We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene with fantastic sunrise!”
Review of Amarela Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amarela Resort
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Serene with fantastic sunrise!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here and enjoyed every moment of it. As soon as we landed at the pier from Cebu, a staff member came and picked us up. The hotel can only be reached via private car or hired private vehicle, also known as tricycle by the locals. The check in was easy and done with in less than 5 minutes. Our room was on the second floor facing the beach and it has a small balcony to see the amazing sunrise in the morning. It was worth the effort to wake up a little early than our usual wake up time to see it happening. It was probably the best sunrise we ever saw in our whole lives! The room was nice and clean, but the amenities were spectacular! I had to ask the staff where to get more as I love the smell of the little bar soaps they offer. Turned out that it was made and sold locally by a local bee maker. The food and service was excellent too. If you are looking for a quite place, commune with nature and enjoy early morning strolls by the beach, this is the place for you. If you're looking for a party place, stay away. You'll be bored here. I'm looking forward to come back and stay a bit longer next time. Thanks Amarela!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach and wake up early to catch the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    159
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
162
236
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Staff are very friendly, helpful and professional. They replied timely and informatively to every email. We arrived early in the morning and they kindly offered us a clean room for rest for free.
There is a beautiful pool with super clear water. A few steps down is a nice white-sand beach. Kayaking is available for free for resort guests.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. There is also a pretty decent restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wei7547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We went to Amarela a day after our #fourthofmay wedding in Tagaytay. With us were some of our New Zealand friends who came for our wedding and wanted to join us in our mini moon. The rooms were a bit small but had a relaxing Filipino appeal. It would have been better though if the rooms had bathtubs. The staff gave us really great and friendly service. Books, DVDs, snorkels and kayaks are free to use. All our kiwi friends enjoyed their stay in the hotel. Just a tip: do not fill all your days in Bohol with trips. We stayed 2 days straight in the hotel just to enjoy our room and the amenities. We loved every minute of it and we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eynjel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The reason I chose the Amarela Resort was because of the ratings and reviews from travel sites. It had an average 4 to 5 stars (5 bring the highest). The reviews were pretty accurate. My mom and I visted Bohol for the first time and wanted a quiet place to stay but with beach access. Amarela was really charming. It felt very cozy, warm and rustic. I was charmed by the very nice staff and beautiful garden. The path to the beach is really lovely and the grounds are kept clean. The food was fresh and delicious. We ate fresh fish almost every night (try the Lapu Lapu fish). The room was clean and I loved the amenities. I think they were made locally. I would recommend this place to others and I would stay here again. If you book, remember to call in advance to let them know that you will need transport from the airport to the resort. They are complimentary. If you are looking for nightlife, you will have to drive far as there is not a lot around the resort except other resorts. The Amarela is for the people who want to get away, relax and fall off the grid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JengJeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I did quite some research prior to my trip regarding location and hotel and I am very happy I chose to stay at Amarela.

Hotel:
- The hotel itself feels like staying at a private house. It is very nicely and thoughtfully decorated, super clean with a very nice touch of local Filipino art and heritage.
- The rooms are not very large but functional, which is completely ok as one should not stay in the room anyway when visiting Panglao.
- Free breakfast was actually quite good with either continental breakfast or a few local choices.

Hotel Staff:
- The staff was really extremely nice, polite and relaxed. Everyone was helpful and in a good mood.
- Service was not super fast, which is actually ok once you adjusted to the relaxed environment as it just promotes a stress-less environment,

Beach:
- The local beach is really nice and just a few stairs down the hotel. There is no traffic from people trying to sell you stuff and you will be able to truly relax.
- The hotel provides for free kayak and snorkel gear and there is a sanctuary near by to do some snorekling. However, don't expect to see too much as the nicer snorkel/diving spots are further away.
- You are able to walk for hours up the beach along other resorts without bumping into herds of people, which is really nice.

Location:
- There is nothing else really other than the Amarela; so if you expect to go partying, this place will not be right for you.
- The drive to Alona takes you about 20 min by tricycle, which is reasonable
- Other local attractions are further away and taking a private car is definitely recommended

Bottom line:
If you are searching for a few days of pure relaxation and get away from the big city hustle, the Amarela is the perfect choice.

I would recommend to avoid Alona altogether as it is really just a copy of Boracay. Perhaps check it out for a day but that's about it. The beach at Amerla is nicer, there are no crowds, its cleaner and you can actually go into the water as Alona appears like a harbor for tourist and dive boats.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FromCGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Went here for a long overdue relaxation vacation and was not disappointed. The resort is a B&B style place well situated in a nice beach along Panglao island. The combination gives it a very relaxing ambiance.

Rooms are excellent. Very well maintained and very clean. The resort has a decent library where you can read/borrow books and DVDs. The rooms are equipped with a nice LCD TV and a DVD player.

Food is great. Filipino dishes here are excellent. On slow days, breakfast is a la carte. On peak days, breakfast is a Filipino food buffet.

The pool is small but very clean. The beach is excellent. White sand and clear water.

Staff are all courteous and friendly. Needless to say, service is pretty good.

Overall, I will recommend this resort to anyone looking for a place to relax and is tired of the usual big luxury hotel type of resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comshock25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

if your vacation is more of being away from chaos and just want to be lazy by the beach while reading your favorite book...then this is the place for you.

i'm in love with their suite room. the library is to die for. the ambiance is more of the olden towns of bohol.

in our stay, the only problem is the food. if you stay there for 3 days, chances are you can memorize their menu. there is no alternative food establishment nearby. you need to rent their vehicle in order to get into town. no tricycles or jeeps to transport you alona beach. everything is private and secluded.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
2.4 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
1.1 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#2 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
0.7 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarela Resort

Property: Amarela Resort
Address: Barangay Libaong, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarela Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarela is a cozy yet elegant boutique resort atop a gentle slope with a stunning panoramic view of Bohol Sea and neighboring islands. Natural sandstone pathways run through native landscape, leading to the long stretch of white beach. The resort showcases local art and culture in meticulous detail - highlighting antique & traditional furniture, artifacts & handicrafts, old hardwood doors & floors, as well as an outstanding collection of sculpture & paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amarela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarela Hotel Panglao Island
Amarela Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island
Amarela Hotel Bohol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing