We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing & Attentive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Attentive”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at the Devonshire Arms for our 1st Anniversary. We'd stayed the year before and I loved the place so much I wanted to go back. The service is excellent and that in my opinion is what the Devonshire Arms staff do best. Attentive, but not in your face. The rooms are a little on the small & tired side, however clean and tidy. Lovely big bath and very comfortable bed, which your body just seems to mould into. I really like it that when you return from dinner your bed is turned down and there is a lovely tranquil essence put on your pillow, a nice touch and something you don't often see these days in this country. The Brasserie food was okay, but not spectacular, next time I think I will opt for the Burlington, but a fixed tasting menu is often off putting and a la carte choice would be nice to. The breakfast and the service was fantastic. The cocktail lounge has a fantastic list of drinks and wines, if a little pricey, however you are paying for luxury at Devonshire Arms. We used the spa and it was ok with a small pool, which was fine to swim and relax in, I wouldn't stay here if it was just a spa you were after, however it's a nice addition. On the whole though I'd definately stay again and recommend to Family and friends, infact I'd like to visit sister property in Derbyshire near Chatsworth in the future too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalousie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    276
    96
    48
    33
See reviews for
196
906
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

we booked the Devonshire to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary we were not disappointed. Lovley room with views over the countryside, ate in the Brasserie, food was superb, had a massage and used the spa facilities, i especially liked the single changing rooms and no fiddling around for £1 coins. Breakfast in the conservertory was pleasent with plenty of choice and good service. The walk to Bolton Abbey took about half an hour and was very scenic along the river it was so good we walked on to the cavendish pavilion for coffee. We went on a Travelzoo deal and would definatly go again.

Room Tip: Room 39 was nice as it had two windows allowing air to blow through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

always amazing food-though 10 couirse tasting menu was a bit too much for us- and we were a bit full
its always lovely here-reliable standard of excellence
we love everything
all we need is to keep retungn until we get good weather
it always seems to rain

Room Tip: take a wlak to the abbey or walk to the Railway and get the trian into Skipton
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosamundNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a lovely meal in the brasserie on Saturday evening, initially we had the place to ourselves but it soon filled up. Breakfast was nice in the conservatory on Sunday morning. Our room was nicely presented and the bed was comfy. The staff were very helpful. We enjoyed an hour in the spa across the road on Saturday and relaxed after breakfast on Sunday by reading the papers. I'd certainly go again on a Travelzoo deal, it's worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarDee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We had an enjoyable stay with friends and had a lovely meal in the restaurant We have the ten course tasting menu and found the textures and flavours amazing. And although the portions were minute we were all uncomfortably full so six courses may have been a better option. The bar service during the day was slow but otherwise service was good. For the money we expected a bit more luxury in the rooms although the bed was very comfy. The decor around the hotel is a bit odd too a bit modern in parts and doesn't flow very well Breakfast was fab. Overall great fir overnight treat with fab food but watch the service charges. Many people were querying this on checkout and check the bill is right

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sharpsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a spa break with a friend one night dinner, bed and breakfast with spa treatments. It's a lovely hotel, staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed in the artists room and thought it was fabulous amazing bathroom although had a view into internal gardens rather than surrounding countryside. Was surprised to be charged for room service and for the next mornings newspaper. In a hotel of this standard wd expect these to be included. The dinner and breakfast were really nice we ate in the brasserie. The spa although quite small and over the road from the hotel was nice. Had all facilities you would expect we even hired bikes and went a countryside ride. All in all a lovely relaxing night away.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

It was a phenomenal stay. The service we received was of a high standard from before we walked through the door. It was a very warm and friendly environment and all staff were always willing to help and were always pleased to see you. The room was immaculate and had more than what was expected. The wining and dining was amazing with an excellent, friendly service. The health barn was amazing and very relaxing just what everyone needs from time to time! Staff were excellent and when having a treatment they met every need. And absolute amazing stay everything was perfect and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethcox94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Abbey
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
11.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
5.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
592 reviews
18.7 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
10.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Address: | Bolton Abbey Estate, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bolton Abbey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 30,000 acres of land on the Bolton Abbey Estate, this impressive 4-star country house hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, an adult-only spa, a gym and an indoor pool. Skipton is just 5.8 miles away and Harrogate is 16.2 miles away. Each elegant room has a spacious seating area and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player ans satellite channels. All rooms offer different views of The Dales, River Wharfe and Italian Garden, and all rooms feature a luxury bathroom. Situated in the very heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Devonshire Arms Hotel has a luxurious spa featuring a sauna, steam room, swimming pool and whirlpool. A range of treatments and massages are available and the property also has outdoor tennis courts. Clay pigeon shooting, fly-fishing, and falconry displays are all possible within the Bolton Abbey Estate. The award-winning Burlington Restaurant offers a seasonal menu using the finest local produce. Guests can enjoy the ever-popular afternoon tea, and there is also a lounge bar. The Brasserie offers guests a more modern gastro-menu featuring some of Yorkshire's favourite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel Bolton Abbey
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel And Spa
Devonshire Arms Country Skipton
Devonshire Arms Country Hotel
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing