We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amarela Resort
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in the elegant Amarela. It was a cut above other places we stayed in the region, although some three to four times more expensive. The resort is well designed with lovely gardens running down to the sea. There are lots of extras which were nice touches including a library (books, games, DVDs). Free use of snorkeling equipment and kayaks. Food was good too - with plenty of local dishes as well as western ones. Service was friendly and efficient.

It would be nice to see water provided in rooms in jugs - seems so wasteful to have plastic bottles every day.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliceontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarelaManagement, Owner at Amarela Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

We appreciate your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit as endeavor to provide our guests with the best possible service and a restful stay. Thank you again and we hope we can welcome you back should you plan a future trip to Bohol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 533 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed with two kids for 6 nights over New Year. We arrived in the morning with tired kids, so they quickly arranged a temporary room which was very nice! Overall a good experience, stylish place, nice pool and beach. The restaurant a little bit pricey, but good food and service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tranis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarelaManagement, Owner at Amarela Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and hope that, in a future visit to Bohol, we will have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Compact resort over looking the ocean, a perfect gataway.
Premis is enclosed and well garded.
The well kept private beach with white sand also have lots of shades to relax.
They have a guard house here too.

Some parts of the building are made of reused wood from old houses, which makes the beautiful old colonial atomsphere.
The resort is decorated by wooden artifacts collected by the owner,
and the old library also makes a relaxing effect.

The rooms are very clean with a petit balcony.
All rooms equipped with AC, but the ceiling fan is enough to cool you through the night.

I`d surely want to come back again and spend a whole week here just to relax.

Room Tip: De Lux Double (2 Queen ) is located in the corner and little pricey but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiyoshi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarelaManagement, Owner at Amarela Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

We very much appreciate the kind words. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and, should you go for that week-long restful trip in Bohol, we hope that we welcome you back in Amarela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

On reaching this resort, we were welcomed by the informative and friendly front desk. The check-in was processed very fast and we were led to our room by the porter. Our room is located right next to the swimming pool and the private beach was 3 min away from our room. A stroll along the beach is relaxing in both day or night.

The resort is also very thoughtful to pack our breakfast as we need to go out for our very early island hopping tour. This beach is also a good place to enjoy a beautiful sunrise. Overall, it has been a very pleasant experience to stay in this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol_Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarelaManagement, Owner at Amarela Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to Bohol and your stay with us. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Amarela on a future visit to Bohol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at Amarela Resort for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. Our room, while small, was clean and nicely furnished. We had a balcony with an amazing sea view. I particularly liked the nice and elegant decor and the beautiful antique pieces displayed all over the hotel. Free WiFi was available at the restaurant and the main lobby. We did not have much luck with the weather as it rained during our whole stay. However, we took advantage of the resort's extensive DVD collection and watched several movies. One of the reasons we chose to stay at Amarela resort was its remote and quiet location. One of the TA reviewers mentioned the loud Karaoke from the nearby resort. We thankfully did not have the same experience as that would have been a deal breaker for me.The staff were friendly without being intrusive. We also enjoyed the food served at the restaurant - I thought the prices were fair and reasonable.
I you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing place to stay in Panglao, nothing beats Amarela resort.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarelaManagement, Owner at Amarela Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent our honeymoon in this superb resort. The facility was really nice and clean. The staff were courteous and always ready to assist you. Food and drinks really taste good specially the one served by the beach. Keep up.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rodelrudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarelaManagement, Owner at Amarela Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your honeymoon and send our very best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Prior to my Trip to Bohol, I just came from Boracay few months ago and with the crowded-ness of the island I made sure that my Bohol trip should be serene. So there i am at the airport and was welcomed by the Van from Amarella, it is obvious that the place is something for the affluent because the Heavy Metal Gates is guarded with an armed men. As i enter the Hotel, the wind blew on my cheek and before i even sip on my welcome drink I saw the nice Garden View with the Pool. I was pleased with everything specially when i saw my room with the imported tiles with sea designs and Nice Big Bed. It was so private that the only guest that time was Me and an elderly couple.

What i just noticed surprising is the Expensive Food. My room comes with Bfast but a simple lunch or dinner can cost you 800 pesos per meal and as i tasted it, nothing spectacular for a 800 pesos Plated Meal, it is indeed for the well budgeted travelers. So what i did the next day was to go by the beach and walk towards the Bohol Beach Club area which is like 1 HR walk. well it is Far but thanks to the nice sea view it was not boring at all. There at Bohol Beach Club, lots of locals have their ihaw ihaw with rice for just 100 pesos with Coke. and The Beach is better. Finer White Sand compared to Amarellas. But I dont take this against Amarella because their Pool is enough to relax all day.

Tour as always i arranged with a local which is cheaper at 1500 i saw everything in Bohol in a Car. Everything!!. TIPS- pasalubong buy stuff at Proonies the snake show. its cheaper there and also at those Tarsier Keepers store. Pasalubong at the Center is expensive. The beach area "they call it the small boracay of bohol" cant recall the exact name. The Boat with snorkeling and dolphin watching is 1200 pesos so beware of those charging 2300 to 3000.

Room Tip: Sea View is the BEST. Try to get Rooms on the Upper Floors too. Enjoy the View its Really Great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrawnJoeBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarelaManagement, Owner at Amarela Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the comments so we can continue to improve upon our guest experience. We aim to provide a wide array of food choices to suit guest preference and are happy to say that we are working on new menu offerings. We do hope we can welcome you back on a future visit to Bohol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
2.4 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 16 in Panglao
1,512 reviews
1.1 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#1 of 50 in Panglao Island
899 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 50 in Panglao Island
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
0.7 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 50 in Panglao Island
880 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mithi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarela Resort

Address: Barangay Libaong, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range: $114 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarela Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarela is a cozy yet elegant boutique resort atop a gentle slope with a stunning panoramic view of Bohol Sea and neighboring islands. Natural sandstone pathways run through native landscape, leading to the long stretch of white beach. The resort showcases local art and culture in meticulous detail - highlighting antique & traditional furniture, artifacts & handicrafts, old hardwood doors & floors, as well as an outstanding collection of sculpture & paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amarela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarela Hotel Panglao Island
Amarela Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island
Amarela Hotel Bohol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing