We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but overrated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amorita Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amorita Resort
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good but overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We just checked out of Amorita two nights ago and I quickly wrote this so as not to forget how overrated this hotel is.

I joined my US-based sister and her family in their Visayas vacation with Bohol as the first stop. We only spent a night here and we're thankful that it was just one night.

We got two deluxe rooms (as the garden villas are booked) and the room is pretty average with two queen beds and a large bathroom. The bathroom had stains on the floor and incomplete toiletries.

In the morning, my niece's skin was itchy and said that a bug bit her. We didn't believe her until my mom saw a bed bug (locally called surot) on the blanket. We contacted Housekeeping and all they did was to remove the bedbug. They didn't even check the whole bed if there were more.

Check-out was pretty slow as the frontdesk people seemed flustered with the flow of guests checking out. There were handwritten entries in our billing statement that made it difficult to understand what they were.

Wifi is not reliable. Pool is small although the views from the pool are really nice. Breakfast buffet had several options and was very satisfactory.

We booked this since it was ranked first here on TA and chose this over Panglao Island Nature Resort and Bellevue Panglao. I am regretting the choice seriously. Panglao Island has its own private beach and more spacious grounds. Not much space in Amorita and not much activities.

I'm really surprised that it's still ranked in the tope 2 resorts in Bohol.

Good points are the quality of food in Saffron and the friendliness of the staff. Other than that, try other resorts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmpfigueroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear cmpfigueroa,
Thank you for taking the time to review Amorita Resort. I extend my apologies to you and your family. Maintaining the cleanliness in all the rooms, and ensuring the health and safety of our guests are among our main priorities. We will look into this.
Our resort staff invites guests and families to participate in daily activities held at the resort lobby or Saffron Restaurant. Do you have suggestions for new activities? Please feel free to email me your suggestions and other concerns at carissa.amorita@gmail.com. Our guests' suggestions and feedback are highly appreciated.
Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    331
    73
    32
    8
See reviews for
448
510
30
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Lets start when we tried to book he resort, called them and ask to book 2 x deluxe rooms for three nights, got told that they will get back to us by email. Out inquiry was promptly replied but we got told that there's no deluxe rooms left and the only available is 1x garden villa and 1x ocean villa. We tried to call as we really need to book the rooms that day as we were running out of time to book our accommodation. My husband rang Emie in manila office and he said that so there's no deluxe rooms left? And got told yes there's no more deluxe rooms just villas. My husband repeated the question, "I would like to book 2x deluxe rooms", lady said "oh you want to book 2? Yes we have two deluxe rooms available"...hellooo???? We continued with the booking as amorita had a good location and seems like a great resort. It was weird how you have to pay in full on booking though as most resort would just confirm by credit card number and pay in full upon chek out or when getting there. Anyway, got to the resort. The floor in our room was very sticky. We thought they probably just mopped it,4 days went past and its still sticky it never dried. It was the same at the other room aswell. The bathroom had a certain smell to it. So we put the air diffuser that was in the room and put it in the bathroom. The rooms were not that impressive at all and bathroom had that seedy and ecky feel to it. I think they put more effort into there villas more than the deluxe rooms. Tried to use the wifi it didn't work, called reception about it and said they will send someone over, we waited until we fell asleep and it never came! It rained every night in Bohol during our stay. First morning woke up to a little puddle on top of the mini bar bench, thought my husband just spilled abit of water. Next night the puddle got bigger. Last night it rained hard, woke up to a massive puddle from the bench to the floor... Looked at the ceiling and yes there's a massive leak. Tour prices are expensive. We booked one tour to go to tarsier sanctuary and loboc river cruise. We were going to book another one, the 7hr tour which includes the chocolate hills. We thought it only cost 2500 pesos for the van but no 2500 per person there's 4 of us 10,000 pesos. Too expensive, same price even if you don't visit the other stop overs before choc hills. I suggest going down the beach and booking there 2000 pesos for the entire day and choose where u want to go. Hubby had a massage and he said it wasn't good. Go down the beach much cheaper and they still give you discount! The food at the restaurant is ok. Nothing amazing. Had pork binagoongan on our last night and the meat smell really bad not bagoong smell but the pork smell!. The pool is great to relax but its placed so closed to the restaurant! And no it's not a real infinity pool, yes there's that none endless view u see but the water is not over flowing in the end, it's like they are being stingy in water or something. The staff are great and helpful. I suggest training their English better, one staff at reception could barely understand us. On our last night we settled our bills, because the first room leaves at 5am in the morning and our room leaves at 9am. Receptionist help a lot and even confirmed what time the van will take us to the airport (9am) and seaport (5am for the other room). We were deep in our slumber when someone was knocking on our door, thought its probably the next room cos they leave at 5am. Until, that someone opened the door and yelled "your checking out this morning?" Are you serious??? We said its the other room! It was 4am in the morning! We were not happy. This resort is over rated and pictures are deceiving. It is small and pool area and restaurant is cram in this small cliff. They give more special treatment to the guest staying at the villas. Btw, during low tide when u go down the stairs to the beach u are greeted by a disgusting smell of sea weed cross with moss on the rocks cross dead fish smell. I don't know but it always smells. I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kbt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear kbt22,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. It's unfortunate that you and your husband encountered areas of miscommunication with members of our team. There are instances when a selected number of rooms becomes available within a couple of hours depending on guests' confirmations. We understand how much our guests would like to experience the most out of their vacation - which is why we also offer packages (that include accommodations, breakfast, and other services) aside from our best available rates.
Your feedback about the quality of our service and amenities has been noted. Should you consider staying with us in the near future, we hope that you and your family will have a much better experience staying in the new phase of the resort. Please feel free to get in touch with me should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail. My email address is carissa.amorita@gmail.com. Thank you very much!
Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The +:
- quiet location
- ocean view villa
-nice swimming pool & garden
- good restaurant however nothing outstanding
- nice people at the dive center
- full equipment for babies
- playground for children

The -:
- dolphin watch looks more like a race between boats to be the first on the spot
- island hoping price does not include the rental of a small boat for snorkeling for which prices are high bu5 negotiable
- the rooms could be better mainatained (wooden parts, flower decoration, etc)
- service is so so, not highly professional, however always smiling and nice which is already good
- no spa :massages inside rooms but prices are ok
- high prices for babysitting (even more expensive than in Europe), had to negotiate and was still expensive after nego (250 p per hour)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LTHCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear LTHCO,
Thank you for taking the time for share your feedback about our amenities and services. We invest in training our team to offer the best possible service. In a few more months, we will be unveiling the property's new phase - which will offer more experiences for in-house guests. We hope you and your family will consider staying with us on your next visit to Bohol.
Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

A private resort with stunning view from the the infinity pool. Very good access to the beach. Clean and spacious rooms. They have variety of menus that cater to individual taste buds. But what really made my stay in Amorita was the hospitality and friendliness of the staff. Staff are very punctual and attend to costumers requests. Hope the spa will be open soon, we will definitely try it on our next visit

The only comment, is to replace the ceramic shower containers and check the hot showers as it take awhile to work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cris0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear cris0430,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our new phase will be opening in a few months. We're all very excited to welcome new and returning guests to experience our new services and amenities. We look forward to seeing you and your family at the resort soon!
Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We just had lunch and dinner here last year 2012 because the hotel was full at that time. We looked forward to staying here then because we loved the view and the garden and the long beach to walk is just within the vicinity. Just this June after our wedding, we tried to look for a hotel to transfer and this was highly recommended by a friend. We were glad we came here because this was the same hotel we visited. James, the manager accommodated us personally and the other staff members were just really helpful. We had received little sweet treats that made us feel special especially that it was our honeymoon as well. We really loved our garden villa and enjoyed our meals in the restaurant. We are looking forward to staying at the Amorita again very soon.

Room Tip: Choose a garden villa. It feel like your own home away from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doru60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Doru60,
We're glad that you and your spouse were finally able to stay with us! On your next visit, you may want to avail of our Lover's Getaway Package and opt to stay in an Ocean View Villa. The sound of the waves will lull you to sleep at night. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 night-4 day stay at Amorita Resort. The Amorita staff were very courteous and helpful. The view at the infinity pool was great. We had a blast playing at pool. We also loved the one-hour massage. The food was also great. We also loved the country-side tour and snorkeling at Balicasag Island. We loved swimming and walking at the beach which is similar to Boracay but with a lot less people. I will definitely recommend this place to my friends who want to visit Bohol.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0vel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear J0vel,
Thank you for taking the time to review Amorita Resort. We're very glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Please feel free to send me an email at carissa.amorita@gmail.com should you wish to discuss your experience with us in further detail.
Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
161 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

so this is my 3rd visits to bohol island as well as staying at alona beach area. the first time i stayed at amorita and was quite grateful to make that decision.

we were immediately greeted by the staff with welcome drinks and arrangement of staying in an a/c room when the actual hotel rooms were not yet available (around 8am at that time)

we stayed at the pool area and enjoyed the moment when typhoon hit the area and the island hopping event was cancelled.

other areas we like about the hotel include the welcome snacks, packed breakfast, the food at the restaurant, and the great services by the receptionist, life guards, waiters and waitresses

the area we don't like the hotel include the room.. which is a bit too plain for the price we paid. also the housekeeping needed more training. our "packed breakfast" boxes stayed in the room without being cleaned. our massage beds remained in the room without being collected after massage at night

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Wanson,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community! It's unfortunate that your island hopping adventure didn't push through. On your next visit to Bohol, we hope that you'll get to explore Balicasag and the other neighboring islands. (You may want to consider paying a visit to Lamanoc Island along the Anda Peninsula as well.)

Thank you for giving feedback about our service. We make an effort to provide consistent, high quality service to all our guests. Your feedback about our housekeeping's service has been taken note of. Should you have more suggestions or feedback, please feel free to send me an email at carissa.amorita@gmail.com.
Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
1.5 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#2 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
Henann Resort Alona Beach
#5 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bluewater Panglao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amorita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amorita Resort

Property: Amorita Resort
Address: Alona Beach | Barangay Tawala, 6340, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amorita Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded atop a beautiful limestone cliff on the southern edge of Bohol's Panglao Island, Amorita is a tranquil seaside retreat that marries world-class service with signature Filipino hospitality. Managed by boutique hotel group One-Of Collection, the 97-room luxury resort overlooks the azure-colored Bohol Sea and elegantly punctuates the vibrant tropical landscape along Alona Beach. A TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice and Certificate of Excellence recipient, Amorita is only a 40-minute drive from Bohol's Tagbilaran Airport, and Bohol is only an 80-minute flight from Metro Manila. Amorita ("little darling") features 97 luxury suites (including 14 villas), organic modern architecture, an outdoor infinity pool, an in-house dive center, stunning cliff-side views of the Bohol Sea, and innovative dining options at the all-new Toma! Wine Bar and the acclaimed Saffron Restaurant, the only restaurant in Bohol offering authentic Boholano heritage dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Amorita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amorita Hotel Panglao Island
Amorita Hotel Bohol
Amorita Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing