We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent atmosphere!”
Review of The Oak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oak
Ranked #2 of 3 Baginton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have become semi-frequent visitors to this pub, visiting approx. once a month for lunch. We usually go with family and always have good food and good service. Yesterday we went with friends in the evening and all four of us loved it. There was a little bit of delay being served when we arrived as there were a group of people booking into the hotel, the landlord was changing one of the barrels and there only appeared to be two people serving behind the bar. We weren't overly concerned by this as we weren't in a hurry we were just there to relax with friends.
It was great to see so many people there from guys watching the football, families with children and dogs, people of all ages. The place was nicely full without being crowded. We were treating some friends to a meal to repay them for a favour they had done for us but we weren't in a hurry to order food and sat chatting for probably about an hour before we ordered. This time service at the bar was prompt and friendly. I always worry when I take people somewhere on my recommendation. I worry that they won't like it and things will go horribly wrong but I needn't have done so on this occasion. All the food is cooked to order so doesn't instantly appear once ordered. The four of us all had different dishes and all four were served at the same time and were piping hot. The portions are very generous and although we had all seen desserts we felt sure we would also have none of us had room.
When we paid before we left the guy serving us apologised for any delays we might have experienced explaining that they had been 'mad busy' that night.
We will be going again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieRedUK97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 205 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

The oak is in Bagginton village about 15 minute taxi (10 pounds) from the university of Warwick. It is definitely not a "short" distance from the Uni: as advertised.
Positive impressions : A quaint old village pub serving reasonably priced food and drinks. The rooms are in an annexe behind the pub. Accomodation standards are what you would expect in an average motel.... nothing fancy.The staff are friendly and polite and the food served is fairly good by British standards.
Negatives: Its rather isolated and far from restraurants, shops and convienience stores. you should have your own transport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubenmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

brilliant place, very chilled and friendly staff. quick food good value for money with 2 for £12 deal! our doggy also loved it ! wonderfull garden for dogs, smokers and a play park for children. reccomended

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The room was clean and the bed comfortable, but the room was very worn with patches in the walls. No proper shower so had to hold it myself, broken toilet seat, and worst of all, the place is just absolutely freezing!

Waited 15 minutes to sit for breakfast, none of the tables were set even though you're asked to specify the time that you'll come down.

Worst of all was that I was sat in my coat throughout breakfast as it was so cold! Asked if they could put the heating on and let's just say the reception to that wasn't particularly warm either!

Have never written a bad review in my life, until today..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our third stay at The Oak. Good value for money, nothing is too much trouble and we were well looked after. Good for food and great breakfast. Ideal venue and location for stop over. Already booked for our next stay in October.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a good overnight stop if you want to break your journey north to south
good beer & wine dinner & breakfast dog friendly

Cheap & cheerful I have stayed there twice & will again this is not the Ritz believe me but if you like your Beer & Grub this is the place to go

Be patient though they are not hurried its worth it

Room Tip: Commercial Air field next door - dont expect to much its cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ward57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here on July 23rd 2011 as we were attending a wedding reception at Wetherley Manor just down the road.
Baggington is in the middle of nowhere but easy to find and even though it's directly next to West Coventry Airport it is certainly very quiet!...
The room was very clean, which to me is the most important thing, yes, it was basic but I guess it depends on your view of basic. There were tea and coffee making bits and bobs, biscuits, a flat-screen tv, the bathroom was very clean with plenty of towels and soap/shower gel etc available so the room had everything you needed for a relaxing stay, and to be fair, we weren't in it for very long anyway.
Breakfast was OK, served in what looked like the main bar. I only had toast and a pot of tea which was fine, my boyfriend had the full english - he said the sausages weren't very nice and also tinned mushrooms and tomatoes were a bit disappointing but apart from that, breakfast was fine.
Let's not forget - it was £45 a night which was amazing value for money. I certainly wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
One word of warning for those who might also be going to a wedding in the area - our taxi driver quoted us £20 to take us a four mile journey at midnight, when he picked us up he immediately went towards Leamington (ie the long way round) and when we mentioned that he could have, in fact, gone a different (and shorter) way, he turned round making out that he 'hadn't realised there was a shortcut'.. yeah right. The journey should've cost us just over £12.
However, that's no reflection on the hotel - it comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BagpussBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baginton
3.4 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,352 reviews
4.8 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,013 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citrus Hotel Coventry by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#26 of 39 in Coventry
513 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mercure Brandon Hall Hotel and Spa Warwickshire
1.5 mi away
Ibis Coventry South
Ibis Coventry South
#31 of 39 in Coventry
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak

Address: Coventry Road, Baginton CV8 3AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Baginton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Baginton
Price Range: $71 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Oak in Baginton, a village pub situated on the outskirts of Coventry. Ideally located and very close to Coventry Airport. 10 minute drive to the town centre with ample places to eat and drink. 5 minute drive to the Air Museum. Pleasant walks. All our rooms are well equipped and en-suite, some rooms have disabled access. We offer a nice relaxed environment with log fires, table service, traditional ales and good quality home cooked food. Our facilities include large bar area with comfy leather sofas and wing backed chairs for drinkers. Good sized garden and quiet location. Free parking for guests and free wifi access in the bar area. Please Note: We are a No-Smoking property. Dogs allowed, may incur additional charge. Children welcome. Check-In time: 12:00 and Check-Out time: 11:00. Pets are charged a supplement of £5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak Baginton, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing