We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,566)
Filter reviews
1,566 results
Traveler rating
1,042
314
111
60
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,042
314
111
60
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburlington restaurantdevonshire armstasting menuafternoon teaattention to detailcocktail loungethe riveracross the roadbiscuitsfour poster bedone night staymichelin starwhole experiencemain restaurantcountry house hotelwedding anniversarycar park
Filter
Updating list...
992 - 997 of 1,566 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our second stay at this hotel, as before the staff were very good and extremely helpful the room was well appointed and clean. The strawberry tea offerd as part of the deal was a disappointment however , consisting of one scone and one strawberry with cream and jam. The evening meal was good and the restaurant service very good, although a 12% service charge seems a bit excessive .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear David S

Many thanks for your review.

It was nice to see that you enjoyed your second visit to us and that you found the team to be as helpful as ever. I am sorry that our cream tea was disappointment on this occasion, especially since the Strawberry Dales offer has gone down so well this summer.

Again thank you for your kind comments with regards to your dinner and the service in the restaurant. We do have an optional service charge on our bills which the team would have been more than happy to take off.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you for a third time in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

what a grand place, staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble, it was my sisters wedding and she had a brilliant day thanks to this hotel, I will go back for a stay any time, so much to do.

Room Tip: Just book it and go you will not be disappointed
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rue96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Rue96

Wow - thank you for the amazing review.

It is so nice to hear that you all had such a fantastic time at your sister's wedding.
Everyone looked fantastic, the sun came out, I think the staff enjoyed it as much as the guests - all in all a brilliant wedding day!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a great hotel and the only thing preventing a full 5 stars was the quality of meals. It's a lovely English countryside hotel, the location is perfect and the walk to the Abbey outstanding. The staff were all very pleasant, helpful and welcoming. Our view of the countryside from the room was also gorgeous. It is a real shame that the evening meal we had in the brasserie rather let the show down and did not match the quality of the building, location and staff. Although the breakfast was better quality, in truth, both were average at best.

That said, it was our first visit and we would return because of all the other things going for it. Maybe we just caught the Chef on a bad day...?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Devonshire arms was top of the line and exceeded my expectations. Staff was pleasant and welcoming. Rooms were clean beyond measure and the bedding was very comfortable. The hotel,itself was unique and its history incredibly interesting. Plenty of activities and things to do - one should definitely attempt some fly fishing and take a walk to the ancient Abbey. The food was impeccable and Nigel was the best ( and most interesting) wine sommelier on the planet. I can't wait to go back !!

Room Tip: Room 36 was great.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear viator1

Thank you for your very kind comments, it was nice to see that we exceeded your expectations.
We are of course extremely lucky to have such a unique location, we have the Duke and Duchess to thank for that one!

I was also glad to see that you enjoyed our new chefs food (Adam Smith), and as you say it is complemented so well by Nigel (who is definitely the best sommelier on the planet and Workington).

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just spent a night at this lovely hotel. Had a beautiful room with views over the lawns which lead to the river. Room was lovely and comfortable. Breakfast was great and freshly cooked. The hotel is in a superb location we had a walk along the river in the afternoon, a drive into Grassington in the evening followed by a shopping trip into Skipton in the morning. Could have easily spent a couple of more nights here. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms looked very nice. We asked for a 1st floor room to get the view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews