We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite Place on Panglao Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amorita Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amorita Resort
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Favorite Place on Panglao Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I kicked off our Bohol honeymoon last summer at Amorita Resort. We were warmly greeted at the airport by the staff and the great service continued right through our stay. We had the Romance Package which included a Garden Villa, couples massage and a three-course dinner. There was an infinity pool near the lobby and a walk-way down to Alona Beach. The infinity pool was terrific for lounging and enjoying a cold drink. It can get a bit busy with families and the restaurant nearby (but nothing overly disruptive). The beach area was great for a short walk and the sand was beautiful. The resort has kayaks available for venturing out onto the water. The food at the restaurant was terrific and decently priced by North American standards. The only real negative were the bug bites walking through the garden areas between our room and the pool (but you should expect that in the tropics).
Can't wait until we can visit Amorita again! They did not disappoint making our trip special!

Room Tip: We had the last Garden Villa near the back of the resort. Enjoyed the privacy of the villa and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaurb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermie T, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear yaurby99,

We will be sure to tell our team how much you enjoyed Amorita Resort. Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We are very sorry about the bug bites. Just so you know, we have insect repellents available in strategic areas of the resort. Our friendly staff will be happy to send some to your room for your convenience. We hope to see you again soon, and next time be sure to check out the new rooms and suites in our new soon-to-launch designer wing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    343
    74
    32
    8
See reviews for
465
520
35
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasay, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Its been over 2 years since we last stayed at Amorita, needless to say, some of the wonderful people we met and who made our previous stays at Amorita very memorable were no longer there when we came back.

All the faces at the front desk were new, even their Front Office Manager, Michael, just started working there the week prior. Their resort manager, Hermie, also just started working at Amorita late last year. As such, it was a little unnerving to see the same place but this time, with new, unfamiliar faces.


All of our worries and uneasiness faded away the moment they happily greeted us with warm smiles and an equally warm cup of chocolate de batirol. I've plenty more things to rave about during our stay but I'll just highlight the things that really stood out to keep this review shorter. :)


1. SURPRISE COMPLIMENTARY ROOM UPGRADE. When our room was finally ready, we were suprised that we were being led to the Garden Villas area instead of the Sky suite which is the room that we booked. we initially didn't want to go since we thought that they had made a mistake, but it turned out to be a suprise complimentary upgrade throughout our 3-night stay!

2. BONFIRE DINNER AT MOMO BEACH HOUSE. I requested for a special dinner to be prepared during our second night and Kris, our awesome sales specialist at Amorita, suggested that we have try the bonfire dinner at Momo Beach House, a sister resort property of Amorita which is located on the other side of Panglao island. It was quite unfortunate that the weather at that time was not so good due to typhoon "Agaton". Our bonfire dinner didn't work out so well due to the strong winds. We were able to light the bonfire and have a couple of photos taken and then they had to put it out right away. :) They planned ahead though and had a 'plan B' dinner setup waiting for us at their restaurant. Marie, the resort manager, was nice enough to give us a tour of the property and showed us some very nice paintings which were made by their previous guests. We got to see the different rooms and unique 'home' feel of momo beach house which was great.

3. HAND-WRITTEN GREETINGS. We got hand-written hello/welcome cards and notes from a couple of folks at amorita. One was from their housekeeping staff and another from their resort manager. It reminded me of the same gesture their front office staffs did when we stayed at Amorita 3 years ago. I proposed to Jai, now my wife, at Amorita 3 years ago and they made it very special indeed (you can look for my previous review for more info on that). These were very simple gestures, and we're glad to see that they were still doing it and it definitely made us feel very welcome during our entire stay.

4. SOME FAMILIAR & SOME NEW FACES, SAME WONDERFUL SERVICE. We were quite happy to see some familiar faces at the saffron restaurant such as Nizza, Leo and Robert. Nizza, in particular, was very accommodating and nice to chat with. She always happily greeted us in the morning and did us a lot of favors like getting us french toast even when it wasn't part of their breakfast menu, and serving us the pandan-kalamansi drink which is their usual welcome drink on a bright sunny day.:) Cathy and Rhee, at the front office, also took good care of us and were very accommodating with our requests such as borrowing a DVD player and laptop cable.

5. CONSISTENCY IN DELIVERING THOUGHTFUL AND HUMBLE SERVICE. It was nice to experience the same consistent wonderful service from all the Amorita staff we had interacted with. It comes as no surprise that they are now expanding the resort to be able to accommodate more guests. My wife and I are very excited and happy for Amorita and the great management team and staff behind it. As guests of Amorita, we never felt intimidated nor were we treated with too much familiarity by any of their staff. Their staff are respectful, humble and thoughtful in their own little way. And so, we can only hope to experience the same thoughtful and humble service again when we visit Amorita. Our little love is about to go big and we hope to come back again soon once it's finally up and running. :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jp_jai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermie T, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear jp_jai,

It’s wonderful to hear that we were able to make your honeymoon experience at the resort memorable. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback, which we will definitely share to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in our new designer wing on your first year anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

It was just not easy for this place to win my heart... it all started with a bad bottle of wine for dinner... replaced by the hotel with a great Vouvray... both free to cope with the trauma...

All staff know your name... all are gracious, friendly and polite... rooms are just lovely, private, pretty... restaurant is nice with view on the infinity pool and sea... again, all make you feel so special and appreciated...

And if thar was not enough... all the fridge items (beers, sodas, water) are all free!... really!

The nicest of all places ever enjoyed so far... and the location with sea and land activities makes it a great place for a family holiday of 3 days or more... there is so much to visit, see and enjoy...

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermie T, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Alain V,

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Amorita Resort. We will be happy to welcome you again on your next beach holiday in Bohol. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We explored Bohol and stayed at this hotel. The staff was great, soooooo friendly and genuine! The room was OK, the food was superb and the cocktails were good! The beach is nice and next to a reef. It is so tranquil but a LOT of sea urchins and snakes....YIKES! We used the native boat called banca and the floater broke due to the strong waves...SCARY!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zightzeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermie T, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Zightzeer,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay in Amorita Resort. Alona Beach is teeming with marine life, which is why there may be areas with sea urchins and sea snakes. Sea urchins are very abundant in sea weeds, so it is best to avoid the green patches in the sea. But our team is trained to assist guests who are stung by sea urchins. We also have available aqua socks available for rent in our in-house dive shop so that your feet are protected. At the same time, sea snakes are a common site in dive sites around Panglao Island. They are generally reluctant to bite, mild-tempered, and feed on eels and fish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

After getting married in the hustle and bustle of Manila, Amorita was a truly stunning experience in both splendor and relaxation. The moment that we arrived at the resort, we were greeted with cool local refreshments, and told that our room wasn't yet ready, since we arrived earlier than check in. As we had booked arrived package deal, they asked us details about when we wanted the tours, and most impressively was the 'romantic dinner.' They asked us not to choose from a menu, but just what kind of food we wanted, and the chefs would handle the rest.

The restaurant was so incredible that we decided consciously not to try any of the other local restaurants, especially after seeing their competitors prices were comparable but lacked interest. Our choice was well worth it, and we ended up trying about 70% of their items on the menu. Every single dish was stunning, well prepared and seasoned, with excellent presentation. The only thing lacking was their buffets, the breakfast was just not the same caliber as ala carte, and their nightly buffets seemed sad in comparison.

We had an ocean view villa, and it was really great. The open air bathroom was an interesting touch, but as everyone says, the infinity plunge pool was exactly that! It's frigid cold since it never sees direct daylight, so you've been warned. The view from our bedroom was exquisite though, and we loved waking up every morning to the view of the summer rise on the open ocean. The walk to the villas was also very nice, filled with lush plant life and made you really feel in paradise.

Another little touch was that they went out of their way to make us feel welcome, leaving random fruits and sweets in our villa with little notes from the management and staff. Every person that we interacted with more than once knew our names, even the masseuses knew our names coming in. This was a small thing but still was a great rounding off of an amazing experience.

Overall, I would love to come back to this resort again, and just relax, enjoy the food, the pool, the massage and the lovely staff. Our best service came from someone who had previously been scorned in an earlier TripAdvisor review, Leo was our server through almost the entire ti e and he was Ann exceptional member of staff, going out of his way to make our time the most special that it could be.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Fergulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermie T, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Fergulus,

Thank you for taking the time to share to the TripAdvisor community your honeymoon experience at Amorita Resort. We are always grateful to guests who provide us with constructive feedback that will help us improve our services better. We are both happy and flattered that you have chosen us as your honeymoon destination and that you enjoyed your getaway at the resort. We’ll also share your kind words to our team. Thank you and we look forward to having you again at the resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3days and 2nights and it was a stress free vacation the moment I book the hotel, check in and check out. I wasn't expecting much from this resort but when we finally experienced the kind of service that hotel staff has to offer, boy, they exceeded my expectations. They have accommodated my requests in my booking and even gave my daughter treats before bedtime. I really admire the fact that they call us in our names and greeted us with a smile every time we pass by each staff. Everyone was helpful and even the tour that came with the package was very organized.


Would highly recommend this resort!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowi_Campos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermie T, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Louella J,

We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Amorita Resort. We are happy to know that we made your experience memorable, and we’ll share your positive feedback to our team. Thank you, and we hope you can stay again at Amorita Resort the next time you come back to Bohol!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a very nice place to stay. The resort itself is absolutely beautiful and the staff are amazing, friendly and polite. Definitely expensive for the philippines but definitely worth it. I wish I had more time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_T_Mck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermie T, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Joe_T_Mck,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the resort. On your next visit to the Philippines, we hope that you can visit Bohol again and consider staying with us, so you can check out the excellent facilities in our new designer wing. We would be happy to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
Henann Resort Alona Beach
#6 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
1.5 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#2 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bluewater Panglao Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amorita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amorita Resort

Property: Amorita Resort
Address: Alona Beach | Barangay Tawala, 6340, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amorita Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded atop a beautiful limestone cliff on the southern edge of Bohol's Panglao Island, Amorita is a tranquil seaside retreat that marries world-class service with signature Filipino hospitality. Managed by boutique hotel group One-Of Collection, the 97-room luxury resort overlooks the azure-colored Bohol Sea and elegantly punctuates the vibrant tropical landscape along Alona Beach. A TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice and Certificate of Excellence recipient, Amorita is only a 40-minute drive from Bohol's Tagbilaran Airport, and Bohol is only an 80-minute flight from Metro Manila. Amorita ("little darling") features 97 luxury suites (including 14 villas), organic modern architecture, an outdoor infinity pool, an in-house dive center, stunning cliff-side views of the Bohol Sea, and innovative dining options at the all-new Toma! Wine Bar and the acclaimed Saffron Restaurant, the only restaurant in Bohol offering authentic Boholano heritage dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Amorita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amorita Hotel Panglao Island
Amorita Hotel Bohol
Amorita Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing