We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't want to leave”
Review of Amarela Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amarela Resort
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Perfect! The only place I've been to in the Philippines where I didn't feel like I was in a Third World country. The bathrooms are perfect - no cases of this or that doesn't work! The decor is understated but nice and ethnicky and just to my taste. The food was really tasty. It's not a bargain, but I would say you are getting exactly what you pay for.

The only things I would comment on somewhat negatively are the wait staff is REALLY SLOW. But then there's no hurry when you are there. The other thing is that the bed I first had was for some reason really really firm (usually it's the opposite problem no?). Too firm for me, but we just switched beds and voila.

Yes the rooms are small but you have the whole place to wander around in. It's really just a place to unwind and do NOTHING. Quiet, peaceful, and it feels sparsely inhabited -- even thuogh we were told that the hotel was full during our stay, we hardly saw anyone. Most of the people staying were foreigners. The front desk staff was really efficient and helpful and arranged two different tour things for us and we just paid for it as part of our final bill -- we didn't have to bring all that cash with us, after all!

Can't wait to go back again. This time for a honeymoon!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moe2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 551 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2010

Amarela resort is truly an excellent choice when we were shortlisting our choices of resorts in Bohol. Upon arrival, the front desk were very helpful when we realized that the rooms we were booked only has a queen bed instead of 2 bed. They let us have a looked at most rooms and was open to changes if and when we do like other rooms. This I have to say, all rooms that we saw were really clean, beautiful and has a lot of charm. We have decided to stay in the rooms that were assigned to us. The resort is not like most big resorts you see. Its a smaller , boutique type with a lot of charm and character. You will fall in love with the place. All the staff are friendly and courteous. You instantly feel that you are taken cared of . The only downside is that the menu does not change and youre stuck with the same menu everday./ Not good if youre staying longer. In the 4 days that we have stayed, we have tried most of the dishes.. no regrets because the chef has done an excellent job..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joerg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My highschool classmates decided to spend our reunion in Amarela recently because of good reviews and word of mouth. The trip advisor also assisted us in our venue decision.

The service was excellent - front office ladies were very accommodating and immediately responded to our questions and last minute requests. Likewise, the waiters and waitresses were always around to attend to our various needs. The food was excellent and special thanks to the owner, Atty. Ludichi Nunag, who kindly assisted us in choosing the menu for our two dinners.

Our rooms were always clean and we like the overall ambience of the hotel. It is a beautiful place and if you want to stay away from the corporate world and need peace and quite, then Amarela is the best place to go. A thing of beauty and serenity indeed.

I highly recommend the place based on our happy and satisfying 3-days stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancingqueen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

I stayed there for 3 nights. The first night everything was OK. Had dinner in the restaurant, surrounded by many lizards on the ceiling and staff who were catching insects using some sort of electric device that made scary noise each time they caught a bug.

The first day, we got a call -- there'd be water interruption between 1-3pm. Not a problem. An hour later, another person rang that the water interruption will last until 5pm. I advised them that we needed to go out by 4.45pm and need some water after the massage by 4pm. I have been told not a problem. No water at 4pm. Made a phone call. Water won't be available until 4.30pm. I told her that someone told me that water would be back by 4pm. The person said that she'd call back. No return phone call until 4.30pm. Water was back on by then, but we were late for our meeting.

We made massage, manicure and pedicure bookings through the hotel. Massage was really good, however you can skip the "mickey mouse" manicure and pedicure. The person did them without a drop of water! No pumice for the pedicure and left all the nail clippings all over the room. Totally gross!

The food is great in general in comparison to other places in Bohol. Price wise they are OK, too. Fresh ingredients. Had really nice herbed chicken and stir fry. There is no consistency in the cooking though. One day the stir fry was fantastic, the next day, it was vegetables swimming in butter (!) sauce. They used baby corns and mushrooms from the cans.

Breakfast was OK as long as it's a la carte. The last morning the hotel had a few more guests and decided to skimp on the breakfast. We had breakfast buffet that was unpalatable for non-filipino. Some sort of congee with tidbits that are not looking familiar, overcooked ham, some dried fish (!) still with heads and tails, and hundreds and hundreds of flies that were flying around the food. Flies were in the bowls of ham, cheese and onion at the egg station and the cook could not be bothered to try to get rid of them. Quite disconcerting.

Communication with staff was quite difficult. I arranged for a transport for 10 to 8 (7.50am) -- they thought it was for 8.10am. That was the only incident. There were quite a few of them. Make sure you have things written down for them if you make any arrangement with the Front Desk.

Free wifi connection was available at the restaurant. Staff at the restaurant were friendly and helpful.

I was happy to leave the place after 3 days there, to be honest.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank durianlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarelaManagement, Manager at Amarela Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2010

Thank you for staying in Amarela. We appreciate your feedback which helps us address miscommunication incidents as well as other concerns -- allowing us to further improve our service standards.

Due to the diverse environment in which our property is located, insects and house lizards may be found in the open areas. We do not harm the lizards as they are natural pest control agents. In instances when mosquitoes are rampant, we use electric mosquito catchers to minimize their impact on our guests.

We have alerted the departments and suppliers concerned to make sure that the issues you raised are addressed promptly. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Went to Amarela Resort for one night with my co-worker. We were working in Cebu and wanted to visit Bohol for a weekend to go dolphin watching and snorkeling. It was awesome!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
Thank audQOTSAosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

My wife and I loved the place. The downside is their overpriced menu. I hope that they would review their pricing so that it would be right for the proportions of their serving. The food was good though but the serving is very small. Manila pricing is too much when your in Bohol.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MGerard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

fantastic location with spectacular views- spotlessly clean- helpful attentative staff- perfect for a relaxing few days

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaisyHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
2.5 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 17 in Panglao
1,556 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 50 in Panglao Island
1,482 reviews
2.6 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#3 of 50 in Panglao Island
965 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#2 of 50 in Panglao Island
919 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#9 of 50 in Panglao Island
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarela Resort

Address: Barangay Libaong, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range: $116 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarela Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarela is a cozy yet elegant boutique resort atop a gentle slope with a stunning panoramic view of Bohol Sea and neighboring islands. Natural sandstone pathways run through native landscape, leading to the long stretch of white beach. The resort showcases local art and culture in meticulous detail - highlighting antique & traditional furniture, artifacts & handicrafts, old hardwood doors & floors, as well as an outstanding collection of sculpture & paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amarela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarela Hotel Panglao Island
Amarela Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island
Amarela Hotel Bohol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing