We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charts= disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ChARTs Resort and Art-Cafe
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Panglao Island
Manila, Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charts= disappointing”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were disappointed with our experience at Charts. It was really overpriced for what you get. Our room was rather small and the bathroom drain did not work so showering was not a good experience.We also didn't get hot water, which I don't mind when the weather is hot. However, we were paying the price associated with an upmarket hotel, which this hotel definitely was not. It is also quite a distance from the beach. We liked the idea of an "art" hotel and were impressed with the website, but this was rather misleading. Breakfast was fine. The staff, when we saw them, were friendly, but we had a hard time finding people when we had questions so had to email them. They were accommodating in allowing us a late check out. However, save your money and stay elsewhere. There are places nearby that provide the similar lodging for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirabelle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    29
    15
    8
    8
See reviews for
10
50
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I guess this is hobbit Filipino style, overall a good experience, I good distance from the beach. Keep to the left, the food and quality of almost everything is much better. The hotel was clean and the breakfast good value. These types of hotels won't be here in ten years or so as this area looks destined to improve. Ferry journey from Cebu should be avoided as the terminals are currently under construction. Overall a good experience but still an average location

Room Tip: Pool side 2,3 or 4 are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

As it was Easter we decided to pre-book the Flashpackers room in Charts, 1500 pesos for two people and 750 for an extra bed. We were 4 adults so we added two beds. 3000 pesos all together. But for that amount of money you beter stay somewhere else, cause all you get is a nipa hut bungalow with a fan, hardly any room to move (one bed was 'upstairs' we it is inpossible to even stand up straight) and thin as paper matresses and mosquito nets that don't fit. We decided to leave immediately but since we had pre booked and paid a deposit they could not refund all our money and we had to stay one night. which was a shame cause it was not worth the money.
We are backpackers and used to basic circumstances, but if you book a flashpackers room in a resort and pay nearly 60 euros and all you get is a tiny tiny place, which even the local staff could not understand then I think the management should reconsider this room and its price.Also considering the fact that the so called private bathroom was on the other side of the garden.
Besides this: the pool is nice, the road next to the room is awful and the location is so-so.

Room Tip: Just do not book the flashbackers room. I guess the other rooms must be okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Massie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel near the road, very noisy with Motorcycle, the staff is not very welcoming, breakfast poor. But the pool is very nice. We had a room for 2200 pesos for 3 and expensive for the quality of the room, no bathroom in the room.

Room Tip: Don't take room near the road, very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OdileROSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are nice in a mediteran style.
The food is OK but also nothing spical and for this too expencive.
THe service is friendly but a little bit slow.
The problem I figure out here is the noise level because the rooms are near the street and you can hear at night or in the morging all motorbikes, cars,... passing the hotel...

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ma4La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A good stay at ChARTs. We took a deluxe room for 3 nights, and it comes with a terrace leading to pool.

Room was a good size, and clean, although we did come across 1 cockroach in the toilet. Another nice upgrade for the hotel to consider is putting in a newer/larger TV as it's currently a tiny CRT. The rooms are very quiet, even when adjacent rooms are occupied.

Commendable breakfast with choice of western, local, savory or sweet.

Main reason why i did not give more stars is the lack of service. The staff were nice and polite, but when asked for assitance, at best it was lukewarm and mostly absent. Still, we figured things out by ourselves easily enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinKz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This "resort" is very pretty and nicely laid out. We organised airport transfer through the airport, but the driver was almost an hour late. When we got there they gave us a welcome drink and we sat in the bar area and waited. During the whole trip I never saw anyone working at the bar. It was also incredibly dusty. Our room was nice and very pretty, however the bed was really uncomfortable. The wifi was really weak. This resort is also an "Eco" place, so the sheets and towels only get changed every 3 days. Didn't mind, but in the humidity they never dried properly. Laundry was also pretty expensive. The smell when taking a shower was terrible and smelled like sewage. The breakfast was good. You had 3 meal choices. The cafe really didn't serve much food either. It took about 10 mins to walk to the beach. Enjoyed the swimming pool. The little balcony area was also very nice and enjoyed relaxing there at night. This could be a great place to stay with some adjustments.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillilol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Oasis Resort
Oasis Resort
#7 of 49 in Panglao Island
270 reviews
1.1 mi away
Isis Bungalows
Isis Bungalows
#22 of 49 in Panglao Island
209 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#13 of 49 in Panglao Island
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 49 in Panglao Island
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Panglao Regents Park Resort
#12 of 49 in Panglao Island
525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chill-Out Guesthouse
Chill-Out Guesthouse
#3 of 17 in Tawala
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ChARTs Resort and Art-Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ChARTs Resort and Art-Cafe

Property: ChARTs Resort and Art-Cafe
Address: Alona Dr, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#11 Spa Hotel in Panglao Island
Hotel Class:3 star — ChARTs Resort and Art-Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to ChARTs Alona Beach! One of the newest resorts in the heart of Panglao Island, Bohol is ChARTs, located just a short walk from Alona Beach. The mission of our German management and the ChARTs team is to make guests feel at home and provide international standard accommodations with that "je ne c’est quoi" at a reasonable price. Our compact resort offers 7 comfortable standard rooms and 2 spacious-luxurious suites overlooking a sweet-water pool located in the centre of a tropical garden-designed in a Mediterranean-Asian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your ChARTs Resort and Art-Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charts Hotel Panglao Island
Charts Hotel Bohol
ChARTs Resort And Art-Cafe Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing