We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”
Review of Amarela Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amarela Resort
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Having to travel from Camiguin to Boracay we decided to travel up on the Sea Cat and stop a night in Bohol. We only wish we had extended that to at least 3 nights so that we could enjoy everything this resort has to offer. Still we now have an excuse to go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandJWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    159
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
162
236
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

A wonderful place,in beautiful surroundings,beach and gardens.Nice staffs, very friendly.Food is very nice and the service is oustanding.Good collection of books and dvds' if you want to retire early for the night.Will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gildaqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Nice to stay, but will need to get a taxi into the city every night for dinner, taxi takes 30min and costs 400 peso eachway (£5.00).

Beach is just ok, very diffiult to have a good swim, as there are a lot of rocks and sharp objects just below the surface, so, don't bring the kids!

Overall, would I come back, only if they sack the cook!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helgie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pampanga, philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

we were booked in a different hotel by our travel agent. however, nearly two weeks before our trip he said that that hotel was fully booked. He recommended AMARELA. though I've seen the website, one cannot trust pictures. I am glad i said ok, coz it made my 14th wedding anniversary!!! Clean rooms/bathrooms, endearing staff who anticipate our needs and very courteous, superb food (though I would recommend a wider variety) and very private unlike the hotels along Alona Beach.

The hotel has antique furnishings, art gallery, library and DVD collections. One can see how much details the owners gave for the hotel's look. If you're an art lover, you will definitely love this place.. I'll definitely recommend this to my friends and family...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruby_eli_cha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Amarela was the highlight of our Philippines trip. The staff was amazing- friendly and incredibly attentive to detail without being overbearing. All services including tours, massages, restaurant fare, etc. were excellently priced (USD12 for a one hour massage in your room; USD10 for two people to eat a fabulous dinner, etc.). Breakfast is free and made to order. There are free books and movies to "rent" during your stay. All of these things pale in comparison, however, to the setting itself- Amarela is a gorgeous hotel. Art, flowers and cultural detail fill every available space and it makes for an unforgettable experience.

The beach was great, and I was extremely nervous about it prior to our trip because of reviews on this site. At high tide, swimming is perfect and, at low tide, you can scavenge around for aquatic gems (sea stars, urchins, etc.). Free snorkel gear and kayak "rental" was available all day to our delight!

The ONLY thing this hotel doesn't have is nightlife... but I really appreciated that. I wanted to relax, read and watch the moon rise in a beautiful location and Amarela was perfect for this!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraR_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

The resort was a pleasant surpise. The staff are truly wonderful, the cleanliness of the place is worth mentioning. The architectural details that the owner integrated in the design and building of the resort was notable. The added surprise was the extensive collection of books in the library.

Food was great except I was hoping that they will have more selection for "merienda" or snack.

I highly recommend this place to vacationeers who like a tranquil place to stay. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2009

To truly enjoy Bohol, stay at Amarela. The place is an architectural masterpiece. I’m not a fan of antiques. I prefer contemporary art pieces and furniture. BUT Amarela made me realize that the combination of the two is even better. Amarela is elegant yet homey and relaxing. It’s not pretentious in any way. The atmosphere will truly stimulate your imagination and juice up your creativity. The place brings you closer to nature.
BUT more than the place, it’s the warm-heartedness of the resort staff that made me enjoy my stay in Bohol. Meal time is the best time at Amarela. Nejel in particular would always give us complimentary appetizer or dessert for us to truly enjoy our meal. The welcome drink was also great. We really enjoyed chatting with them. My special thanks to Nejel, Johnny, James, Jake and Bryan. Thanks to Cloyd and Jensen, too.
I will definitely go back to Amarela – either alone, with my special someone, with my friends or with my family. It’s the best place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rxcitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
2.4 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
1.1 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#2 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
0.7 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarela Resort

Property: Amarela Resort
Address: Barangay Libaong, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarela Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarela is a cozy yet elegant boutique resort atop a gentle slope with a stunning panoramic view of Bohol Sea and neighboring islands. Natural sandstone pathways run through native landscape, leading to the long stretch of white beach. The resort showcases local art and culture in meticulous detail - highlighting antique & traditional furniture, artifacts & handicrafts, old hardwood doors & floors, as well as an outstanding collection of sculpture & paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amarela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarela Hotel Panglao Island
Amarela Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island
Amarela Hotel Bohol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing