We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (4,658)
Filter reviews
4,541 results
Traveler rating
3,785
575
116
34
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,785
575
116
34
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews all ages fairground rides value for money big wheel the barn great family day go karts goat animal enclosures half price land train annual pass pay extra indoor play area under cover rain or shine visit folly
Filter
Updating list...
3,968 - 3,973 of 4,541 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We took our two children to Folly farm whilst on holiday in the area. It was a perfectly good day out, but to be honest we wont be adding it to the "must do next time" list.
The giraffes were clearly the highlight of the day, along with the HUGE indoor softplay area.
The park has an old fashioned fun fair, which my eldest (4) had been desperately excited about. We made the mistake of getting £10 worth of tokens anticipating 4- 5 goes on the helta skelta, which she usually loves only to discover you needed to be 1.2m to use it! that followed by missing the face painting which only ran for 2 hours a day, did leave us with a rather disappointed little girl.

1  Thank MrsOggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe W, Public Relations Manager at Folly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're pleased to hear you had a nice day out and particularly enjoyed the giraffes.

I'm sorry your child was not tall enough to go on the Helter Skelter. The height restrictions are there for the safety of our visitors and are not set by us but by external health and safety specialists. If you had spoken to a member of staff they would have happily reimbursed you for your unused tokens. I'm sorry you were unable to get your daughter's facepainted. We actually don't do facepainting outside of the main school holidays but over the last couple of weeks we have been offering it for a couple of hours a day to help with staff training and the times are advertised on the What's On Board at the entrance and at the facepainting area itself.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I went to Folly Farm a few days ago and had a good day, but it's not one of the best places like that I've been to. The vintage funfair is good for what it is. The rides aren't special but it is vintage so they will be old and sometimes silly (ghost train was hilariously bad but worth going on for a laugh). The penguins enclosure is nice as they have really deep water for them to swim and you can watch them through an underwater window. What I did find disappointing was the barn area. For example the donkeys were inside all day in a small area. They all looked a bit depressed and even though they were in the shade on such a hot day, I think they should've had the option to go outside if they wanted. This wasn't really an all day thing, it might be if you have kids, but we were only there for about 2 hours.

1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe W, Public Relations Manager at Folly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Many thanks for posting a review of your day out. I'm glad you enjoyed our new penguin enclosure but I was disappointed to read your comments about the funfair. We have the largest collection of restored vintage funfair rides in Europe which including all the popular ones and some of the most rare rides and we never receive negative feedback about the quality of the collection of rides we have.

I know I have already responded direct to you following your email to the park about the donkeys but for the benefit of other travelers I have posted my response again below:

Dear Michelle

Thank you for contacting us regarding your concern. I would like to reassure you that all our donkeys and horses are kept outside in extensive paddocks for the majority of the time. They are brought into the Jolly Barn just before 10am and they go out again at about 4.45pm. They like being inside during the day away from the horse flies and the excessive heat and are often waiting at the gates of the paddock in the morning wanting to come inside. Their pens all exceed the minimum husbandry guidelines and they are inspected at least weekly by our contracted veterinary partners and they are all happy, healthy animals. All our animal enclosures are signed off by the council's animal licensing department. The Jolly Farmers are experienced in animal care, many of them having a qualification in animal science and they care deeply for the animals in their charge. If it was particularly hot day when you visited then they may have been a little more sleepy than usual but they are still better off in the barn than out in the full heat. I would also like to reassure you that we would never compromise animal welfare for the enjoyment of visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Quite expensive and they don't highlight the fact that there are many extras to pay for.recommend a picnic as the food and the service was terrible and ridiculously expensive. The attractions were fab.we loved the funfair and the farm part. Didn't even have time to do the land train.we stayed all day and didn't see it all. Good if you are looking for under cover-we were trying to keep out of the sun and succeeded.two adults two tinies

Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe W, Public Relations Manager at Folly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. We're pleased to hear you thought the attractions were fab and didn't manage to see everything in a day.

I'm surprised by your comments about price. For a family of four (with both children being aged three or over) you would have paid £37 (or £33.30 if you'd bought tickets online) not far off what you'd pay for a trip to the cinema.

Included in the entrance price is the zoo with over 200 animals, the Jolly Barn with the play equipment, interactive exhibits, Cwtch Corner, goat milking demonstrations and a variety of animals you can interact with, numerous outdoor playgrounds including the Destruction sandpit playground and the Pirate Adventure playground, the huge inddor playground Carousel Woods and the Follywood Country park with land train ride (which you didn't get time to do).

The only thing we charge for is the funfair rides, the go-karts and the mini excavators. We charge for these for two reasons, firstly because of throughput issues, if we didn't chrage the queues would be too long and we wouldn't be able to put everyone through these attractions in a day, secondly because so many of our visitors do not reach the height requirements for these rides so it is better for these visitors not to pay extra on entrance to have something included they are unable to take advantage of. Our food prices are in line with other local and UK attractions and we use local produce to offer good value, tasty produce.

We highlight the additional charges on our website under www.folly-farm.co.uk/planyourday/additionalcharges as well as on the price page, in our printed leaflet and on the price signs on the entrance tills.

Thanks again for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Folly farm is well worth a visit. It has a wealth of attractions, including farm animals that you can touch, zoo animals, giraffes and penguins especially worth a visit, plenty of clean toilet facilities and refreshments all over the place. The animal keepers are friendly and informative.

1  Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe W, Public Relations Manager at Folly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Many thanks for providing feedback. We're delighted to hear you enjoy all our animals and find our farm and zoo staff informative and friendly. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a good place to go if you have children and like a lot of noise, junk food and razzamatazz. Once you get away from the main play area it is a bit quieter and there does seem genuine care for the animals. We enjoyed watching the giraffes and the meercats. The penguins did not have sufficient space and the owls were in small enclosures. I would not have gone on my own, but the youngsters enjoyed it.

2  Thank JanettaDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe W, Public Relations Manager at Folly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your day out. As a family attraction we're pleased to hear your children enjoyed the day and that you appreciate how important animal welfare is to us. Regarding your comments about the penguins and the owls, all these enclosures exceed the recommended husbandry guidelines for these species. In fact the penguin enclosure is three times the recommended size and offers sate-of-the-art saltwater facilities to provide the best possible breeding environment for this species, for which we are part of the Endangered Species Breeding Programme.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews