We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT Wedding!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenskirlie House and Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Banknock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT Wedding!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were so lucky to have our wedding at the Glenskirlie Castle. One word describes the day...PERFECT! From the staff (Julie special mention to you), to the venue, to the food, everything was absolutely perfect. We had our ceremony in the castle, the high ceilings with wooden beams showing and stained glass window are stunning. Thankfully, the weather was pretty good for a Scottish summer and we were able to enjoy the stunning gardens surrounding the castle.

The food for the wedding breakfast was amazing. It was especially good that the all our guests got their food at pretty much the same time compared to other weddings we have been at. We have eaten in the restaurant a couple of times and the food was first class. Again another mention for the staff who were professional and efficient whilst also being friendly.

We had also organised our own candy buffet which the staff set up for us and it looked amazing.

We opted for the BBQ in the evening and we have had rave reviews. The best BBQ food our guests have ever eaten.

Lastly our honeymoon suite – absolutely out of this world. The room was amazing, from the chill out area to the Jacuzzi bath and amazing bathroom, not to mention the four poster bed.

We would like to say a massive thank you to the staff at the Glenskirlie for making our day one we will remember forever. The day could not have gone any better and from the brides’ point of view, was stress free. We would highly recommend the Glenskirlie to any Bride and Groom to be, they will be blown away!

To quote many of our guests – this is the best wedding we have ever been to! Compliments don’t get any better than that.

From the new Mr and Mrs Henderson x

Room Tip: White honeymoon suite is out of this world!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    61
    32
    13
    6
See reviews for
95
204
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My daughter and son in law had their wedding reception at Glenskirlie House in May 2013. The venue was lovely, the food was excellent and the staff very pleasant and helpful. The day went off beautifully and credit is due to all of the staff who organised the event and ensured that the wedding reception was superb.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed family wedding at this venue yesterday. We were blessed with lovely sunny weather so that of course allowed us to see the venue at its best. The grounds are lovely for photographs. The chapel was sweet and nicely decorated. The reception area was well furnished and the meal was beautiful. The staff were very helpful and courteous.
The only negative I could see was that only CASH was taken for drinks. The use of cards was with charge which I felt was unacceptable
Overall lovely day

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniecat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Have been looking forward to our daughters wedding on 1st June 2013 for some time now, and Glenskirlie Castle did not disappoint. Just an amazing castle setting with all staff helpful and considerate. A first class experience and one to not forget. Meal and presentation superb and runs like clockwork. Their attention to detail makes it all worthwhile. Would recommend Glenskirlie Castle at the drop of a hat. Lovely rooms with the honeymoon suite for the bride and groom quite spectacular. So thanks Glenskirlie for making this day one for us all to remember

Room Tip: stay over when attending a wedding as all part of the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wcw1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

As the father of the bride I would like to express my gratitude for 1st class hospitality and service.the facilities were excellent the food provided for the. Main meal and the buffet were of very good quality.everybody was absolutely delighted with the whole affair and the management and staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.it was much to the credit of all concerned that it turned out to be a such a memorable occasion.i have no hesitation in recommending glenskirlie as a terrific place to have their wedding reception having set a standard which is difficult to beat.a very sincere thankyou to all the staff at glenskirlie for a job exceptionally well done.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hutchiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

When we first booked our wedding in the castle back in August we were blown away with the venue and how nice the staff were, service and attention to detail was clearly visible! Suzanne our wedding planner was great and colin/lynne and julie were all extremely helpful as we had ongoing changes right up to the morning of our wedding on sun 28th april. The whole day was amazing and magical, staff couldnt help enough and no re quest was too much for them. Food was lovely, we have eaten in the resturant a few times and have always thought the food to be of a very high standard. I would recommend this venue to any bride and groom planning their special day!
thanks to the glenskirlie team for making our special day truly amazing - Billy & Nikki Cairney

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

At the time of our first visit we knew immediately that Glenskirlie House was the place for our wedding. The setting was beautiful and everything we needed to make our day amazing was all under one roof. Glenskirlie have a great reputation and now I know why. From the time of our first meeting through to the wedding day itself the staff were on hand to answer all of my questions. I did not feel stressed at any point during the preparations or on the day itself, everything went so smoothly. The managers on the day were fantastic, they do an amazing job. Myself and my Husband had a magical day and all of our guests had a ball. It has been four weeks since our wedding and I am still getting comments from friends and family on what a great wedding it was. I must also comment on the Hotel itself, the Honeymoon suit was out of this world and all of the little extras made it a wonderful stay. I would highly recommend Glenskirlie as a Wedding Venue and Hotel and I hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banknock
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenskirlie House and Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenskirlie House and Castle

Property: Glenskirlie House and Castle
Address: Kilsyth Road, Banknock FK4 1UF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Banknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Banknock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenskirlie House and Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Glenskirlie House and Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenskirlie House And Castle Hotel Banknock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing