We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A slice of heaven”
Review of Amarela Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amarela Resort
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this lovely resort! My husband and I had a wonderful weekend here and the property itself definitely exceeded our expectations. From the beautiful grounds to the lovely decor and friendly helpful staff it was definitely a treat. The rooms are well appointed and decorated in with local art making it feel more like a guest room at a friend's home than a hotel room. The upper floor of the main building not only houses beautiful local decor and antiques but an immense DVD and book library along with board games to while away any rainy day. The food was great from local Pinoy favorites to international dishes there's something for everyone. The grounds are stunning filled with local flora and fauna that's thoughtfully labeled for anyone interested in learning the names of the plants. There's a lovely pool and a small but beautiful stretch of private beach. The staff are excellent and were helpful and proactive in making sure we got to the airport at an early hour along with a take-out breakfast! This resort is ideal for couples and families but it would also be nice with a group of friends as Alona beach is a short 10 minute ride away if you're looking for nightlife.
Numerous times over the weekend we remarked how lovely it was and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    159
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
162
236
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed for a night & wished we could have extended! The beach is amazing, the shoreline is huge. The resort itself is beautiful, it has a artsy & rustic charm that exudes a lot of character. They have an art gallery with a lot of interesting paintings and they have an immense & updated DVD library that you can rent for free. Rooms were good & clean but they strictly account per person. The service is great, the staff are extremely pleasant they even packed us breakfast since our flight was early. Food may be a bit pricey though. Overall its great and will come back again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LazyLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Everything from processing our room reservation, arranging the countryside tour, dolphin watching and snorkeling, the food, the white sand beach was perfect. I loved the relaxed, homey vibe of the hotel, the available library of DVDs and books for the hotel guests, the super clean surroundings, the well maintained garden, the quiet location. I could really say that the package tour we availed was truly worth it. I only wish we stayed longer. All the amenities of a more expensive hotel was provided, without the expensive price. Other water sports activities were also available at no extra cost. Our kids couldn't get enough of the hotel's ripe mango shakes. Will definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weddingfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed overnight on official business but definitely plan on going back for a longer and leisurely vacay. This small boutique resort is perfect for complete relaxation. It has its own secluded beach with fine white sand and clear warm waters. There are enough places just to sun and lounge or read a book while sipping on a refreshing shake. There is a decent-sized infinity pool perched high on the sloping terrain giving a good vantage point over the beach. The resort lodgings occupy some 4 levels on the slope each with different advantages. The higher levels enjoy a picturesque, clifftop view of the sea and the sprawling grounds and pool area below. The middle levels have easier access to reception, the dining room and other common areas and are probably the only wheelchair accessible rooms. The lower level rooms enjoy the quickest and best access to the pool. The beach is a short and pleasant walk further down. The poolside rooms we occupied were smallish but comfortable, furnished simply but with artistic touches in bright cheerful colors. The bed, pillows and linen were high quality which ensured a restful sleep. But it was things like the exquisite crocheted top cover that gave the place a distinct rustic feel. The bathroom was modern, clean and efficient with good water pressure and quality though limited toiletries. Towels were spotless and plush. A separate set of beach towels were all standard in the room, as well as bathrobes, slippers, etc. Amenities were complete including safe, mini-bar, LCD TV, a/c and ceiling fan. The buffet breakfast was excellent though not huge. It included the standard egg station, savory dishes, breads, fruits and good coffee and hot chocolate. What makes this resort so distinctive for me was the excellent collection of Filipino art all over the public areas and even a small dedicated gallery. The paintings, sculptures and reliefs I was told were mostly done by local Boholano artists which made them even more interesting. It was really a place to enjoy a few quiet and relaxing days in, while being a short ride away from the other attractions of the island and the party beaches.
Some things to improve on would include the wifi which although available was not consistently strong throughout the property. No problem with it in the main reception/dining areas, but from my room, I could only access it while sitting on the small private balcony. Fortunately, I had a nice view. Also, the path around the grassy areas by the pool and the walkways from reception down to the beach was natural stone. However, the stone was semi-finished/slightly polished and therefore uneven which made it difficult to negotiate and I can imagine could cause an accidental sprain to someone sporting less than ideal footwear.
With the usual precautions (suitable attire and gear, insect and sun protection), adequate care (in relatively rugged natural terrain) and correct expectations (this is a rustic, beachside vacation in the quiet countryside after all), all should be bliss on this little corner of tropical paradise in Bohol.

Room Tip: Choose the room according to your needs/preferences as per the body of my review. If wheelchair acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hav4wannatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Beautiful, quiet and serene. Very good service, cheap food but not always served at the right temperature. I would recommend this place and would go back there. Rooms were smaller than in photos.The ocean front was very close and clean and beautiful. The pool is just amazing. Did not smell chlorine in the water, I wonder how they clean it?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcolby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here and enjoyed every moment of it. As soon as we landed at the pier from Cebu, a staff member came and picked us up. The hotel can only be reached via private car or hired private vehicle, also known as tricycle by the locals. The check in was easy and done with in less than 5 minutes. Our room was on the second floor facing the beach and it has a small balcony to see the amazing sunrise in the morning. It was worth the effort to wake up a little early than our usual wake up time to see it happening. It was probably the best sunrise we ever saw in our whole lives! The room was nice and clean, but the amenities were spectacular! I had to ask the staff where to get more as I love the smell of the little bar soaps they offer. Turned out that it was made and sold locally by a local bee maker. The food and service was excellent too. If you are looking for a quite place, commune with nature and enjoy early morning strolls by the beach, this is the place for you. If you're looking for a party place, stay away. You'll be bored here. I'm looking forward to come back and stay a bit longer next time. Thanks Amarela!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach and wake up early to catch the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Staff are very friendly, helpful and professional. They replied timely and informatively to every email. We arrived early in the morning and they kindly offered us a clean room for rest for free.
There is a beautiful pool with super clear water. A few steps down is a nice white-sand beach. Kayaking is available for free for resort guests.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. There is also a pretty decent restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wei7547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
2.4 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
1.1 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#2 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
0.7 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarela Resort

Property: Amarela Resort
Address: Barangay Libaong, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarela Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarela is a cozy yet elegant boutique resort atop a gentle slope with a stunning panoramic view of Bohol Sea and neighboring islands. Natural sandstone pathways run through native landscape, leading to the long stretch of white beach. The resort showcases local art and culture in meticulous detail - highlighting antique & traditional furniture, artifacts & handicrafts, old hardwood doors & floors, as well as an outstanding collection of sculpture & paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amarela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarela Hotel Panglao Island
Amarela Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island
Amarela Hotel Bohol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing