be frank have sometimes been dissapointed. However we received an email of a special offer of B&B in a standard room with a complementary half bottle of champagne and chocolates for £99.00 for two people and we decided to book for one night.

I have to say we were quite impressed - the room although quite small was nicely funished and had everything we needed. My only critisism would be the layout of the bathroom. The toilet was right next to the bath and although the glass shower screen was hinged it made getting in and out of the bath quite awkward. A shower curtain although less stylish would be more practical.

We dined in the Brasserie as the Burlington was closed. The menu seemed quite limited at first glance but there were several specials added on which helped us choose. The service was quite slow in the Brasserie although as my wife couldn't decide on a main course the chef arranged for a starter to be served as a main course which was very helpful. The breakfast is excellent - a good choice and beautifully cooked and presented although again the service was slow.

The location is superb with lots of walks and stunning scenery to enjoy straight outside the hotel. The special deal made the trip good value for money although I am not sure after past experiences that I would pay the full price for the room. The service lets it down especially when you consider the 2.5% service charge added to the room and the 12.5% added to the restaurant bills.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seamoon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

After a nightmare journey arriving in darkness it was lovely to be met by one of the staff to take our bags as I parked the car. There are many open fires and one in reception was very welcoming. Staff attentiveness is very good but discreet and this continued though the weekend. Overall we had a great weekend and my wife's gluten free diet was well catered for. It isn't cheap by any means but good things never are. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youngy520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Visited in December 2013 to celebrate a wedding anniversary and birthday.

The standard for service was set when a porter walking through the car park took our baggage straight to our room followed by another porter valet parking the car. A complimentary room upgrade at check in to help celebrate our anniversary was most welcome.

The food in the Burlington restaurant was simply superb. Do not under any circumstances let the size of the portions disappoint you. The food is beautifully prepared and each course is complimentary to the meal as a whole. By the time you have finished your meal, you are grateful that the portions were the size they were. It is satisfying to be able to go through a complete meal, enjoy every course and not feel stuffed or over faced.

A truly memorable celebration with service that brought credit to the establishment in general and the individual members of staff in particular. Of special note was Magda in the Burlington Restaurant.

It isn't cheap, but quality never is.

thank you

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigbasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Just a very short review from me, I used to post on here regularly but decided against it after receiving some rather unpleasant replies from owners.

Would just like to say what a great establishment this is, lovely decor, lovely service and fantastic food.

Would recommend for special occasions or even a bite with wife.

Great Stuff

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank DaveEGoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Sadly only stayed one night but thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. We were unable to stay for dinner due to other commitments but we will revisit and definitely eat next time, the menu sounded fab. Breakfast was very enjoyable.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Fantastic service, very friendly. Seated in the window lovely views. We both ordered the fish and chips not very adventurous and I wish I had tried something else. Food arrived and very generous portions could not fault food or service. Not the best fish and chips I have ever had but for the surroundings and the kudos of eating at the Dev for the 1st time (it has been on my wish list for years) it was worth the hike in cost just to be there.
£13.95 for F&C!

Room Tip: Window seat just in case a helicopter arrived. Made my daughters day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelAdvisor90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Abbey
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
11 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
12.2 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
828 reviews
21 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
618 reviews
16.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Address: | Bolton Abbey Estate, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bolton Abbey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Price Range: $215 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 30,000 acres of land on the Bolton Abbey Estate, this impressive 4-star country house hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, an adult-only spa, a gym and an indoor pool. Skipton is just 5.8 miles away and Harrogate is 16.2 miles away. Each elegant room has a spacious seating area and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player ans satellite channels. All rooms offer different views of The Dales, River Wharfe and Italian Garden, and all rooms feature a luxury bathroom. Situated in the very heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Devonshire Arms Hotel has a luxurious spa featuring a sauna, steam room, swimming pool and whirlpool. A range of treatments and massages are available and the property also has outdoor tennis courts. Clay pigeon shooting, fly-fishing, and falconry displays are all possible within the Bolton Abbey Estate. The award-winning Burlington Restaurant offers a seasonal menu using the finest local produce. Guests can enjoy the ever-popular afternoon tea, and there is also a lounge bar. The Brasserie offers guests a more modern gastro-menu featuring some of Yorkshire's favourite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel Bolton Abbey
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel And Spa
Devonshire Arms Country Skipton
Devonshire Arms Country Hotel
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing