We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful place with plenty of character”
Review of The Old Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Mill
Ranked #1 of 3 Baginton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A delightful place with plenty of character”
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Absolutely delightful, beautiful rooms overlooking the river, comfy beds, nice powerful shower (watch it doesn't knock you off your feet). Friendly & helpful staff. Decent food in the restaurant. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carpet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    141
    54
    17
    19
See reviews for
96
155
14
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

The best thing about this hotel is the service from the breakfast waitress.
Second time we have stayed here on our annual trip to a local event. The first visit found us with Hobson's choice of food in the evening, even though it was October their excuse for having hardly anything on the menu available was the fact that they were in the process of changing to their Xmas menu, they were also not able to provide a bottle of champagne or decent wine, obviously too early for the Christmas stocking! The reception is not manned, same comments from other guests and we had learned from our first visit not to be so patient and went straight to the bar for assistance. The second trip found us arriving around 10.00pm after a horrendous journey, our lateness meant that they had stopped serving food and we managed one quick drink in the bar before they switched the lights off. Our early morning call did not materilise and even though the room had nice decor and was clean it still smelt of stale cigarettes, the kettle spuot was broken and we had no soap - empty packet yes but no content, one was brought to the room after our call to reception was eventually answered. The breakfast, which had been good the first time was very poor, in particular the cooked element. The staff are very average and like I said at the start this the breakfast waitress appears to be the only one who has grasped customer care. Shame lovely features and setting.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PALMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We were looking for a nice and not expensive hotel/mill nearby Coventry, in order to visit Warwick, Stratford, Coventry itself and even Ironbridge (1 hour distance by car)

we booked the hotel through the website, got a very good rate for three days (from friday to sunday), they offer those rates during weekends only

the hotel includes a pub, recently refurbished, you can get breakfast and-or dinner there. We only had dinner once, restaurant quite expensive. Rooms nice, if you get the river view you feel like living in the countryside (even if motorway is quite close!!!)

we liked the free parking, the view, the quitness, the easy-to-get-everywhere-by-car... we didn't like the poor reception (you will hardly find someone waiting for you, staff is always at the pub nearby so it's better if you look for the over there)

Apart from that last issue, I think it's the best way to spend some days in the Coventry area (don't even think of staying in the city centre, choose this mill instead)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sky1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

beautiful room looking out to the water.
great food lovely garden a great place to relax

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Restaurant - terrible experience - Saturday 24th January 2009

The main course took an hour to come. We sent back two of the four main corses; the salmon steak because it had been cooked rigid, and the half chicken because it was incinerated - scorched black on the outside and like leather on the inside. There was no explanation or apology - the food was taken away and removed from the bill without comment.


We had booked in advance and arrived at 7:30pm. We were shown to our table and lectured on what we couldnt have and told to expect a wait of 45 minutes for our food. We should have left then.

Starter portion sizes were miniscule; 3 tiny slivers of lukewarm duck, each about the size of a 50p piece on a rocket leaf cost ~ £4.90. The Mezze to Share(~ £4.75 per person) for THREE PEOPLE was made up of 2 tablespoons of bland supermarket humus, a small ramekin of tiny olives, and three small pittas and very little else.

I thought standards this bad had been pretty much wiped-out in the UK

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heurrgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Everything very good except the duty manager didn't get up to open the restaurant for breakfast until 8.15 on the Sunday morning. Other residents (and the chef sat outside waiting) said this was a regular occurance. We needed a prompt breakfast at 8.00 and a quick getaway. When we finally got in we had a continental breakfast instead of full English purely to save time but it was not what we wanted or had looked forward to. Saw first cooked breakfasts being served as we left the restaurant at 8.40. No apology forthcoming from management. This was the only fault we found with with the place (ok, the room lighting is a bit dim) but it's just not good enough to have a queue of guests outside a locked restaurant 15 minutes after it's supposed to open. Management need to get a grip on this. It spoilt an otherwise enjoyable stay and I would have given a much better rating without this problem.

  • Liked — Rooms and location
  • Disliked — Breakfast service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Uk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We stayed 23 May 2008, bank holiday weekend. Hotel in charming setting. Our room ,ground floor with river view, was large and airy. The bed and pillows were very comfy.Only minor complaint was the lighting could have been better...difficult to read or apply makeup if your eyesight isn't what it used to be folks!! I suppose we could have asked for another lamp.
The staff were 100% helpful. We requested more tea and coffee in the room and it was there in less than a minute! We asked for a pen and again it was supplied pronto. Nothing was too much trouble. I want to thank each and everyone as rarely have we received such friendly and professional attention.
The restaurant evening meal was very good indeed and great value for money.
We will return in the autumn. If you are looking for a charming hotel, willing staff and great value, look no further.

  • Liked — Very comfortable bed and pillows, clean hotel.
  • Disliked — Lighting below average. If we had stayed more than one night we would have asked for an extra lamp.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nannabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baginton
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#23 of 39 in Coventry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
4.9 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill

Property: The Old Mill
Address: Mill Hill, Baginton CV8 3AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Baginton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Baginton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HRS, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Baginton
The Old Mill Baginton, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing