We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed at the Devonshire Arms for one night on Sunday 5th February 2012 as a special treat for my birthday. When we arrived, we were greeted by the firendly reception staff and our case was taken to our room while we checked in. We had a Wharfdale Room which was tastefully decorated and had a fantastic view. In the afternoon, we made use of the spa facilitied which are very chic and the pool was just like getting into a warm bath. At six months pregnant, this was bliss! The hotel is cosy and and inviting and the bar area is lovely. The turn-down service is a great idea and part of what makes this hotel so special. We had the a-la-carte dinner in the Burlington restaurant which is magically transformed at night with candles and silver crockery. My husband doesn't like seafood and the gentleman who took our order was most accomodating and offered to change some of the dishes as required. Nothing was too much trouble and the service in the restaurant was friendly and efficient without being intrusive. This was our first Michelin star experience and we enjoyed every minute from the amuse bouche to the pre-dessert course. When the amuse bouche was brought out and it contained fish, the staff immediately removed it and brought my husband something else delicious to sample and with it came apologies from the chef (which there was no need for but was a nice touch). The food was exquisite, a real taste sensation and left us feeling totally satisfied and delighted by the experience. Breakfast was also delicious. It was a nice touch having this in the conservatory.
My husband and I have a rather large age gap and, in other places we have visited, the staff haved treated us differently because of this. Not so at the Devonshire Arms - professional to the end and we really appreciated this. Upon leaving, our case was taken to the car by I think the duty manager even though we said there was no need - he replied saying we were still on holday until we got in the car. This left me with a smile on my face! My only quibble is the 12.5% service charge on everything including the room. We left what we consider to be a decent service charge (which actually equated to almost the 12.5%) but I don't like being told how much to pay for service. I think if the hotel removed this they may find they got more. The service and experience were top class.
This break was a real treat for us, the Devonshire Arms is not somewhere we could go to on a regular basis but we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisysmumStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially the Burlington restaurant.

Kind regards,
From all the team at The Devonshire Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    256
    86
    47
    40
See reviews for
176
854
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

For us, our stay was made by the people that work here. The reception team, the restaurant team and the unseen housekeeping team all deserve great praise. If ever you needed anything someone would appear as if from nowhere, deal with whatever, then seem to disappear again. Brilliant! This brings me to the issue raised by others about the 12.5 % service charge added to the bill. I would happily have paid more than this and i hope the whole charge is distributed between the staff. I have to believe that the staff are well looked after as any one of them could surely walk into a job any where else. The rooms are not big, but for our 1 night stay this was not a problem. Though the poor wifi signal in our room was a bit of a letdown. The rooms fixtures and fittings were of good quality.The surrounding area is beautiful and there are plenty of good walks. The michelin star restaurant was excellent. Some reviewers have complained about being seated in the conservatory, but we thought it was fine. We sat for almost 2 1/2 hours having the multi course taster menu, and did not find the chairs uncomfortable. This pace of service is perfect for us especially with the quality of the food and the service team. The wines recommended by the sommelier were very good. The sommelier just asked what menu we had chosen, what wines we normally enjoy and then recommended wines which were reasonably priced. The breakfast was again very good, and whilst some reviewers have complained of the size of the breakfast it was easily enough for us given what we had eaten the previous night. All this food and drink left us unwilling/unable to try the pool/leisure complex (which is just accross the road), maybe next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stroller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Devonshire Arms, wonderful reviews such as yours are a great motivator for all the team, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Kind regards,
From all the team at The Devonshire Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed at the Devonshire Arms Hotel for one night especially to enjoy the walks in its local area, the swimming pool and the Michelin star restaurant. Close to the hotel, the walks around Bolton Abbey and the river are fantastic and can be enjoyed at different levels from easy, moderate to hard. We ventured to the hotel's spa & pool area which is situated across the road, so best to take a track suit or a cosy jumper for the elements. However we were most annoyed when we got there to find that the pool was very full of children due to Wednesday afternoons being used for after school swimming lessons. So we retreated back to our Wharfedale bedroom which was very comfortable, warm and cosily decorated. The bathroom was small but thankfully we are both fit and slim enough to cope with its design. We selected to experience the Michelin star Burlington restaurant, but overall felt it was not up to expectations. Although there was abundant & attentive staff many looked tired, were very mechanical and had no sense of humour. We were placed in the conservatory which had uncomfortable wicker style chairs with a cushion placed behind our backs to give some kind support. The tables were too closer together and we had to spend the entire meal unavoidably listening to the two gentleman next to us who were deep in business conversation. Neither relaxing nor romantic. The meal itself was an incredible tasting and artistic experience and reflected the wonderful talents of the chefs. With such Michelin star meals we now comprehend how it may have been possible to distribute the 5 loaves and 2 fishes amongst so many people in the biblical story. Anyone with hearty appetites will prefer a meal in the hotel's brasserie. We were placed in the same Burlington conservatory room for breakfast and amusingly the full 'Yorkshire' breakfast, which was extremely tasty, had 'Lancashire' Bury black pudding! Bewarned that a voluntary service charge is added to the bill which is something we have never experienced in a hotel before, but it does seem to have an excessively large number of staff. The hotel is well worth a visit because of its beautiful situation and our best advice is to take one of its special offer promotions.

Room Tip: Our modern Wharfdale room was on ground floor and faced gardens which were very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit, we are proud to have such a stunning location at Bolton Abbey. We were disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations in the Burlington restaurant and hope that it has not put you off staying again.

Kind regards,
From all the team at The Devonshire Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

An ideal location for visiting the Yorkshire Dales both by car or walking. Furnishings generally very tasteful with no doubt the stamp of no less than the Duchess.
Rooms very comfortable and with new en suite facilities.
Our cold winter visit enhanced by well attended log fires. Very pleasant staff keen to help with even the smallest request. A lovely warm atmosphere in more ways than one. Dogs allowed naturally under certain conditions. I could have said it is a terrible place and have it all to myself! But that is just not true.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
What a fantastic review, thank you! We hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
From all the team at The Devonshire Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

I recently went for lunch at the brasserie and with my preconceptions of a brasserie was extremely surprised. The menu was well laid out and provided a good selection of dishes. I chose the guinea fowl and my friend had the fish and chips. Both dishes were presented beautifully and the taste was just the same, I was very impressed.
As I work in the hospitality industry myself I asked for a tour of the hotel and the concierge was more than happy to provide this. We got an extensive tour of function rooms, dining areas, bedrooms and spas, everywhere was individual and i cannot wait to return for an overnight stay and to sample the delights of The Burlington restaurant.
Also the doormen are dressed exemplary for a country house hotel and like all the staff were so warm and welcoming and willing to go above and beyond.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill200885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal in the Brasserie as well as your tour of the hotel and have passed your comments onto the team.

Kind regards,
From all at The Devonshire Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We booked to stay here for my 30th Birthday and ate in the Burlington Restaurant (see separate review). It completely lived up to expectations. On arrival we were greated by Eddie, who showed us round the hotel and immdeiately put us at ease. The Hotel is beautiful, warm and inviting. Our room was spotless and we loved the complimentary apples. Eddie told us about all the walks you could do round the estate and was so helpful and professional.
Breakfast was brilliant and the spa is relaxing and luxurious.

We loved the hotel, it's staff and setting so much we cannot wait for another special occasion to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheffield29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
This review is wonderful, thank you! We agree that Eddie is a credit to the hotel and he is delighted that you mentioned him in your comments.

Kind regards,
From all the team at The Devonshire Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Very nice country hotel. Formal and cozy at the same time. Service is very good although throughout. Spa is a bit disappointing. No changing rooms so you have to get changed in these little cabins and then have to walk past reception in your bathing suit! Michelin star restaurant is very good- though tad old style stuffy. Rooms do not have good sound insulation - i could follow conversations in rooms either side of me. Do check your bill on check out. They added at 'voluntary' service of close to 30% to my bill. I thought that was rather rude- and the first time in my life someone has tried to add a service charge to a hotel room! Left me with a somewhat bitter feeling after a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rrlondon500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, Manager at The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall, but were obviously disappointed that The Devonshire Health Barn did not meet your expectations. We are sorry that you were not happy with the 12.5% service charge; our reception team would have happily removed this from your bill.

Kind regards,
From all the team at The Devonshire Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Abbey
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
16.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
5.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Address: | Bolton Abbey Estate, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Bolton Abbey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolton Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 30,000 acres of land on the Bolton Abbey Estate, this impressive 4-star country house hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, an adult-only spa, a gym and an indoor pool. Skipton is just 5.8 miles away and Harrogate is 16.2 miles away. Each elegant room has a spacious seating area and a flat-screen TV with a DVD player ans satellite channels. All rooms offer different views of The Dales, River Wharfe and Italian Garden, and all rooms feature a luxury bathroom. Situated in the very heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Devonshire Arms Hotel has a luxurious spa featuring a sauna, steam room, swimming pool and whirlpool. A range of treatments and massages are available and the property also has outdoor tennis courts. Clay pigeon shooting, fly-fishing, and falconry displays are all possible within the Bolton Abbey Estate. The award-winning Burlington Restaurant offers a seasonal menu using the finest local produce. Guests can enjoy the ever-popular afternoon tea, and there is also a lounge bar. The Brasserie offers guests a more modern gastro-menu featuring some of Yorkshire's favourite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel And Spa
The Devonshire Arms Country House Hotel Bolton Abbey
Devonshire Arms Country Skipton
Devonshire Arms Country Hotel
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing