We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury amidst wonderful scenery...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury amidst wonderful scenery...”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Fabulous experience, including the tasting menu and accompanying wine selection. A fantastic setting in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Great little touches add to the luxury experience. We were thrilled to watch a helicopter land on the helipad from our first floor window - not something we see everyday!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    265
    92
    48
    33
See reviews for
192
884
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in March with our small dog. As soon as we entered the hotel we all were made very welcome. The room was well furnished and the beds very comfortable. Dogs are welcome and in the room there was a towel for the dod, a bowl and bonio and a couple of poo bags. Superb walks are available on the doorstep. Food in the brasserie was first class, the menu is quite short so if you were staying more than a couple of days you may need to dine elsewhere. Breakfast was perfect, excellent choice and all is prepared to order. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrywelburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louth
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a anniversary weekend stay.
Snow capped hills to make it all look picture postcard.
Upon arrival given a lovely welcome and orientation. The Manager was friendly and courteous and the room as our anniversary was upgraded , with a 4 poster bed in the old part of the hotel which was delightful and elegant. With lovely period furniture and the uneven floors from this lovely hotel to add to the charm.
We arrived mid afternoon so afternoon teas which was lovely.
The first night we ate the tasting menu from the Burlington 2nd night the evening menu. Both lovely the first few courses were heaven , mains not quite so mind blowing for the taste buds. Lovely none the less. Must mention the salt and seaweed butter its gorgeous!!! So nice they gave us some to take home.
Glass of champagne as aperitif with both meals. Might of been nice though when the asked if you'd like more they told you at extra cost.
The thing that we did find missing was went shopping on Saturday arrived back after 2 but too late to eat at brassiere. Doesn't make sense having 2 eateries and not much in the savoury available after 2.30-7pm. (other than sandwiches) luckily little café over the road.
I thought this was a long time with little options for nice light lunch to keep going to dinner. My only criticism,
We had a lovely stay other than open times for food in brassiere .
Love to go back.

Room Tip: The Shepherds room was lovely with the 4 poster looking over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMWITHEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here in early April as a lovely getaway treat and thoroughly enjoyed everything about the place. Particularly outstanding was the meal in the Burlington which was simply perfect. The staff were pleasant, efficient, knowledgeable and helpful without any of that obsequious nonsense sometimes prevalent in Michelin establishments. Our Wharfedale room - their least expensive - was lovely, if a little snug - and had the advantage of great views towards the hills and river.

We waled to Bolton Abbey & the river in the morning and it finished the break of wonderfully.

Overall a great stay and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the hills - they are available in all the price ranges
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigersTog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely decor and the restaurant is both elegant and the service excellent. Food in the brasserie bar was top class , and drinks in the cocktail lounge, very relaxing , gorgeous log fires everywhere!!! cooked breakfast was perfect, and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. what's more Dogs are very welcome and there are some beautiful dig (and human!)walks right from the doorstep. My only critisim would be the rooms are a tad small , but for a couple of nights , you just get on with it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked one night away for my better halfs birthday. When I enquired about booking the night I phoned the main reservation desk and asked the assistant if there was anything special we could have as his birthday gift. She was extremely helpful and offered us one of their offers which was a discount on the room (with breakfast included) if we dined with them on the evening - "why not" I thought so I also booked us into The Burlington Resturant for a fine dining experince as an extra gift.

When we arrived the first thing I noticed was that the staff were out of this world - very helpful, knowledgeable & could not do enough for us. The lady on the desk showed us round the hotel while the Concierge took our luggage to our room. We were then taken to our room (Park Top) which was better than we could have ever imagined, especially as we got it as the discounted deal. We had "his & hers" sinks, a bath & a seperate shower cubicle, tea & coffee making facilities (with fresh ice cold milk - not those little plastic tubs like you normally get in hotels), a flat screen TV, a 4 poster bed & a seating area with 2 arm chairs. The room was extremely clean, well furbished and had everything we needed

We spent a good 3 hours using the gym, pool, jacuzzi, sauna & steam room. The gym facilities were a little dated but still in good working order - and the air con was well needed :)

My most memorable part of the night was the meal in The Burlington. We were asked to sit in the Cocktail Lounge and wait for our canopes while we drank our complimentary champagne, before we could be seating at our table. We decided to go for the 7 course Taster Menu - WOW!! I could not reccomend this enough. Each course was sublime!! It was brought out and explained to us before we ate it which I thought was very helpful. The wine connsieur was extremely friendly and knowledgeable which was a great help too as I'm not much of a wine drinker so his advice was spot on!!

The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I have ever had. I had scrambled eggs on toast which were made with cream - they were divine!!! My husband had the full English breakfast - which I was very jealous of, with poached eggs. This was amazing and all the meats were local produce which was a great idea. You could also have cereal, fruits, pastries (all help yourself) & fresh juices - but after the 7 courses the night before and 2 bottles of wine I was only able to have the scrambled egg on toast :)

I could not have asked for more from this trip and would go again tomorrow if I had the time :) - worth a visit to all, even families - and dogs can stay in the rooms too for a small fee - I will take mine next time!!!

Room Tip: See what offers they have to make your trip even more fun!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was our first stay at the Devonshire Arms, having passed by in the car many times on our way to the Dales. We wanted a luxury break with good food and a relaxing atmosphere to celebrate our Ruby Wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed! Our room was well appointed, very comfortable and pleasant views over the courtyard and the River Wharfe beyond.
On the first night we dined in the Brasserie and enjoyed a good meal, with good service, following a swim in the nearby Spa. On the second night we sampled the delights of the Burlington Restaurant, with the Taster Menu, which was excellent. The staff made it a real occasion and an experience to remember. We can thoroughly recommend the Hotel for a comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable stay, with good food and excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Abbey
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
16.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
787 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,132 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Address: | Bolton Abbey Estate, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bolton Abbey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 30,000 acres of land on the Bolton Abbey Estate, this impressive 4-star country house hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, an adult-only spa, a gym and an indoor pool. Skipton is just 5.8 miles away and Harrogate is 16.2 miles away. Each elegant room has a spacious seating area and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player ans satellite channels. All rooms offer different views of The Dales, River Wharfe and Italian Garden, and all rooms feature a luxury bathroom. Situated in the very heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Devonshire Arms Hotel has a luxurious spa featuring a sauna, steam room, swimming pool and whirlpool. A range of treatments and massages are available and the property also has outdoor tennis courts. Clay pigeon shooting, fly-fishing, and falconry displays are all possible within the Bolton Abbey Estate. The award-winning Burlington Restaurant offers a seasonal menu using the finest local produce. Guests can enjoy the ever-popular afternoon tea, and there is also a lounge bar. The Brasserie offers guests a more modern gastro-menu featuring some of Yorkshire's favourite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel And Spa
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel Bolton Abbey
Devonshire Arms Country Skipton
Devonshire Arms Country Hotel
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing