We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amorita Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amorita Resort
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Adliswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I am a Tourguide and heavaly relying on the partnerhotels to make my (and their) guests feel home away from home. The staff at Amorita Resort did an outstanding job in providing exactly that - a hasselfree stay in this beautiful place and professional service. The location and Designs are beautiful. My guests loved the food. The menue had so much to offer - with a different twist and taste then the ordinary menues you find across the island. I took the chance to hit the divesites on Balicasag Island and had a blast. The standardrooms have beautiful designtouches. The Bungalows in the Garden are spacious and if I cane come back for a private stay I will choose to stay there! I was surprised to read some very poor reviews on tripadvisor - but if you are the kind of person who cannot relax and makes vacations to find the one hair in the soup - then better stay home! Nothing can be ever perfect - and if it is - it will be a boring place... This is the Philippines after all - a country that surprises you around every corner, with the friendliest population around. Come to Amorita, relax and be surprised... it's your vacation after all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pupoontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amoritamarketing, Marketing at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear BAT09,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed staying at the resort and exploring Bohol. It is our wish that you and your friends will be visiting the Philippines again soon.

Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    343
    74
    32
    8
See reviews for
465
520
35
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have heard and read very nice things about this hotel but unfortunately it is very difficult to make a reservation. To book online you need a Paypal account (which I don't have and have no interest in getting) and when I instead tried to contact their reservation office they do not answer emails.

This has happened twice now over the last two months so I have given up now. The first time we went to Atmosphere Hotel on Negros Island instead and in May we are going to Boracay instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dreyfus111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amoritamarketing, Marketing at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear dreyfus111,
We try our very best to make the entire vacation experience hassle-free for all our guests. Currently, we find that working with Paypal helps to protect both parties from any unforeseen mishaps. Guests who have encountered difficulties completing their online booking often get in touch with one of our Reservations Officers or connect with us through social media. We apologize for having gone through a tiresome booking process. We will be meeting with Paypal's tech support to discuss how we can make the booking and payment process less of an inconvenience. Please feel free to send me an email at carissa.amorita@gmail.com should you wish to discuss this matter in further detail. Thank you.

Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here as part of a large group following a family wedding and and we all thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Amorita is set in a stunning location and the view from the infinity pool over Alona beach takes your breath away.The pool is very quiet and relaxing and the very plush sun loungers are plentiful and always seemed to be available. Service around the pool area is excellent with a plentiful supply of towels and iced damp face cloths to help you to cool down.

The choice and quality of the food at the restaurant was excellent and although a little pricey still represented decent value. The beer and drinks are also a little pricey but there is a happy hour (or two) from 4pm til 6pm.

The rooms are comfortable without being stunning, the beds are king size and there's plenty of storage and a room safe, TV and basic brewing facilities.The aircon was ok but lacked enough control as the temperature range was limited. The bathrooms were fine and well fitted.

We found the staff to be extremely courteous, helpful and plentiful. I don't know what the staff / guest ratio is but it is certainly very high. Service did lack a little efficiency though and you had to get used to waiting for your drinks. We also enjoyed a very nice and relaxing all-over body massage as part of the service which I can recommend.

The hotel also offered trips and excursions which are bookable at reception and we went to the tarsier sanctuary, which we all found to be a thoroughly interesting experience and decent value for money. For those interested in wildlife - look out for the sun birds which visit the bushes around the pool on a daily basis for the nectar from the flowers, a stunning sight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amoritamarketing, Marketing at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Wayne S,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are so happy to have had you and your family with us. We are pleased to know that you had a very enjoyable stay. On your next visit to Bohol, we hope that you'll choose Amorita Resort and allow us to show you the other natural sites and treasures of the province. There's so much to experience here! Should you wish to discuss your stay with us in further detail, please feel free to send me an email at carissa.amorita@gmail.com.

Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just came back from here 2 weeks ago. We were picked up from the airport and about 40 minutes drive from Tagbilaran airport to the resort. Upon arrival, we were given 2 cups of Pandan & kalamansi drink, which my wife really liked. The staff was friendly.

The garden view villa we booked, was OK but a bit overpriced for the services provided. The outdoor toilet might look interesting initially but not so much after a while. Mosquitoes were everywhere, although insect repellent lotion was given, it was still uncomfortable taking the shower and doing the usual business outdoor while sometimes we could hear other guests next door. When we arrived, the toilet bowl was stained with a bit of urine!

For the plunge pool, you have to call the housekeeping every time to turn on the spa feature. Very weird.

For the massage, it was pretty good. The second massage I booked, the staff didn't show up and I had to call after 30 minutes late to find out why. Being told the staff was on the way, we waited for another 30 minutes until I called again to be told the same thing. 10 Minutes later, they told me that I have to wait for another 50 minutes. So I was pissed off and cancelled it.

Food was also very average in the restaurant. We could only remember the fried rice and mango juice were quite descent. But going out to the other restaurants outside the resort and along the beach, the foods were worse.

Overall, a descent stay but over priced. If you plan to see Chocolate hills, Tasier, Loboc river and not so much on the water activities, there's no point to stay in Panglao island. It's a bit far to those major attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soodye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amoritamarketing, Marketing at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Soodye,
Thank you for posting a review. It is very unfortunate that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations. We try our very best to keep our guests comfortable and relaxed throughout their stay. There is a scheduled fumigation at the resort to control the number of mosquitoes on our property. Also, the current rooms and villas will be renovated once we have completed the construction of Amorita's newest phase. Please feel free to send me an email at carissa.amorita@gmail.com should you wish to share more suggestions / areas for improvement.

Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

A large group of us stayed in Amorita last week and we all thoroughly enjoyed it.

First the negatives:

There's construction work being completed next door, and throughout the day there's a "clinking" sound, a lot like a loud, air hockey game. However this was only in the rooms, we couldn't hear the noise by the pool area.

My wife and I stayed in a sea view villa and found there to be a terrible lack of privacy. The garden between the villa and the sea is completely open and shared with next doors villa, so your neighbours could walk around right at the bottom of your villa and there's nothing you could do about it. We both felt that the fence, or at least a hedge should be extended right down to the bottom of the garden in order to give the villas a little more privacy and to stop people wandering around. The lack of privacy almost went completely against the intimate atmosphere the villa tried to create, so we were both quite surprised by it.

Now the good

If you've researched Amorita this far then you'll have certainly seen the breathtaking view from the infinity pool over Alona beach and the sea. This view is spectacular and really has to be seen in person to be properly appreciated. The pool is tranquil and the sun loungers are very comfortable.

The restaurant serves excellent food, real top quality and you don't mind paying a little extra when the food is that good. I also recommend their mango and their banana slushes. Strangely though the beer was cheaper in the minibar of the room than in the bar/restaurant, unless it was happy hour, in which case it's buy one, get one free on selected beers and cocktails.

The villas are very nice, the beds are extremely comfortable and the outdoor bathrooms are novel and very stylish. The aircon worked well, however the control panel was really beat up and needed replacing. There are plenty of cable TV channels and the TV was a decent sized flat screen. There would also be an evening turn-down service, and we would also get little complimentary cakes/sweets in the evening (deluxe rooms get these too!). However next time I probably wouldn't bother paying the extra for the ocean view rooms...you actually get more privacy with the garden view!

The staff were very courteous and helpful, however it was a very relaxed atmosphere, don't expect them to hurry with your food and drinks, and if you're a resident then expect them to bring a bill for your food drink an entire day after you've had them.

The hotel also offered excursions, and seeing the tarsiers is definitely a must! They take you to a tarsier sanctuary where the animals are taken care of and not kept in cages, so you get to see them in some natural habitat, which was fantastic

The hotel also has a ping pong table which was fine, and a table football (foosball) table that has sadly seen better days.

Overall it was an extremely relaxing holiday that felt like paradise. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to anybody

Room Tip: If you're getting a villa then go for the garden view as opposed to the ocean view. There's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amoritamarketing, Marketing at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Boovy,
We're very pleased to hear that you and your companions enjoyed your stay with us overall. Your feedback about the noise from the construction site and privacy in the Ocean Villa has been noted. The construction team tries to keep the noise level at a minimum while they work. On your next visit to Bohol, we hope that you'll be staying with us again so you get a chance to see Amorita's newest phase, and experience more of Bohol's natural beauty. Thank you very much!

Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zelaand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The place is amazing. Staff are fantastic. The menu is so broad that you could eat different food every meal for a couple of weeks. The one thing I would say is to get in quick, bohol is developing rapidly as a tourist destination, and even Amorita is expanding (extra 60 rooms). Diving at balicasag island is fantastic also.

Check out the reef wall 200m swim directly out from the ocean view villas at amorita.

Room Tip: get the villa. we didnt but we wish we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blairwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amoritamarketing, Marketing at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear blairwood,

We're pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Bohol is a treasure trove of natural sites and wonders. On your next visit to Bohol, we hope that you'll get to visit Bohol's limestone structures and neighboring islands. We look forward to seeing you at the resort again! Thank you very much!

Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulaide, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's been the 2nd time we have stayed at Amorita Resort in Bohol. Our reason for picking another stay at Amortia Resort for the 2nd time is the excellent services, the kindness of the staff and the most beautiful view of Alona Beach. What touched me most is the fact that the staff works practically every hour of the week and yet they still keep smiling and are there to assist you for anything. The rooms though need a little renovation. Our air condition had a little leak, which didn't bother us much since the staff made sure to clean it up everyday. Still this needs to be fixed. The food here is great! The happy hours were very welcoming :) And the pool, although a little small, is just perfect to watch the sun go down after a day of excursions. We had a wonderful stay. Though, when visiting Amorita you need to be careful not to stain there sheets with henna or you might have to pay around 8000 pesos. At our arrival they did tell us to take care of henna stains but they didn't tell us that there was an 8000 pesos fee to pay to replace the stained sheets. This was a shock to us. I advised them to put a note in the room stating the consequences of staining their sheets to avoid all misunderstandings. I insisted not to pay that amount and after a long talk with management they didn't make me pay that fee. Nevertheless, I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Bohol.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsdarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amoritamarketing, Marketing at Amorita Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear RSDarlene,

Thank you for staying with us again. It was very nice to have you and your friends at the resort. You'll be glad to know that there are plans to renovate parts of the property very soon. On your next visit to Bohol, we hope you'll stay with us and get the chance to see the updated property. We're ensuring that all information on the henna stains are communicated to guests properly. Should you wish to send additional feedback, please feel free to send me an email at carissa.amorita@gmail.com.

Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
Henann Resort Alona Beach
#6 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
1.5 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#2 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bluewater Panglao Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amorita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amorita Resort

Property: Amorita Resort
Address: Alona Beach | Barangay Tawala, 6340, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amorita Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded atop a beautiful limestone cliff on the southern edge of Bohol's Panglao Island, Amorita is a tranquil seaside retreat that marries world-class service with signature Filipino hospitality. Managed by boutique hotel group One-Of Collection, the 97-room luxury resort overlooks the azure-colored Bohol Sea and elegantly punctuates the vibrant tropical landscape along Alona Beach. A TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice and Certificate of Excellence recipient, Amorita is only a 40-minute drive from Bohol's Tagbilaran Airport, and Bohol is only an 80-minute flight from Metro Manila. Amorita ("little darling") features 97 luxury suites (including 14 villas), organic modern architecture, an outdoor infinity pool, an in-house dive center, stunning cliff-side views of the Bohol Sea, and innovative dining options at the all-new Toma! Wine Bar and the acclaimed Saffron Restaurant, the only restaurant in Bohol offering authentic Boholano heritage dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Amorita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amorita Hotel Panglao Island
Amorita Hotel Bohol
Amorita Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing