We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in a beautiful modern castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenskirlie House and Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Banknock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in a beautiful modern castle”
Reviewed December 8, 2010

A stunning medieval castle. Rooms well decorated and excellent dining on site. Food gorgeous! Rooms quite expensive but well worth it. Luxurious hotel, would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinklady2Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    62
    33
    14
    6
See reviews for
96
213
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Attended a friend's wedding at Glenskirlie Castle this summer and stayed in one of the rooms also. Castle is stunning! It has some medieval touches to it however is modern and funky also! Gorgeous pink colours throughout with a rose theme. Ceremony room is quite traditional with stained glass windows.

Staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Food was so gorgeous and everyone who attended had a wonderful day!

Perfect wedding location, the bride and groom had a wonderful day there!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belle2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

we stayed at this hotel as we were at a wedding, nothing special about the rooms except the disabled one which is a nightmare, how this passed as disabled is beyond me. staff didnt seem to care whether you enjoyed your stay or not, certainly overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank scotslass04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

i stayed at this hotel in the 'disabled room', the room itself was ok but the bed was very high to transfer from wheelchair. my biggest problem was the toilet in the room, the worst disabled loo ive ever been to, the tiny toilet was squashed in a corner with very limited access to it, we eventually had to dislocate a shower door to be able to access the toilet itself - shocking - dont stay here if you use a wheelchair.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eastkyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

The first impressions of the hotel are great, while not a true castle (only 6 years old) the décor matches old world charm with a contemporary twist.

Unfortunately when you see past thin stylish veneer you will find rooms that are to small (In my room you need several years of yoga practice to use the toilet such was the position of the toilet)

The coast of the rooms and the breakfast are far to expensive for the quality on offer

The food was good apart from the breakfast which was very poor, communal areas and gardens all comfortable and well looked after, the staff are attentive and personable.

All in all if the hotel was half the price you would say it was quite good, but at these prices it looks out of its depth.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justhitched2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights and felt that it was totally over rated and so so so over priced. The rooms are nice, but no nicer than other more reasonably priced hotels. There was nice toiletries in the room but even this didn't justify the room bill.

The room was far too hot and neither me or my sister slept very well at all. The shower looked very impressive but the screen was pretty useless and the water was all over the floor by the time we'd both finished.

The drinks in the hotel were also too expensive and I feel that they can get away with it due to guests being a captive audience as there is nothing else really around.

The food at night and for breakfast were also nothing special, don't think I would go out my way to stay here again. All in all I found it very underwhelming and pretty disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaSeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We called in here for lunch with a view to looking at the premises for our son's wedding. Initially we went to the castle which was advertising lunch only to be sent to the other house and told that lunches finished in 10 minutes. We hurried over to be met with the waitress looking at her watch" lunch is just about to finish." However we did stay but felt rushed from this point on although it did take some time to be offered a drink and the menu. We chose pate and prawn cocktail followed by steak pie and the vegetarian dish. The pate arrived very soft on a hot plate and very pink in colour the prawn cocktail was also warm for what one would expect to be chilled dishes neither of us finished this course. In fairness the quality of beef in the steak pie was ok but a lack of it coupled with cold thin pastry only compounded the severe disappointment of the vegetarian dish which was overcooked and tasteless pasta covered by salad. We were positioned at a table where we could actually see into the respective ladies/gents so at this point decided to leave without the wedding brochure! The waitresses were more interested in their huddle round the bar than attending to the customers. This is one we won't be rushing back to.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ettawestown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banknock
0.9 mi away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
485 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
9.0 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
16.7 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,046 reviews
20.5 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenskirlie House and Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenskirlie House and Castle

Property: Glenskirlie House and Castle
Address: Kilsyth Road, Banknock FK4 1UF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Banknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Banknock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenskirlie House and Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Glenskirlie House and Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenskirlie House And Castle Hotel Banknock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing