We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy - dreadful”
Review of The Chestnuts

The Chestnuts
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chestnuts
Ranked #6 of 7 Atherstone B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This place describes itself as "100 year old country house with charm and an inglenook fire place, set in private grounds".

It is in fact immediately on a very busy, noisy, fast road with lorries hurtling along constantly.

I insisted that I could not possibly sleep through the noise, so I was rudely told to "go elsewhere or pay extra for a different room."

As it was already 9pm I paid extra for "a room at the back", but was in fact at the side and i was kept awake all night by the traffic noise.

Jenny was rude, officious and most unpleasant. STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: Don't go !
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Joan481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for The Chestnuts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 23 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

it was like we part of a hammer house of horror apart from the bad attitude in the place the rooms were cramped and if you dared to use any of the shampoo or soap the itinary said you had to pay doulble horrible horrible horrible place rude we actually complained to the company we booked it through who then rang jenny to straighten things out but she was just like an m.p fenced around the issue which was that we paid for bed & cooked breakfast but was only offered cornflakes and toast or if we wanted a cooked breakfast what we had already paid for we would have to pay 8 pounds each total con and should be shut down disgusting and these reviews that say it was anything else but bottom of the barrel and a horrid experience were obviously writen by jenny or jennys family they are a total croc of lies and the place stank of smoke another thing they strongly denie DON,T GO THERE

Room Tip: better off in a caravan
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank davidwattsessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Appaling,Appaling,Appaling being a non smoker i was quite clearly able to smell smoke which is ilegal in public places, i think perhaps Jenny and her family need briefing on that matter and when i read fully licenced i thought i,d have a nice pint when i arrived but JENNY sent her son on his bmx round to the petrol station for 4 cans of lager, cheap and nasty sprang to mind. I felt like i was intruding the whole time i was there i couldn't wait to get home i would only go back to recieve my money back, total con and false advertising i wished i would have stayed in the pub up the road which was much more value for money (and smoke free)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank davidwattsessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

I spemt 3 nights at the Chestnuts B&B and must say some of the reviews i've read on here surprise me as i really had a wonderful experience.

I found Jenny and her family to be very welcoming and friendly and the food cooked by Jenny was lovely, one of the best full english breakkies i've had!

The room i was allocated was stunning, spotlessly clean, warm, comfortable beds and beautiful decor.
The whole B&B itself is very pretty, beautiful lounge and dining area and lovely gardens outside.

I would urge anyone considering this B&B to give it a chance, it really is a stunning place and you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hostie1085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We have used the Chestnuts for the past 5 years for various Foreign visitors.
Without exception they have commented on the very special atmosphere and welcome created by Jenny.
Nothing is too much trouble and she is always on hand to give advice on the local area.
The breakfast is quite simply the full English at its best!
We will continue to use the Chestnuts for all future trips to the region.
Thank you Jenny and keep up the good work

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyTraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

What a friendly atmosphere! For someone who travels alone this hotel was a great find. I felt like one of the family with lovely comfy beds and fluffy quilts, lots of hot water, and good home cooked food served by friendly people.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40winks40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We booked this picturesque guest house directly with the owners. Bed & Breakfast for two nights. This is a beautiful country house on the outskirts of Birmingham. Clean , with a well designed interior The hosts were amiable
. However...the room was small with the most uncomfortable bed we had ever slept in. So, two poor nights sleep.
When staying a four star accomodation, I expect to be treated with respect and trust. This is not a one star seaside B&B. A notice was placed on the bedroom door with an inventory of the room and a warning that if items are stolen , credit cards will be deducted fo doubler the cost and more. The inventory included toilet rolls!!! We have never , in many years of travelling around many countries, encountered such an offensive notice. Please folks, manage your place with a little more decorum.
One more gripe You proudly boast to use locally sourced ingredients for meals.. We booked bed and breakfast, what we got was cheap bread to toast, cereal, tinned pears ( yuk) and muller corner yoghurts. Dissapointing to say the least. On which continent do they serve this ' Full continental Breakfast' and I quote!!
This guest house has been owned by the same people for many years. They say business is quiet. I'm guessing that there are few repeat guests and is it any wonder!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stuhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atherstone hotels
1.8 mi away
The Atherstone Red Lion Hotel
1.9 mi away
Chapel House Restaurant with Rooms
1.1 mi away
Abbey Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Old House B&B
The Old House B&B
#2 of 7 in Atherstone
43 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnuts

Address: The Chestnuts Watling Street | Grendon, Atherstone CV9 2PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Atherstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Atherstone
Price Range: $96 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chestnuts 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Chestnuts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing