We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pet Friendly”
Review of The Oak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oak
Ranked #2 of 3 Baginton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night while visiting Coventry area. As we had our dog with us we were pleased to discover this venue as it is indeed very pet friendly. Our dog was allowed into the restaurant with us while we ate a very good dinner. The next morning he accompanied us into the restaurant again while we ate a very nice breakfast and we will definitely visit again. A large exercise area in the grounds completed the dog friendly experience . Thw room was very clean as was the en suite bathroom. Thank goodness for places like this where you are actually welcomed with a dog!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanleyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for The Oak
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 203 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

Booked directly with The Oak and had no problems checking in at the bar on arrival. The room was very clean and had everything we needed for an overnight stay. We also ate in the bar that evening and the food was quite nice. Breakfast was served in the bar area and was lovely. I would definately recommend this place for a convenient and affordable overnight stay if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaLouise5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The accommodation is in a separate building from the pub and is lovely and quiet. The staff were friendly and provided good service. The breakfast was lovely and a good range was available. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The pub meals were very generous and a large choice was available, although I wouldn't order their coq au vin again. Basic pub grub would be a better choice.

The pub was easy to find, has a large carpark and is in a convenient location for visiting the University of Warwick. The pub itself felt more like an 'old man' pub, with friendly locals and the odd dog and during the weeknights I was there, it was relatively quiet. A pleasant experience even though I was only there for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We arrived at this hotel at 6pm on Sat 19th March 2011 having made a booking via 'Late Rooms'. We were first told that we did not have a booking, but we had printed evidence of the fact that we had! We were then told that our booking was for the following night, but the print out from 'Late Rooms' obviously proved this wrong. We were told that this sort of confusion often happened with 'Late Rooms' bookings, but having used 'Late Rooms' loads of time, we have very rarely had a problem. A person in a more senior position was then called, and he knew that we had made a booking, and said that he had tried to contact us, but we had obviously already left home, which was correct. This meant that the first employee was a blatant liar! Our log of calls on our home phone did show that The Oak, Bagington had tried to contact us twice on the day of our booking. However, we do have an answer phone message on our home number that gives our mobile numbers if we are away from home, and no attempt was made to contact us on our mobile numbers. The more senior person said that the room we had booked had been flooded, but surely the first person would have known this, if that had been true! We suspect they simply double booked! To their credit, The Oak Bagington, had rebooked us into alternative accommodation fairly nearby, but it was a shabby place, and not at all pleasant! You could predict this even before you entered the place! If guest reviews on the The Oak Bagington are correct, they do themselves provide decent accommodation, and we were at a loss to understand why they should rebook us into sub standard accommodation if they value their reputation! When very occasionally in the past a booking error has occured, the hotel concerned has always booked us into as good, or superior, accommodation, and just paid the difference if necessary, to save their own reputation. So on this performance, we would suggest that The Oak, Bagington, Coventry, is given a miss.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Stayed one night here. Room was very good. Clean & comfortable. Many little extras which made it even better. TV fine, no problem with reception as mentioned by someone somewhere. The accomodation is in a separate building behind the main pub, so there's no noise problem. It's right next to the airport, but I wasn't disturbed by aircraft noise.
The pub excellent too. Landlord & landlady are lovely people. Cheerful & welcoming, chatty but without being intrusive, really put us at ease. The food is absolutely fab. All cooked there (no bought in frozen rubbish) very generous servings, and really tasty. One of the best choices I've seen in a pub for a long time. This IS a pub, but it's a very nice & large one, which is also very comfy; serves good coffee etc as well as some good ale. Lovely to just sit by the open fire & read a book with a nice drink. The fact that our dog was welcome too in both bedroom and pub put the icing on the cake for us. Great place!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Spent three nights at this hotel in mid-december. The first impressions were good. The hotel was cosy, there was a real fire at one end of the pub and four comfy chairs around it. The staff were very friendly, the selection of drinks was impressive and the food was great value, with a good selection available.

The bedrooms were comfortable, nothing luxurious but more than adequate. There are thirteen rooms in total at the back of the pub/restaurant. Another good thing was the fact the hotel is dog-friendly. The owners have two dogs themselves who mingle with the guests and their own canine companions.

Overall, a lovely hotel to visit and we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midnightbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Perfect place for a winter break.

The Oak at Bagington is difficult to fault. The welcome is good, the food great and fantastic value. The breakfast was good and served well. The room was modern, clean and well fitted out as well as being warm – a bonus in sub-zero temperatures.

The best bit of the stay though was sitting by the lovely, huge fire; I am almost tempted not to mention this, so that we can get the seats again next time we stay!

The staff here are all friendly and welcoming. If you have a dog with you, that will be welcomed and fussed over too. I believe that the pub is due for refurbishment in 2011 so will be smarter still. The location is in the countryside and close to Coventry Airport, this doesn’t detract as it seems to no longer have commercial traffic.

We stayed here for visits to Warwick and Stratford upon Avon, usual tourist haunts – why stay in those expensive hotspots whilst there is such a fantastic gem only minutes by car away?

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosiv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baginton
1.4 mi away
Citrus Hotel Coventry by Compass Hospitality
4.8 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,973 reviews
3.4 mi away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mercure Brandon Hall Hotel and Spa Warwickshire
1.4 mi away
The Chace Hotel Coventry
The Chace Hotel Coventry
#26 of 39 in Coventry
508 reviews
5.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak

Address: Coventry Road, Baginton CV8 3AU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Baginton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Baginton
Price Range: $70 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Oak in Baginton, a village pub situated on the outskirts of Coventry. Ideally located and very close to Coventry Airport. 10 minute drive to the town centre with ample places to eat and drink. 5 minute drive to the Air Museum. Pleasant walks. All our rooms are well equipped and en-suite, some rooms have disabled access. We offer a nice relaxed environment with log fires, table service, traditional ales and good quality home cooked food. Our facilities include large bar area with comfy leather sofas and wing backed chairs for drinkers. Good sized garden and quiet location. Free parking for guests and free wifi access in the bar area. Please Note: We are a No-Smoking property. Dogs allowed, may incur additional charge. Children welcome. Check-In time: 12:00 and Check-Out time: 11:00. Pets are charged a supplement of £5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak Baginton, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing