We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply awesome and unique vacation experience”
Review of Bohol Bee Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bohol Bee Farm
Ranked #2 of 94 Panglao Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Simply awesome and unique vacation experience”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you're looking for a unique vacation experience for the whole family, a Bohol Bee Farm stay is definitely it.
Starts with the ferry/airport pick up. Simply look for the hotel staff waving a big fan (pamaypay) with the words Bohol Bee Farm and you're off to a good start. Check in is a breeze, we got the Tomato Room, very very spacious with one queen size bed and a day bed. There's also a hammock outside our cottage. The BBF has swimming pools, beach or shall I say sea access and scuba diving. The resort conducts farm tours (free for check in guests). The resort offers massage and other spa amenities. And the food...simply the best...organic, fresh and delicious. It was our first time to try malunggay and spicy ginger flavored ice cream...yum! Nothing beats great food and exceptional service to make this one simply awesome and unique vacation experience. You can also bring the BBF experience home, their Buzz shop offers all sorts of wonderful food and non food items. Their breads and spreads are a must try. And yes, BBF accepts Mastercard and Visa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TayNayNak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    191
    46
    21
    7
See reviews for
134
129
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
217 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Bohol is a rainforest paradise island, and you really get the full rainforest feel at the Bohol Bee Farm that you won't get from the beach resorts in Panglao or pretty much anywhere else that I've been. The farm is canopied by thick and leafy tree branches and vines. You will be walking on earth instead of sand. You will hear the birds chirping and the waves crashing against the cliffs. It rains for a bit, then the sun shines. Magical.

Spas TRY to look like Bohol Bee Farm -- they use light woven reed partitions and wooden beams and floors to look rustic. Here, it's authentic. The locals really use those materials for their homes. Of course, with genuineness comes a bit of crudeness -- the facilities are not polished and symmetrical as the facilities in hotel spas. However, I find that being in the real deal once in a while is uplifting and more relaxing.

The best part is the availability of spa services. I got a scrub, full body massage, manicure, pedicure and foot massage all within an overnight stay. All were good and not too pricey (compared with the hotels). It was horrible that I had to work in the morning while I was there, but after my meeting, I hung up the phone and proceeded to the spa area to get my nails done on a seaside cliff. It can spoil real life permanently.

I personally like the food -- really tasty and healthy looking.

I was somewhat concerned when I read somewhere that the place is under new management. Not sure who the old management was, but I went here six years ago and they have the same owner today (Mrs. Wallace), according to the staff.

It's true that the bees moved away after the last storm, so they have a honey supplier instead of an actual bee farm.

Brief note on amenities -- Beehive Rooms have a flat screen TV and DVD player, air conditioning, mini-bar, tea kettle (instant coffee; no free water), Bohol Bee Farm soap and shampoo (didn't try the shampoo; soap was okay), towels. There was a bed, day bed, wooden couch, chairs and table on the terrace. The view is awesome -- through the foliage, an endless sea.

I did state in the title that it's good for a brief escape. I'm a city girl to the bones so I think a prolonged stay would not be good for me. The things that could potentially get to you are:

1. Insects everywhere. To be fair, I wasn't bitten by anything there, but the novelty of seeing ants crawling in the hotel room and restaurant fades after a day.

2. Limited food choices. Food is good but if you have it for more than a couple of days you might turn into a vegetable (if we are what we eat). Then, you can be served with a light vinaigrette to the next customer.

3. No beach. You can get to the sea from the seaside deck, but I didn't see any spots for sandcastles and such.

4. No gym, no kids play area and other stuff you see in hotels -- although they have a swimming pool now (in an awkward location).

5. Not sure if there's a free shuttle to anywhere except the airport. But this airport shuttle is golden -- saves you quite a bit of money.

6. Two TV channels, and non-interesting ones. The others might be pay per view; dunno.

7. The staff isn't like hotel staff -- they act like household helpers, which means that they will attend to you and they are quite nice, but also means they hang around each other to chat like family. If you like the ones who look like they are anticipating your every need, they don't work here.

If life treats you badly, you should go here to recharge. But if you will be in Bohol long, and you like conventional hotels, you might want to stay at a "hotel hotel" for the bulk of the trip and just come over for a night or so.

Room Tip: We were upgraded! I hope they upgrade you, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio City, Philippines
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Its not your usual resort but lots of interesting attractions inside the resort and lots of organic food offering. The rooms are clean and new but the one we got needs a bigger aircon specially during the day. However the view of the beach from our room is just spectacular. Staff are friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amboy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I would say that the overall theme is very wholesome, very organic, very back to nature, and they totally deliver on this front. They are obviously very keyed into using local products, local employees etc.

Service - excellent. Absolutely no complaints here. 5

Rooms - good enough. This is not a luxury vacation spot. If that is what you want, go some place else. I would say that this is well done rustic. 3. If you have ant issues, go elsewhere.

Food - meh. Pizza - fantastic! No doubt one of the best I have had in a while. The rest felt very organic - Not That there is anything wrong with that! Halang Hanlang was very good, Sinigang pork was an acquired taste. Red rice very bland. Steamed crabs good. Breakfast needs to be extended to 1000. We are lazy people who sleep late :-)

Pool - Cold water, no breeze.. It is covered which is good for sunburn but doesn't heat the pool. Basically dead while we were there.

Bar - none. BOOO!

Diving - Ok, but small dive boat. No real complaints I would say average at best. 3

Shop - 4 nice shop plenty of diverse local products. Hope you like honey!

Locale - not near anything! Sorry, but if you want to do anything besides what is at the bee farm forget it... The staff is very good about arranging transport to Alona beach or other areas, and I would say that they do a good job in arranging transport. Nonetheless it is 10-20 minute drive to anywhere. The staff arranged us to go to a closer beach where we rented a small hut for 350p. Good day out. Restaurant nearby was fine. The car was 700p round trip and was usually 15 min late plan for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couchczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite Province, Philippines
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

their place was really nice. i so love the view of the sea. although bohol bee farm is farm from the panglao town proper its still worth it to stay here, because its peaceful, great wifi signal, breakfast is really great, you get fresh fruits, veggies, pasta, rice, fish, pork, chicken, beef, fresh fruit juice, coffee, honey, salad every morning. love the restaurant by the cliff. polite employees. the room the we originally reserve was the garden bungalow but they got as upgraded to their newer and bigger rooms for free, we just had to wait for like 30 -45 minutes because they were still cleaning it. but no biggie, because the room is huge, big bed, big flat screen tv, big bathrooms (we stayed at loboc), we got mini fridge as well and a waterpot, and just in front of our hotel room are the jacuzzi, all four of them :)

the only downside is that if you wish to go to the white beaches of panglao from bohol bee farm its quite far and expensive, tricycle costs 600 pesos (back and forth), while bohol bee farm's service vehicle is 700 pesos, food are expensive too... ( so let's say you wanna eat outside the hotel, might as well eat at the hotel because your expenses will be doubled once you go out) if you dont have any problems walking, it might take you 30 mins max to walk that 800meter street going to that main street. getting transpo when you're already on the main street is also difficult, you can wait for the jeep or habal habal or you can just walk another 200-400 meters to find the nearest carinderia or restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pancit_canton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bool, Bohol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Let me start with this is an operation that offers Allot! Tour Packages stop here, but if your not a Tour Package Type... This place is going to be a Must See! My Review is for the Resturant only but this is a Hotel and much more! Plan a Lunch the outdoor dining on the Patio is a great view along with great food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The Bohol Bee Farm is a lovely place on top of a Cliff facing the sea. You can sit or lounge on native wooden bench have a massage amidst the sound of the waves and wood wind chimes. Then Savour organic flower petal salads ..... A place to recharge .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lango01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
6.6 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
3.8 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
2.5 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#2 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
4.0 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
5.1 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#9 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohol Bee Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohol Bee Farm

Property: Bohol Bee Farm
Address: Bohol Bee Farm Dao, Dauis | Dao, Dauis, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bohol Bee Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bohol Bee Farm in Panglao Island, Bohol, Philippines. Reserve online now and get instant confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Bohol Bee Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohol Bee Farm Hotel Panglao Island
Bohol Bee Farm Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing