We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good detox from Manila”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Panglao Island
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family had a really enjoyable, relaxing stay at Eskaya away from the hubbub of Manila. While it is a quieter part of Panglao Island it's easy to access tours either inland to the Chocolate Hills, tarsiers etc or to go island hopping and Alona Beach is a short drive away. Overall the service was first class in terms of responsiveness and helpfulness although it is clear that some additional training of the frontline staff would help. The meals were overall a high standard (one breakfast aside) and I'd rate the food at 5. The spa is world class and the infinity pool is gorgeous even though it copped a thrashing from our kids. The rooms are spacious with character. Mosquitoes are a scourge here and that can affect your stay if you dont DEET up. If they can iron out the service kinks I would rate it as a 5.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavePSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 352 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

It does seem 5 star at first... But:

- rooms are not super clean. Above the tv furniture full of dirt.
- bathroom. Not great idea to have it open air. Despite the free repellant provided got beaten twice while going to toilet.

Food, very average taste and pricey. Had the fried calamari, very greasy. Chicken rosemary not great...

Free cocktail is ok.

Pool is nice. Infinity pool.
Beach nothing amazing especially coming from amanpulo.

All is pricey.
Everything average. Won't come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank go2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was a great place to finish our vacation. You can definitely relax - the staff is very willing to do your every wish. Very attentive and helpful. The scenery is great, pool is lovely, meals very good and lots of selection. Outdoor bathroom was unique. Some mosquitoes included but mosquito coils are lit by the staff every evening and it is the tropics, so quit complaining!! Really!
You can book tours with reception to see the island sights such as the Chocolate Hills and the Tarsiers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

With a stressful work life on top of managing a household and teen daughters, I really make it a point to look for destinations that provide the quiet and relaxation I need . Eskaya perfectly satisfied that need.From lush and well maintained gardens, clear beach and white sands, beautiful villa, comfortable bed and Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries (nice touch!) . most of all, you get pampered to the littlest detail by a friendly staff that brings the same brand of service to both foreign and local guests .... For example, when we were having breakfast near the beach and my friend was having trouble with her salt shaker. A few seconds later, the waiter comes running with a new salt shaker! We complained about the mosquitos and a few minutes later, housekeeping delivers a Citronella scented mosquito coil to our room.
I have nothing to complain about. Maybe, just a suggestion to add some entertainment or short tours to add activities for the restless, younger crowd. But, for souls like me, its nirvana!

Room Tip: Get a room with its own pool and facing the beach! The view is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CARINA U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The place you need to come if your wanting to just relax and get away from it all! Great food, fantastic service and superb villas! Top of the line in price and service. The staff are there to cater to your beck and call. Rooms are immaculate and so comfortable you wont want to leave your villa (that has its own pool)...Put this on your list of must stays if you have a no limit budget!

Room Tip: Any villa here is going to satisfy any need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shtaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Chose to propose to my girlfriend in this resort after reading on the exclusivity and how secluded the area is. Had a small plan laid out on how to do the proposal maximizing the resort's amenities. They after all had 10 villas only, but this is before the expansion.

The room is top-notch, having your own infinity pool (which was quite sizable) is great for taking a dip right after waking up or after an afternoon nap. I also liked the outdoor shower and bath, which of course was still private but it's a good design.

Others would complain about the mosquitoes but the resort does provide the repellant lotion complimentary. You can't do much about the mosquitoes since the Philippines is really tropical in climate almost all-year-round, so do bring other items to keep the mosquitoes away if you'd like.

The food was quite pricey, taste wasn't the greatest but it was above-average. The spa was great, we went for some spa services and they don't skimp on what you get.

If anything, the one thing I would complain about is the quality of the pillows. They were flat, thus didn't offer any head/neck support at all. But then again, maybe I should have asked them to replace the pillows.

I would recommend the place for couples who're looking for time to themselves and no one else.

Room Tip: Choose the villa with the infinity pool and the view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kwokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

At first glance, this is a 5 star resort, however, management at this hotel lost their opporunity to turn this beautiful resort into something great. The rooms are fantastic but when you are paying a minimum of US$700 a night, you expect excellent service to go along with it. Unfortunately, while the staff tries hard, the hotel has not invested in proper training to have them at the level required for their price point.
Rooms - Beautifully decorated local style, large suites with complete ammenities. The bathroom is open air/outdoors, which is nice in theory but you're in the tropics so you can get bitten by a mosquito or spied on by a lizard or rained on. My kids were attacked by mosquitos in the room as well, they provide mosquito net to sleep in but it was dusty.
Internet - free WIFI included
Food - food is decent
Service - the staff is very friendly and they try hard but the service is VERY VERY slow when you order a la carte. It tooks over an hour for a plate of pasta with tomatoe sauce. At this price point, service needs to be impeccable. Staff needs to anticipate guests needs. The hotel needs to invest in proper training. All of this was missing.
Pool - very nice infinity pool overlooking the beach
Beach - white sand, depending on the time of year, could be choppy

Bohol has a lot to offer, the chocolate hills, whale shark/dolfin watching, tarshier monkey.

Room Tip: Suites with pool are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 15 in Panglao
1,513 reviews
0.5 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#1 of 49 in Panglao Island
903 reviews
1.2 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 49 in Panglao Island
1,421 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 49 in Panglao Island
880 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mithi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Barangay Tawala | Barangay Tawala, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Panglao Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range: $264 - $1,396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eskaya Beach Resort And Spa
Eskaya Beach Hotel Panglao Island
Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing