We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dalesway Hotel(Ilkley)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Devonshire Fell Hotel(Burnsall)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Red Lion Hotel(Burnsall)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dalesgate Hotel(Keighley)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Black Horse Hotel(Grassington)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,565)
Filter reviews
1,565 results
Traveler rating
1,042
314
110
60
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,042
314
110
60
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburlington restaurantdevonshire armstasting menuafternoon teaattention to detailcocktail loungethe riveracross the roadbiscuitsfour poster bedone night staymichelin starwhole experiencemain restaurantcountry house hotelwedding anniversarycar park
Filter
Updating list...
1,162 - 1,167 of 1,565 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

By far one of the best hotel stays we have ever had. Although we had booked a Travelzoo deal, we were welcomed and cared for as if we were premium rate guests. We expected to have a limited choice of the Brasserie menu for the evening meal that was included in the deal, but had choice of the full menu - and the food was delicious, as was breakfast.
We stayed in a Wharfedale Room - the decor was lovely and the size was not an issue.The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was bright and clean and included lovely smelling toiletries. The only gripe I had, is that the you couldnt open one of the wardrobe doors fully, as it hit the door closer on the top of the room door. But hey, I could put up with that again!
A gem of a hotel that has a relaxed and welcoming feel, set in a beautiful location with plenty of countryside to explore -the reception can provide you with a leaflet giving local walks ranging from easy to more strenuous. Hopefully we can return for another stay soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R0sie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was our first trip to the Devonshire Arms and we will go back for sure. 2 of us plus our labrador headed North and were met in the carpark by a professional consierge in his country atire. The hotel was very friendly and well tuned for dogs staying. Dogs can stay at reception whilst going to evening dinner which is a good advantage. The hotel is very professional and extremely good.

It is owned and run by the Chatsworth Estate and they know how to run things well.

Our room was quite small but very clean and a very comfy bed, there were a couple of big chairs in the room that wiuld have been better if smaller to allow more space.

We ate in the Brasserie on both evenings, the food was good, well presented and well cooked, the Californian Pinot Noir was to die for.

The only one slight issue was trying to get lunch outside we were told in the hotel that we could eat outside but on trying was told that we couldn't although they could probably do it for us. The menu in the lounge with where the dog could go was limited to sandwiches and could not order from the Bistro menu. This is something that if sorted would really set this hotel apart from others and something I would expect from a hotel of this type. There is no reason to not allow this from what I can see.

Overall we could certainly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Check room sizes against numbers
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drbex999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our second visit - our first being a New Year Gala dinner evening about 2 years ago when we dined in style in the Burlington Restaurant. This time we took advantage of a Travelzoo deal and dined in the Brasserie. We had pre-dinner drinks in the Burlington cocktail lounge (champagne as it was our Anniversary) - we were surprised to see "reserved for Burlington diners" signs on the tables in the lounge which could have made visitors uneasy. However, In this instance we were asked if we were dining in the Burlington and when we said No we were still welcomed into the lounge. The Brasserie Meal was average and service good. We had our final drink back in the Burlington lounge area - these were the surroundings we had been looking forward to and our stay would not have been as enjoyable just staying in the Brasserie area. Our room was lovely with a view of the topiary gardens - enjoyed our anniversary overall and will probably stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Took my partner here for his Birthday this last weekend, what a wonderful hotel and experience to be had, Quintessentially English is a word that springs to mind, and how 5 star Hotels should be in my opinion. Our room was a little on the compact side but hey, we were on our travelzoo offer, so lets be honest and say if we wanted a larger bedroom then we would of upgraded. That apart the room was clean and tidy, bathroom spotless and towels etc replaced daily. Nice gesture of proper tea tray in the room with decent cups, milk in a flask and an excellent array of tea and coffee to choose from. We ate in the brasserie as part of the deal and again were not dissapointed. THere was no limit on what we could have from the menu as is sometimes the way with these deals and we had two great meals in there, breakfast was pretty much the same too. Service is with a smile at this place and nothing is too much trouble. My only comment is their service charge, which is discretionary should probably be a flat 10% on your bill, at the moment its 2/5% on room service and 12/5% everytime the waitress brings you a drink from the bar ! bit OTT Devonshire and perhaps you need to address this. Overall ? outstanding weekend at a superb hotel - we will be back !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocklobster R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our stay was combined with hosting a family dinner. The Devonshire met every request in an outstanding way. We and our guests were charmed. Every facility was thoughtfully provided for our golden retriever. The wifi was desperately slow and I have no doubt will be addressed and improved.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews