We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a lovely location. Breakfasts were very good as well as the outstanding service throughout the hotel. Expensive but well worth the visit as a special treat! The Brasserie meal was excellent as was the meal in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 36 had a perfect view over the grounds down to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrown13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    259
    89
    47
    31
See reviews for
190
868
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for a short romantic break. Upon arrival in the reception area the atmosphere was warm and welcoming. The excellent service started when we were shown to our room where we registered without having to queue at the reception desk. The room was a standard double which was very comfortable, quite spacious and a lovely view across the fields to the river. A bottle of champagne was awaiting our arrival. It is ideally situated for people who like to walk and enjoy the countryside. We ate in the Bistro and the food was excellent. There is also a Michelin star restaurant and, after talking to other guests who had eaten there we are now intending a return visit to try out that restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were staying on a Wish You Were here Deal but the staff needed reminding or asking at each meal. In the bistro they had no idea what was included and we had to ask for our included Pimms on the second night. This is not peculiar to this hotel as I have found the same problem at others. If you have to give your name in each restaurant why is it necessary to tell the staff you are on a package deal. This is a very good hotel let down by detail. Our room on the ground floor was clean and pleasant but the design of the bathroom was cramped requiring an awkward exit from the shower over the bath with no grab rail.
The pool in the spa is excellent though it is across the road.
The new chef shows excellent promise as food was very good in the restarant.
Walking from the hotel was excellent and the concierge gave very good advice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuryRowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed just one night and it was brilliant, the room was beautiful with a lovely view of the gardens. The staff were very helpful, friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a swim in the health barn which was relaxing and quiet. We did not have a meal because it was out of our league not what we are used to. We had lovely quiet and peaceful time and would return again and this time have a bigger afternoon tea and longer stay. This hotel was on our bucket/wish list but want to do it all over again.

Room Tip: We did not have a choice but was in the Wharfdale Wing, ground floor room facing the garden, would a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went on a "mini-moon" here after our wedding and what a treat it was. The staff could not have been lovelier, the room was amazing and food outstanding. We had some treatments in the spa which were also fab. Would definitely recommend for couples, both young and mature. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We staryed in the Fisherman room which was lovely, decorated tastefully and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AYork2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed one night in a Nidderdale room. It was very comfortable although the bathroom is a bit small. We ate in the Burlington restaurant. The food was excellent. Service was spot on and the extra touches such as fresh milk brought to the room and bites with the pre dinner drinks made this stay just about perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Devonshire Arms in Bolton Abbey. We had such a lovely time! I had a couple of treatments in the health barn, which were really relaxing. We tried the Tasting Menu one night, which was delicious. We ate in the Burlington Restaurant for 2 nights and then in the Brasserie on the last night. All the food was excellent. We stayed in one of the Wharfdale rooms on the ground floor and it had lovely views over the fields.Tthe staff were all so friendly and efficient and they really helped to make our stay special as they are so attentive. The only downside was the price of the drinks, which were a little bit overpriced in my opinion, but this didn't spoil our stay at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Abbey
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
16.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
5.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Address: | Bolton Abbey Estate, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bolton Abbey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 30,000 acres of land on the Bolton Abbey Estate, this impressive 4-star country house hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, an adult-only spa, a gym and an indoor pool. Skipton is just 5.8 miles away and Harrogate is 16.2 miles away. Each elegant room has a spacious seating area and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player ans satellite channels. All rooms offer different views of The Dales, River Wharfe and Italian Garden, and all rooms feature a luxury bathroom. Situated in the very heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Devonshire Arms Hotel has a luxurious spa featuring a sauna, steam room, swimming pool and whirlpool. A range of treatments and massages are available and the property also has outdoor tennis courts. Clay pigeon shooting, fly-fishing, and falconry displays are all possible within the Bolton Abbey Estate. The award-winning Burlington Restaurant offers a seasonal menu using the finest local produce. Guests can enjoy the ever-popular afternoon tea, and there is also a lounge bar. The Brasserie offers guests a more modern gastro-menu featuring some of Yorkshire's favourite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel And Spa
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel Bolton Abbey
Devonshire Arms Country Skipton
Devonshire Arms Country Hotel
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing