We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location with great views”
Review of Peter's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panglao Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peter's House
South East England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Stunning location with great views”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here as part of a dive package booked directly with Genesis Divers. We had room 1, which has a superb view of the stunning beach from the balcony. The house is traditionally built and was the first one on the beach. Hard to believe when you see how built-up the beach is now.

I have dropped a star simply because of the shared bathrooms which are downstairs. Although scrupulously clean, it is a bit of a pain to have to walk downstairs - minor point - don't let this put you off. The balcony view makes up for everything!! ANd the location - it's at a quieter end of the Alona Beach.

The cost of the dive/accommodation package is a bit confusing, however, if you deviate from what is in the advertised package. For instance, we believed that breakfast was included, but it wasn't! Nevertheless, it's a great deal, the accommodation is a bargain and the diving is excellent.

Genesis divers are really good too - very professional with really friendly instructors (Western) and dive masters (Philippino).

Room Tip: Book early to get Room1, as it is the only room with a balcony overlooking the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank small-skiing-mole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Spent 4 night's here diving. The room was great value, clean and comfortable. One of the best dive operations I have the pleasure to dive with. Steve and Henning were brilliant and the DMs incedibly knowledgable. Ideal location on the beach but away from the crowds. Good food on offer and close to some good local resturants/bars too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AR_uktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have stayed here with a friend for 2 nights in January 2013. I chose this place mainly because of the reviews on here and I'm glad I did. If you purchase a 3-dive/per day option, your one night stay comes out to only $17! Nothing can beat that price, esp for budget travelers:) We both felt safe at the guesthouse ( we are two females in our 20s). There is no AC unit but if you keep the windows open, there is a cool breeze coming right from the ocean (Peter's House is situated smack on the shore, about 20 feet from the water!). The bathrooms (three in total) are all shared and located on the first floor. They are well kept and spotless. Breakfast is (of course) not included but it's cheap and efficient (nothing to write home about). They also pack lunches for you to bring onto your dive boat.

Peter's House is affiliated with Genesis Divers. I have done 19 dives before diving here. The quality of dives were amazing. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fhk202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Peter's House is the best bamboo lodging i have ever seen. My room was very comfortable, well lit and had a great little balcony. Though the bathrooms were shared they were impeccably clean and not at all inconvenient. The place is really a great deal but there are a few things that were a bit annoying. First, there is currently a construction project going on next door. It is at times unbearably loud and continues till very late at night. If u can put up with the construction, there are a few bars down the beach that play horribly awful and loud music that is impossible to escape while in your room. If you can handle multiple renditions Wonderwall every night you are a better man/woman than I - that song is horrible. I slept with earplugs and still cow ld not tune out the cacophony. Lastly, Peter's Place has a great little cafe/bar downstairs. Why this cafe closes at 7pm is a mystery. It would be the perfect place to meet people and hang out but instead by 7pm Peter's Place is dark and desolate. What a shame.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bkorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Best pacakge ( diving and room ) and location on Alona beach ! stayed here alone for six nights and dived every day for five days ! Great value for money ! Ok the rooms are small , only a fan and bed and you have to share facilities , also no hot water ! But the positive points are more important ; friendly staff , best location on the beach and a good spot to meet people ! Also the diving was good , not so many people each day on the dive boat . 4 -10 divers , plus the staff . If you want the frills of a luxury hotel , hot water and waiter service , this isnt the place for you ! but if you want to meet people , sit and eat dinner by the beach and enjoy a beer and get a good package for diving and a room then this is the place on Alona beach !

Room Tip: ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chudds32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2007

Gorgeous place - it was made of bamboo, native style kind of house. Renters use a common bathroom - very well maintained and clean.
However, the sheets of the bed didn't look so clean - it was worn and it looked old.

This place is associated with Genesis Divers and we were told that only divers get to stay there (although it doesn't say that anywhere on paper and they even have rates for non divers). We dove once and had a terrible experience (the divemaster was pulling me underwater to be near the corals, when I didn't want to be. He pretty much forced me to go there by pulling me down), though what we saw underwater was pretty good - visibility and fish!
Anyway, we were debating on whether we should dive again or not because of my experience. Just as we were about to tell them we were diving on the last day, one of the staff came to us and said, "Our boss (the owner) told us to tell you that somebody booked your room for tomorrow." We were very, very upset - we had that room for one more night and their way of making us leave was by doing that. I understand they wanted divers and the owner probably wanted us out because we only dove once - yet there was no disclaimer nor any written statement how many times we have to dive in order to be able to stay there! And even if there was such a thing, the least they could do is talk to us nicely about leaving, but instead, the owner books our room without or knowledge and not even bother telling us himself - he gets his staff to do it.

Overall, it is a nice place, but they're not exactly professional either. We stayed at Oasis on our last night - a little pricey, but well worth the price.

  • Liked — style
  • Disliked — bedsheets, staff, and owner
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank creative_name_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panglao Island
0.1 mi away
Pyramid Beach Resort
Pyramid Beach Resort
#19 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#14 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alona Hidden Dream Resort
Alona Hidden Dream Resort
#58 of 95 in Panglao Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hayahay Resort
Hayahay Resort
#18 of 31 in Bohol Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alona Tropical Beach Resort
Alona Tropical Beach Resort
#25 of 95 in Panglao Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alona KatChaJo Inn
Alona KatChaJo Inn
#9 of 98 in Bohol Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter's House

Property: Peter's House
Address: Peter's House Alona Beach | Tawala, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Fan rooms with shared bathroom. Native structure (bamboo, wood). For divers and diving students only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peter`s House Hotel Panglao Island
Peter's House Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing