We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a couple of nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Atherstone Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Atherstone
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night for a wedding nearby. No problems getting an early check in which helped but the free car park is quite small so get there early!
The hotel is a typical small county town hotel. Room was quite small as well but for what we wanted that didn't matter. Most of the rooms seem to be over or close to the bar area that can be a little noisy on a Saturday night, but other than that the room was clean and the breakfast adequate. Plenty of space within the hotel if you just want to sit and relax as well.
.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAYWATTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 283 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked this hotel via booking.com for a great price. We needed to be in the area for a wedding.

We were able to check in earlier than the advertised check-in time which was perfect for our needs.

Overall the room was a bit tatty and on the small side. However it served its purpose.

Music seemed to be playing from about 7 in the morning - so we didn't get a lie in and headed off home!

for the price paid and for one night it was ideal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were a party of 9, using 5 rooms, attending a wedding nearby. We booked through Booking.com and for their rates did not expect much but we were all delighted with what we got. Clean, comfortable rooms, some rather small but more than adequate for our needs. They even let us use our rooms from 12 o'clock. Breakfast at £9 was expensive but was freshly cooked and delicious.

Room Tip: Twin bedded rooms seemed to be bigger than doubles. If it's very hot do ask for a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen646Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at the hotel Wednesday 24th July 2013 at was given room directly above the kitchen extractor fan. Very warm weather but, was unable to open the window due to the extractor fan being directly below it meaning that the room was excessively warm.

The fan also caused considerable noise and vibration in the room meaning that it was an unpleasant and uncomfortable place to stay. I asked at reception about the fan and was told it would be turned off at 2130hr, this did happen and meant that I was able to open the window to allow the room to cool down.

What I wasn't told was that the fan would be started up again at 0620hrs the following morning. Not only was the noise and vibration back, it also meant that I had to close the window to stop cooking smells entering the room. This resulted in the room being uncomfortably warm and noisey.

I spoke to someone at the reception desk in the morning, they told me that they had thought about it but, wanted to give me a double room. This means that they are aware of the problem and decided not to tell me about it.

I was not given the option of selecting another room.

Final thing, television keeps flashing up with no signal or poor signal, not that I could have enjoyed it as the volume required to drown out the noise of the fan would have distrubed other guests.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here while attending a wedding nearby. The location was great, right on the high street. The building is used as a hotel, restuarant and pub with function room. The pub has a really nice feel to it, though we didn't get chance to stay for a drink we would have liked to. Anyway we booked this venue primarily for its accomodation which wasn't very impressive. Our room was cramped, though comfortable and clean. It was a very hot night, and the biggest disappointment was not being able to find a fan in the room it was roasting in there! The rooms are above the function room so don't plan on sleeping before midnight if there is a disco on.

We mentioned the lack of a fan on checkout, and got a polite but unhelpful response. Please don't book this hotel at full price, you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room was tiny, don't take too much luggage or you'll have nowhere to stand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bwills15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I regularly use this hotel for business drop-in meetings. Greaty place for getting out the laptop and finishing a report. Good service and coffee. Good food if you want it. Library is warm and cosey and conservatory is airy and light. Great spaces for working dependent on your mood or needs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D2SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here 1st weekend of April. The room we were in was small however was comfortable and I had no problem sleeping. The rooms are very clean which is the most important thing. If I had a complaint about the room it would be the shower which isn't very powerful but done the job.

The food in the hotel is fine not brilliant but definatley not rubbish. The whole hotel is well maintained and from what I could see very clean throughout.

I have to say the staff are excellent, work hard, are friendly and helpful. WELL DONE.

All in all this is not a 5* hotel HOWEVER it is clean, warm with great staff so no real issues.

Room Tip: Note I have accidently rated the fitness centre and swimming poll. The hotel does not have these fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmyj0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherstone
0.1 mi away
Chapel House Restaurant with Rooms
3.4 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
452 reviews
7.4 mi away
Days Inn Corley NEC M6
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Plough & Harrow
Plough & Harrow
#10 of 11 in Tamworth
93 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
4,359 reviews
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Nuneaton
Travelodge Nuneaton
#5 of 12 in Nuneaton
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atherstone Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atherstone Red Lion Hotel

Address: 99 Long Street, Atherstone CV9 1BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Atherstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Atherstone
Price Range: $51 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Atherstone Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Atherstone Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing