We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Begelly Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Begelly B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Well done to all the staff and owners at the begelly arms. We had a fantastic stay. Fabulous food and service. The room was warm and very clean. Lovely comfy bed too. We had a lovely welcome and all the staff were lovely. Only down side we would comment on was that breakfast was under staffed!! Poor Angela was run ragged trying to serve us. Definitely could have done with at least two staff. Beautiful breakfast though. Would definitely recommend .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 444NIA1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 149 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Slightly disappointed, the main hotel was very nice, but the chalet accommodation wasn't what appeared in the photographs, very basic, 2 faulty smoke detectors which was reported immediately, 24 hours later still not replaced.
The bathroom was functional, the shower cubicle left a lot to be desired, very small, cannot fault the bed that was very comfortable.

The assistant manager was lovely and very helpful, we had an evening meal there, I ordered scampi, mushy peas and chips, the peas came out cold, when I pointed it out, it came back nuked, so it was tasteless, my other family members enjoyed their meals.

For breakfast in the morning, there was no bacon, available, the hot drinks, a basic tea & coffee took ages to arrive, most hotels would have these for customers to serve themselves.

So felt slightly disappointed with the overall experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huw G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Hearty portions of meat - well cooked (beef nicely medium rare, pork well seasoned, turkey -nice and juicy) - veg selection fine...nice red cabbage. £8.95 per person. Not much staff - so had to leave table to go to bar to get drink orders. Big barn of a place..nice and light for summer, but rather cool for winter dining.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Freshwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

A great welcome from friendly, helpful staff plus a good selection of beers and wines. An interesting menu with plenty to suit all ages. We enjoyed the Sunday buffet carvery which carried on till mid afternoon. The bedrooms have been refurbished and are warm and quiet. Good breakfast! Recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Most of the elements that are required for a nice stay at a local hotel are in place at the Begelly Arms and we're sure the new owners will soon have the minor issues sorted.

We stayed in the main building and the room was clean, comfortable and all the basic amenities needed such as tv, kettle, tea and coffee are in place.

We would class the food as typical pub food and found it adequate. Breakfast was fine but was disappointed to find the "pigs-in-blankets" served at the previous day's carvery, reheated and served as sausages on the following day's cooked breakfast.

The ale was well kept but it's the bar area where staff are lacking in attention and attitude. Despite staff sitting around (we stayed during a quiet period), tables weren't cleared of empty glasses and we found ourselves stacking glasses on top of each other to make room. That said, one or two of the bar staff where very helpful and courteous.

Would we stay again? Yes, probably. There are bound to be teething problem when new owners take possession of a pub/hotel and make changes. We're certain that they're on the right track and overall, we had a pleasant couple of days.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdrianM649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I booked 9 rooms as we had some business in the local.
Staff were excellent and looked after us well
Food: Starters were a bit retro-(prwn c/tail garlic m/rooms etc ) main course: most of us had steaks that were excellent
Breakfast was also v good
Rooms are basic but did the job.
Its not the Ritz but its excellent value

Room Tip: Outside Chalets are a bit tired - we booked 9 of us 7 stayed in the hotel (all satisfied) 2 outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here in August. Really lovely staff. Buffet breakfast just brilliant. Plenty of choice and can have as much as you like. Restaurant where you eat is really pleasant and clean. Our room was great too. There was a function going on on the Saturday night with live music which did not bother us but could keep some people awake.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begelly
1.7 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
1.9 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,179 reviews
3.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Merlewood Hotel
Merlewood Hotel
#4 of 5 in Saundersfoot
169 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
425 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Begelly Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Begelly Arms Hotel

Address: New Road, Begelly SA68 0YF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Begelly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Begelly
Price Range: $89 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Begelly Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Hotel, Restaurant, and Inn with rooms, situated in the heart of rural Wales close to the borders of Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire we offer home cooked food, and rooms with en suite showers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Begelly Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing