We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run down, terrible food - very poor for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Run down, terrible food - very poor for the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is more the kind of resort you might pay USD200 for in Thailand. The room was lovely and the staff tried very hard - but other areas were severely lacking in quality. The resort overall appears run down and lacking attention to detail - the walkways are cracked, the gardens untendered, the ponds full of green slime, the decking round the pool is splintering and had a nail sticking out (on which i cut my foot). The tiles in the pool are cracked, the pool had leaves in, the loungers were covered in dust and dirt.

The quality of the food was the most disappointing aspect, however. Dinner on our first night was the worst we had in the Philippines (including street food) and cost us around GBP80. My sashimi was frozen, and tofu so oily i couldn't eat it. My husband's pork belly consisted of nothing but fat. The food improved on the second day (was the chef absent on the first?) but still fell far below our expectations for a USD500 a night hotel.

In addition, the service was very poor - the staff's level of English was very poor, with (eg) three people and a five-minute coversation required to establish whether they would serve wine by the glass. It look 7 people ten minutes to present our bill to us on check out, despite the fact that they had 12 hours' notice of our departure. Despite there being 9 members of staff in the restaurant (by the pool) and just 2 of us by the pool, we had to approach them when we wanted to order food - they did not come over to offer us a towel or a drink. Then when we were served drinks, the staff did not collect the empty glasses, meaning that there were ants all over our glasses by the end of the day.

Overall, a very poor experience. For the prices that Eskaya charge, you would expect something spectacular. Granted, no accomodation we found outside Manila was anywhere near spectacular, but this place needs a lot of work if it is to become world class.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    54
    26
    11
    12
See reviews for
68
118
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Eskaya Resort exceeded my expectations from a resort in Bohol. I have stayed in other resorts 5 years ago but my Eskaya experience was unique and something to remember. The welcoming part and check-in to the resort was done in a Balai - resort room accommodation which is a private villa. The staff welcomes you with a lei and native delicacies. We had to ride the golf carts to our "Balai". The staff who was a college graduate with HRM (Hotel Restaurant Management) degree gave us an orientation to the resort property and the amenities. The restaurant experience was magnificent - food was excellent and service was exceptionally superb. My husband prefers the authentic Boholoano cooking - all his requests were accommodated from the native chocolate to the hot pepper in vinegar. The beach was calm, clean and serene. We were spoiled with someone attending to our needs all the time while we were there. I enjoyed eating breakfast on the deck overlooking the beach. It was a grand vacation experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthiamay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We boarded the Oceanjet going to Bohol. It tooks us almost 2 hours to reach our destination. The sea was kinda angry. Waves were really high. When we arrived at the Tagbilaran Port, we were met by the Port Representative bringing the Esakaya Signage (again our names were not written again maybe because they wanted to instill the privacy of their guests).

The car was really nice, the driver introduced himself and informed us about the distance going to the resort. We were then provided cold towels and cold water. Since most of us were having flu, the driver was concerned towards our health and even offered us more water to rehydrate ourselves.

When we get to arrive in the resort, all the staffs were already waiting for us outside. The Manager Erwin Banquil was their. A lei of flowers were then given to us as a welcome gift. We then boarded our buggy and was brought to our Balai 5. When we got inside our room, it was magnificent. Why? It is because we get to have our own plunge pool at the convenience inside our room. Flowers were also showered in our bed and in our bathroom.

Foods were also great. Since the weather was bad, the beach was not a good place to hang-out so we decided to just stay in our room. We had our spa and their spa amenities were excellent. We had a sauna and then the treatment. We then had our dinner and went to the city and party.

We then went back to the resort and doze off. The next day we had our breakfast and it was alright. We then boarded the car going to the port as we had to end our trip already.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Australia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

The resort is lovely however the attention to detail is missing.Arrival at the Resort was great the greeting from the staff was wonderful.
We then went to our room and whilst to room was just as I had expected, on booking I was very specific and requested a room with the plunge pool in the sun, this was the first detail which was missing. After a few days of staying in this room we requested to be moved to an alternative room. The staff were great and did move us which then made our stay a better experience. The rooms are lovely the outside bathrooms have wow factor.
We had the spa package which was very good value however whilst the spa was lovely and the treatments were relaxing again the spa staff still require more attention detail.The Eskaya is a Spa resort and therefore should be mindful of this and ensure that it is special for its guests.
We ate in every night as it is too far from anything else. The Filipino was basic and the menu does require some work. We stayed for 6 nights which is why the menu became slightly boring. The breakfast and dinner menu whilst very tasty was the same everyday. I am also on a special diet which unlike other resorts could no accomodate and suggested I have vegtables every day. I did mange to eat from the menu but again attention to the guest was missing.

My husband and I did love this resort we went for long walks done the beach and even a push bike ride into the town and we quite possibly woul docme back but not for 6 nights. I feel that this resort is a wonderful experince for 3-4 nights.

Room Tip: Room 3 has the sun over the plunge pool. Room 6 pool is in the shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 792Carol_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

The pool villa we were in was fantastic with its own pool overlooking the sea and spacious bathroom with both indoor and outdoor showers and a jacuzzi bath. The letdown was the restaurant and we had to eat there every meal because there was nothing else nearby. Service at the restaurant was extremely slow and the food was mediocre. The beach was quite disappointing too but we managed a boat trip out which was worth it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjwcceloyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Cocktails by the poolside (I think it was more of in the pool), sumptuous breakfasts in the gazebo, relaxing massages in their spa, quiet walks by the beach.... These and more at Eskaya! Their breakfasts are great- very generous servings and tasty! Lunch and dinner are OK too (the pakbet has a huge serving as well) but we wished that there were more seafood choices and Simple Filipino food. The massage was the best I have ever had- we went for a massage 3x during our four day stay and it sent me to sleep every time. The beach can be better but it was already the rainy season so it wasn't as clean as we would have wanted, but it made it fun for Kyla- our ten year old guest, the daughter of my best friend from the U.S. She was thrilled by the many starfishes and even the few sea urchins and crabs. Another fun thing to do in the resort is mountain biking. Overall, it was a really fun and relaxing few days in Eskaya. I wouldn't mind coming back ....

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecile J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

Eskaya beach resort and spa is a comfortable place to go for a trip away from home or a short vacation, nestled in the island of Panglao in Bohol. Upon arrival, we were greeted with the warm smiles of the friendly and accomodating staff. I enjoyed the beautiful landscape of green trees, shrubs and bamboos. It's also worth experiencing a delicious breakfast at the viewdeck while enjoying the view and warmth of the sunrise or dinner and watch the sunset by the sea.

The room is always neat and clean. They clean and fix the room everytime we go out. Even if you left the room with your things messed up, rest assured by the time you get back they are in place and clean again. The members of the staff are always attentive to our needs.

It's a good place to relax and be far from the crowd. It may be expensive but it's worth what you're paying for. Highly recommendable...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marju35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
1.1 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
Henann Resort Alona Beach
#6 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#2 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Panglao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa
Address: | Barangay Tawala, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Panglao Island
#7 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eskaya Beach Resort And Spa
Eskaya Beach Hotel Panglao Island
Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing