We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Amorita!”
Review of Amorita Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amorita Resort
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I love Amorita!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I'm writing this review because I believe Amorita Resort deserves one! They deserve to be praised for their excellent service and accommodation.

Before travelling to Bohol, I made sure to find the best resort. Amorita Resort was my top pick. The reviews here in Trip advisor do not lie. I enjoyed every minute of my stay in Bohol because of our stay in Amorita. It was my first time in Bohol and the resort made sure we have the best experience possible.

My friends and I got the Bohol Tourrific Package and from the airport we went straight to the famous tourist spots such as Baclayon Church, Loboc River cruise and the famous Chocolate Hills.

Upon arriving in the hotel, we were checked in to our guest rooms and fell in love with the rooms. It was large, spacious and there was free wifi. Also every night they would give you cookies or brownies.

Amorita's Resort location was good. The infinity pool was a few steps away from the room and the beach was a 5 min walk from the pool.

I loved their infinity pool, i could stay there all day. I did not even bother going to beach because it was dirty and full of seaweeds. We spent most of our days in the pool and relaxing in their day beds.

The Saffron Restaurant food was to die for. I enjoyed their grilled buffet and their molten lava cake for dessert.

With the package, we had a massage for one hour, it was ok. Nothing special. Did not enjoy the massage.

What i love about Amorita are the people. Service was spot on. Everyone was so nice, they would give us buko pandan, popsicle sticks and water even if we didn't ask and we were just simply hanging out by the pool. They even had this romantic dinner set up for us, it was so cheesy but so romantic.

However, the acitivities offered by the hotel are EXPENSIVE. P2,000/person for dolphin watching and balicasag island tour. That's too much. What we did was we asked for prices by the beach and I do hope you find him he is KUYA DODONG, and he gave us a package for P2,000 all in private tour inclusive of dolphin watching, balicasag island tour and Sand Bar! Find Kuya Dodong. He is a certified diver and a tour guide. He brought us to see sea turtles and to good snorkelling/diving spots. He also brought us to the sand bar and took amazing shots of us. Pwede na din photographer! Super sulit bayad kay Kuya Dodong!

Ok back to Amorita..

I enjoyed my first time trip to Bohol and I didn't mind just staying in the resort and enjoying Bohol's beautiful weather and the view and the pool.

Thank you Amorita <3 I AM DEFINITELY COMING BACK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JuliaP522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear JuliaP522,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community! We're happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Amorita. The value of our packages reflect our invested effort in perfecting our services. It is our aim to provide each of our guests with an overall personalized experience worth remembering. On your next visit to Bohol, we look forward to seeing you and your friends!

Sincerely,
Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    344
    74
    32
    8
See reviews for
469
528
37
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place is a perfect place to relax, The resort Amorita was amazing, with a very good view of the beach, very modern with lovely little touches and the staff were wonderful, Also everyone in the restaurant knows your first name, which is very professional and friendly.
We stay in a villa, very big room with king size bed, private pool, very clean, decorated with beautiful flowers every day.
The resort is set above the beach and is gated. This makes it very private and secure, with great views and only a few steps down to the beach. Amorita Resort is the perfect escape for exclusive getaways, Everything is closed, we have many restaurant and bars which must visited. is a chance for guests to be completely tranquil and undisturbed, a luxury only offered by Amorita
You must try massage inside the hotel, which is very cheap and loved. You'll enjoy walking going down and up the cliff ,and strolling along the the Alona beach. It's just like a small Boracay in Bohol.
The pool is fantastic and we were happy to spend our time at the resort lazing around, reading, swimming and enjoying happy hour!
No need to go anywhere else if you want to spend a few days in Paglao

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Tatiana A,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Amorita during your trip to the Philippines. We hope that you'll be able to visit us when we open the new phase of the resort next year. We're looking forward to sharing more wonderful experiences with all our guests.

Sincerely,
Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early October for a weeks diving and family holiday. We booked directly through the hotel and found the process easy and competent.
Check in was quick and efficient and within minutes we were escorted to our sea view villa. Whilst not inexpensive the villa was extremely spacious with some lovely touches with little food gifts delivered to the room each evening. The bathroom and toilet are open air and we loved the shower out in the open but was extremely secluded and private. The beds are firm.
The food in the hotel is serviced by one resturant but there were many choices and the quality was excellent-- the chef and kitchen know what they are doing and both our families commented frequently on the tastiness of our meals
One day the hotel organised a picnic for us for our diving trip and it was superb
The staff are all extremely friendly and remembered our names and favourite drinks, a very personal experience
The breakfast needs improving with limited choices but didn't oncern us too much
We wouldn't hesitate to stay at the hotel if we ever visited Panglao island again

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank chriswalsh365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear ChrisWalsh,
Thank you for staying at Amorita Resort during your vacation! It was wonderful having you and your family stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities, services offered, and food at Saffron Restaurant. Saffron is also well known for its Saturday Grill Buffet - which I hope you and your family were able to experience during your stay. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to Amorita Resort. On your next visit to the Philippines, we hope you consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed in Amorita from Sept. 30 - Oct. 2 with my family. The hotel itself is world class, stayed in garden villa which was reallly nice...very spacious...well worth the price. The staffs are amazing, one time we were walking back towards our room and one staff greeted me by my name (I was pleasantly surprised). Yes, personally experienced simple nice touch from the great Amorita hospitality (which I also read before my trip)...the bookmark in my book, the paper art (paper bird) made by the nice lady manager (sorry did not quite get her name) for my 2 daughters...

The hotel is the best I think in the Island...would have been perfect if the beach had been better (while it is clean, and yes, it has white sand..not quite like powder soft as Boracay) it has a lot of sea weeds during our visit. The nice manager told us that the beach is more clean (of seaweeds etc) around Nov and Dec - when the wind blows more in a different direction....????

Pros: pool, nice Saffron restaurant, staffs, garden villa room,hotel environment with its relaxing feel

Cons: beach (nothing the hotel can do about it though..nature)

Bohol is definitely a must see if you want to visit Philippines...the nature's wonder are amazing..glad we finally got to see it..and if in Bohol, Amorita is definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: Garden villa are definitely worth it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Jean B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Amorita Resort. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Despite the sea meadows, Alona Beach has its own personality and charm. We try to maintain cleanliness along the beach by conducting a clean-up program every Wednesday morning. Please come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My fiance and I had a fantastic stay at Amorita in September 2013. The staff were truly outstanding. They consistently went above and beyond during our stay, whether it be reserving a good table at dinner for us without us even asking, remembering our names, etc.

The resort itself is beautiful with comfortable, clean rooms (we stayed in a standard hotel room), a nice pool and easy access to Alona Beach. I appreciated the fact that the resort was an easy walk from the heart of Alona Beach, yet it was perched up on a low cliff away from the noise of Alona Beach. The restaurant at the hotel is wonderful and very reasonably priced given the quality of the food.

We got several in room massages, and the Filipino massage was one of the very best massages I have ever had. It is an amazing value at about $22 for 75 minutes, and it involves oil, deep pressure and long strokes. It was a dream, and the massuses were incredibly nice.

I would highly recommend Amorita Resort!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sher61584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear sher61584,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Amorita. On your next visit, you may want to consider experiencing the Amorita Signature Massage - which is also popular among guests. Please come and visit us next year. We will be welcoming our guests to experience the new phase of the resort.

Sincerely,
Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Had a pleasant stay at Amorita, the staff are extra-friendly and ready to go out of their way to give wonderful service. We stayed at a Garden Villa with a dipping pool. Water was always too cold for me but I guess with the heat it does serve to instantly cool you down. Do be careful about your swimwear though, we had a slight issue with bleached swimming trunks when my husband spent more than 20mins in it.

I wasn't a fan of the outdoor bathroom. It's not particularly amusing having to do your business while fighting mozzies. And management should look into getting trash bins with a lid......reason....think like a lady.

The minibar contents were free...YAY....and we were spoiled with daily turndown treats of the sweet-chocolatey kind!! Very thoughtful. The pool is wonderfully warm in the evenings, fantastic for a relaxing swim before dinner.

All the staff were super nice, special mention to the Saffron restaurant staff ....Nizza, Anna, Emalou, Winston...and the lifeguards Ryan and Uriel. You treated us more like family than guests....THANK YOU!

I wanted to pass on my comments to the General Manager - James San Diego who was more than helpful during our stay, but have since learned he is no longer with them. What a pity, he was all ears to any problem and would get it resolved immediately!! So I hope if management reads this they will look into my suggestions.

We had set menus for lunch and dinner and these were always fantastic. As the meal itself was always a suprise, kudos to the chef for wow'ing us each time. Having spent a lot of time in France where bread at mealtimes is sacred, the restaurant staff should be reminded not to clear the bread basket with the entrée dishes. Another minor issue but worth mentioning is their annoying salt/pepper shakers. The holes are either too big or the rice grains to keep the contents dry are too small. Eitherway, we always ended up with rice grains in our food and to avoid fishing them out each time had to ask for the salt/pepper to be brought in a separate saucer. Experienced a leaking roof once while dining at one of the tables closest to the pool, would be good to have it checked out.

Breakfast buffet however was a let down, it's more Asian oriented. At least the fruits saved me. I'm not a coffee/tea drinker, hot chocolate/cocoa is my thing. Their hot chocolate tastes like a mix of coffee and I don't know what...it is bitter, tastes NOTHING like hot chocolate and I couldn't take more than a sip! Milo/Cadbury's drinking chocolate/Ovaltine would be a nicer alternative.

The fooseball table should be replaced. It's an old model but its design forces the player to be extra mindful of their opponent lest you injure them. Normally, your side of the rods should not protude on the other side of the table. Needless to say, we only played once and preferred to play table tennis instead.

Despite these small hiccups, we did enjoy our time at Amorita. And would definately come back in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozjaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear ozjaber,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback about Amorita Resort. We always strive to improve and provide our guests with excellent service. Your constructive feedback will definitely help our team. It would be wonderful to have you and your husband stay with us again. Should you have additional feedback, or would like to discuss your stay with us in further detail, please feel free to get in touch with me at carissa.amorita@gmail.com.

Sincerely,
Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently stayed 5 nights at this resort and were blown away by the level of service we received,
We stayed in the Ocean View Villa which was a great room aside from the outdoor bathroom. We were only separated from our neighbors by a thin bamboo wall which was a bit uncomfortable for my girl. There was a plunge pool on our deck which was great to take in the breathtaking views from outside our villa. Only thing that could have made in better was if it were a Jacuzzi!

The hotel resto, Saffron, also deserves raise. The food was wonderful, especially the Cheeseburgers, which was the best burgers I have eaten in as long as I can remember. The breakfast buffet was great too, and the staff made sure my coffee cup was always full!

Most importantly, the Staff was among the best I have ever experienced throughout my travels. attentive, patient and kind. My girlfriend was sick for the last couple of days, and they brought her hot calamansi juice without us even having to ask! All the waitresses were professional and so friendly it was awe-inspiring. I would also like to give special recognition to the Resort Manager, Hermie, who would greet us daily and make sure our stay was comfortable!
Keep up the great work!!!

Okay, Here are my Pros and Cons

Pros:
See all above and also the breathtaking view down on Alona beach from the cliff is spectacular.
Cons:
Outdoor Bathroom
No hand towels, which I found odd
Thats about it!

Certainly would recommend this place to anyone and I will undoubtedly return for another stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Rud H,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and guest experience. We appreciate your feedback about the resort. Please feel free to send me an email at carissa.amorita@gmail.com should you have additional feedback you would like to share or discuss.

Sincerely,
Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
1.5 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#2 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bluewater Panglao Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amorita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amorita Resort

Property: Amorita Resort
Address: Alona Beach | Barangay Tawala, 6340, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amorita Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded atop a beautiful limestone cliff on the southern edge of Bohol's Panglao Island, Amorita is a tranquil seaside retreat that marries world-class service with signature Filipino hospitality. Managed by boutique hotel group One-Of Collection, the 97-room luxury resort overlooks the azure-colored Bohol Sea and elegantly punctuates the vibrant tropical landscape along Alona Beach. A TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice and Certificate of Excellence recipient, Amorita is only a 40-minute drive from Bohol's Tagbilaran Airport, and Bohol is only an 80-minute flight from Metro Manila. Amorita ("little darling") features 97 luxury suites (including 14 villas), organic modern architecture, an outdoor infinity pool, an in-house dive center, stunning cliff-side views of the Bohol Sea, and innovative dining options at the all-new Toma! Wine Bar and the acclaimed Saffron Restaurant, the only restaurant in Bohol offering authentic Boholano heritage dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Amorita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amorita Hotel Panglao Island
Amorita Hotel Bohol
Amorita Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing