We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Sunny Success”
Review of Folly Farm

Folly Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Begelly
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If you are looking for a fun and educational family day out in Wales then there is nowhere better than Folly Farm! With a zoo, farm, fairground and indoor and outdoor adventure play you'll leave understanding why it has twice been voted 'Best Family Day Out in Pembrokeshire and Wales'.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is by far the best adventure and experience location we could have chosen for a day out during the holidays with our 2 year old, her townie mum and dad and a grandad that generally does not like "attractions"
Folly Farm is easy to reach (aside from the hard-core car park which is tough on tired feet, toddlers and pushchairs alike). The place is kept impeccably clean, wide open pathways, lots of grassy areas and picnic options.
We loved the whole environment from old fashioned fair, to ferris wheel, the JCB's and sandpits, the giraffes and the indoor play zone. Food is snack food and not brilliant but at less than £5 for a baguette and drink lunch we thought it was fair value.
One small crisis for us was the ease with which our granddaughter escaped from the soft play area; our fault for not supervising her every move, even though we sad extremely close to the zone.We had a very scary few moments and she had run off across a vast, busy area before we found her. Perhaps a gate system would add a little more security and it was not clear who would of helped or what you do about lost kids or lost parents....
Anyway the whole place was a total success; townie dad loved being there, townie mum adored the penguins, grandad went on the ferris wheel and I fell in love with a giraffe......ooh and the donuts were a late bonus treat as we left.

Thank Hope99_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe W, Public Relations Manager at Folly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. It's great to hear we've converted grandad and all your family had a great time. Thank you for your comments about park cleanliness and variety of things to do.

I will pass on your suggestion about gates in the soft play to see if this is feasible. Please be assured we have proceedures for lost children in place which you can read about in reception and on our website. We operate a wristband policy on arrival where you can put your mobile number for easy contact should you become separated. We have a lost child point in reception and all staff are trained to look out for lost children or lost parents. Since introducing the wristband proceedure we have dramatically reduced the amount of time it takes to reunite lost parents and children.

Hope to see you again next time you are holidaying in Pembrokeshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,504 - 3,508 of 4,064 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

My partner and I visited Folly Farm today to finish off our Long weekend in Wales. This was my partners first visit here and he thoroughly enjoyed it but I have been coming to Folly Farm ever since I was little (now 26) and it really is great to see it expand and just get better and better over the years!

We particularly enjoyed the giraffe lookout point (great idea) and the charm of the vintage funfair and there is so much to see/do even for us ‘big kids’! Folly Farm is very well laid out and all of the animals seem to be happy and well looked after and it was very nice to see the addition of the penguin coast on this visit.

We thought we'd beat the rush and had lunch slightly earlier in the restaurant which has a good selection of food and a nice fun atmosphere with the music from the vintage funfair playing in the background.

Unfortunately we had to leave mid-afternoon for the long drive back home so didn’t have time to see/do everything HOWEVER I shall just use this as an excuse for us to come back again in the future!


Probably more of a comment for Folly Farm than visitors but the ONLY thing that my boyfriend and I discussed on the way home that perhaps was a bit disappointing was the gift shop. From a tourist point of view we thought we would perhaps find a good selection of welsh gifts or produce amongst stock given that they sell everything from toys to decorative items for the house and also being a 'tourist attraction'. The folly farm branded items were great as were the cuddly toys you can buy of animals you have seen during your day out but didn't really understand the relevance for selling unrelated things like Hello Kitty items?

Also, being an avid postcard writer I headed straight for the postcard rack and although I understand children are no doubt the main market for the gift shop I couldn’t help but think that maybe photographic view postcards of areas around Folly Farm would appeal to EVERYBODY and be better at promoting/advertising all those lovely unique parts of what makes Folly Farm great (Such as a view of the giraffes at the Lookout, the Jolly Barn or the Vintage Funfair) more than postcards of animals cropped onto a coloured background. Just a thought.

Aside from that, I really can’t recommend Folly Farm enough though– Whatever your age!!
Great value for money and so much to see and do :D A stay in Wales just isn't complete without a day out at Folly Farm.

Thank AlexiaN1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe W, Public Relations Manager at Folly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Many thanks for your comprehensive review. We're delighted to hear from two adults that really enjoyed the whole day out and it's also great to hear how much you have seen Folly Farm develop since you were little.

We're pleased you enjoyed Giraffe Heights in particular, this has been a fantastic addition to the giraffe enclosure and has really enhanced the visitor experience. I like your idea about using photos of this platform on postcards and I will put this forward to the retail manager as well as your other feedback.

Hope to see you next time you are in Wales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

loved the new penguin enclosure and the zoo was very good apart from walking all the way down to see the hogs and the were not there.As its a farm any reason why there are no cows?????Play area very good for kids

Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe W, Public Relations Manager at Folly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Many thanks fro your review. We're delighted you had a great day out with us and enjoyed the new penguin enclosure. Sorry about the hogs, we have moved them to the top of the zoo, near the Ocelot to give them more space. We sold on the dairy farm some time ago once the tourism side of the business had grown to such an extent that would could no longer run the two businesses side by side. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Folly Farm really has it all! No matter what the weather, you will have a fun packed day.
This is not just a farm - there are farm animals, zoo animals, land train rides, animal petting, crafts, indoor soft play, outdoor park, tractor rides, digger rides, indoor fun fair, cafe's, restaurants, fish, birds and so much more!
All the animals seem happy and well cared for. There are demonstrations too, making it a fully interactive attraction. Children can learn all about the animals! We will definitely be going back.

Thank darceyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe W, Public Relations Manager at Folly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thanks for your very positive review. We're delighted to hear you had a great time and especially enjoyed all our animals. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited Folly Farm today and I can honestly say it was the best day out we have all had! There was so much to do for all of us aged between 5 and 29. We loved looking at all of the animals, listening to the talks and watching them being fed. My favourite part was the vintage fun fair which was so much fun. We spent the entire day here and could easily have spent much more time with so much to do. Very well priced and excellent value for money.If we come back to the area I will definitely visit again.

Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe W, Public Relations Manager at Folly Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Wow! What high praise. We're delighted to hear what a great time you all had. Thank you for your comments about how much there is to do and what great value we are. See you next time you are on holiday in West Wales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Folly Farm also viewed

 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Stackpole, Pembroke
 

Been to Folly Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing