We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility at its Best”
Review of Amarela Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amarela Resort
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I decided to spend our 14th Wedding Anniversary in Bohol. We planned to make it a 4 day vacation with our only child in tow. We booked the first 2 nights of our stay at a hotel in Alona Beach and decided to celebrate the last two days in Amarela. As the saying goes, "WE SAVED THE BEST FOR LAST!" Indeed it was a wise decision. I made the hotel booking via online. I was very much impressed by the hotel's service. Upon making the email booking, the hotel staff sent me a personalized message to welcome us in the hotel. I emailed her and requested for a hotel pick-up service that would transfer us from the previous hotel to Amarela. I immediately got a reply which gave me a very good first impression. And true to my expectation, our hotel experience at Amarela was fantastic! The hotel vibe is a mixture of mediterranean, rustic and native. The hotel amenities were fine. The infinity pool was ok. The beach area was superb. There were about two hotel staff who continously kept the shore line clean by removing weeds. My husband and son enjoyed the water activities that included a free use of the kayak and snorkeling gear. They also had fun playing beach volleyball, table tennis and darts. The hotel had a good selection of books and dvds for free use of its guests. My son was able to borrow one of his favorite movies and got to watch it in our room. Flat screen TV and DVD player found in our room. Food selection was good. For lunch we had, Baked Scallops, Gambas and Salpicao. DInner time we chose Pizza, Herbed Grilled Chicken and Double Burger. Breakfast food was good. I chose the English breakfast which consisted of eggs (scrambled or sunny side), ham or sausage or bacon, coffee or local hot chocolate, scrumpets (good tasting bread), baked potatoes and fruits (banana, mango or pineapple). This hotel is best for couples who are looking for a serene and romantic getaway. Staying at Amarela was a perfect way to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sugarlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
There are newer reviews for Amarela Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 529 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our family of four stayed in Amarela during the last week of May 2012. It is located in the quiet side of Panglao Island, several kilometers away from the busy stretch of Alona Beach. It is perfect for couples and families who want a quiet getaway, free from hawkers and nightclubs. The place is family-owned, and consists of two quaintly-decorated buildings with many paintings by Filipino artists, an al fresco restaurant that looks out to the sea, a library where one can borrow books and DVDs for free, a small pool, and a clean, guarded beachfront with deck chairs and hammocks. They also have kayaks and snorkeling equipment that can be used for free. My kids (12 and 14 y.o.)
enjoyed the free DVDs, which kept them entertained in the evenings. There is also an area for playing beach volleyball within the resort.

We took two adjacent rooms, one with a queen -sized bed, the other with two twin beds. The rooms were just the right size, with a fan and window-type air cons, a TV with some cable channels, a DVD player, a bath with shower, and small balconies with a pool view. The facilities were clean, and the gardens well-kept.

The plated breakfast at the restaurant was alright, with a choice of American, English, continental or Filipino: salad, eggs, ham, bread, rolls, daing na bangus (marinated and fried milkfish), and coffee/tea or juice. A la carte lunch and dinner was served. The food was delicious but pricey for the location, and almost as expensive as eating out in a good restaurant in Metro Manila. One dish good for one person was priced between 400-600 pesos. There are no alternative eating places that are close to the hotel, so if one wishes to eat in another restaurant, he would have to call for a taxi or request use of the shuttle, for a fee.

The hotel can arrange tours around Bohol, or car rentals, but they are more expensive than others that are listed on the internet. If you have adventurous teens or adults in your group, arrange a day trip to Danao Eco-Adventure park where you can go river trekking, rappelling, caving, and do the canyon plunge (the highest free-fall with a harness in the world). You can stay overnight there, but the room facilities are very basic.

The sea in front of the resort had a lot of sea grass. We were able to snorkel at the small marine sanctuary but there weren't too many corals and fish to admire when we were there. We came during low season, so we had the beach to ourselves, which was a plus. There are no jet skis or banana boats to rent here, though, as the resort owners are ecologically-conscious. You would have to go to Alona beach for that.

The staff was efficient, friendly and respectful. One staffer even returned a swim mask that I left in the pool area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mzcflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for one night during an overnight trip to Bohol where we did an island tour the first day and snorkeling the second and needed a place to spend the night. The resort was a great choice as it's quiet, the staff is great, and the rooms are nice. We were exhausted from getting up for a 6am ferry from Cebu and sightseeing all day, so it was a great place to relax and get ready for another long day the next day.

The staff throughout the stay were so nice and accommodating. They even extended our late check out another extra hour to help between our tour ending and our ferry ride back to Cebu. The staff also was nice with our pre-booked tour, letting us know when a driver or boat arrived and was ready for us.

Our room was clean and a nice size with a balcony facing the ocean. It's not as modern as a 5-star resort, but it was nice enough for us. The air conditioning was strong and the bathroom is very nice.

The infinity swimming pool is nice, with the maximum depth around 5 foot. The beach is OK. The white sand is really nice, but there is a lot of seaweed and the water is so shallow you can't really swim much even at higher tides. They do offer snorkeling gear for free to guests and there are plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas.

The food is really nice at the restaurant. We ate dinner the first night and then breakfast the next morning. The breakfast was included and we had choices of Filipino, English, American, or Continental. For dinner, we ordered different main courses and shared and each was really nice. The prices are very reasonable as well, especially for a resort.

My only complaint is that they stated that the room was for 3, but the extra bed was definitely not up to the same quality as the main queen sized bed. And the bedding was not near as nice and didn't include a comforter (duvet) as they had for the larger bed.

We had a nice stay at Amarela. The price was good and our stay was quiet and comfortable, allowing us to rest in between very busy tour days in Bohol.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that said it was for 3 people, but the extra single bed was definitely not the s...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great home away from home atmosphere. Good area for eating drinking and just sitting in the pubic space. Rooms little small but absolutely ideal for 2. I think they all had connecting rooms little noise transfer from next door , nice to sit back and sit on the balcony looking out at the sea but you got to be friendly with the neighboring room to sit there its close.
great base to go around Bohol, and they sort out your early am dolphin watch fruit breakfast. thanks for the later check-out and thanks for spotting I was booked to fly into the wrong airport!
Nice attentive but not overbearing teams. Strong security at gated entrance, not sure why.
Overall ,a must go back type of hotel.

Room Tip: Any room with balcony view on the 2nd floor and at the end of the run as all must walk past. But not...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kercom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you simply want to relax and have a peaceful weekend to ease up and unwind, Amarela is the place to go to.

Pros : Good sized rooms, very very clean, wonderful and accommodating staff and will go extra mile to satisfy every guests need ( tops ! ). So peaceful & comfortable, very spacious with nicely decorated bedroom and bathroom. Massage was so good !

Cons : Intermittent, very slow wifi and I believe that this is a problem that must be resolved. This is very important for a business woman like me who simply wants to take a break form work. Secluded and far from Alona beach and the rest of the other hotels so there is no other place to dine except in their restaurant. Food wasn't great with very limited food items. Pancit Canton was good.

Special thanks to Jake ( restaurant supervisor ) for being so accommodating and wonderful. He will do anything to please a guest.... a truly delightful and fantastic guy ! Thanks also to Kim (driver) and Junard ( Tour guide ), Gemma the masseuse was the best we have ever tried ! And thanks to the receptionists ( I forgot their names ) and Maila and all of the wonderful people of Amarella. Thank you for making us feel at home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alejandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We spent our October Holiday at the Amerela. It was a perfect place for a week long break from the rat race in Shanghai. Our room was great with a tub in the bathroom and a shower on an exterior porch that was well screened with no bugs. The beach and pool are great. You can snorkel over a reef just off the beach. Staff is nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaiserja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed there with my boyfriend for 6 days and 5 nights. We immediately loved the place. Surroundings is so serene, quiet and peaceful. If your looking for some quality time with your special someone, this is the place you should go...Rooms are very clean and well kept. We loved their pillows, so soft and smells good... Washroom was very clean and the water is so good... They also have complete amenities which we enjoyed (pool, ping pong table, dart, kayaks, books and lots of DVDs). All the staff are very helpful, friendly and attentive especially when they help me to set up a dinner by the beach as a surprise for my boyfriend. They responded to my request immediately and took a lot of photos while were having dinner. We will definitely recommend Amarela to our friends and will come back to this place.

Room Tip: Room 304 - poolside view and more quieter with good space for the luggage
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachelle Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
2.4 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 16 in Panglao
1,457 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 50 in Panglao Island
1,364 reviews
1.1 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#1 of 50 in Panglao Island
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
0.7 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 50 in Panglao Island
867 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#10 of 50 in Panglao Island
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarela Resort

Address: Barangay Libaong, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range: $111 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarela Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarela is a cozy yet elegant boutique resort atop a gentle slope with a stunning panoramic view of Bohol Sea and neighboring islands. Natural sandstone pathways run through native landscape, leading to the long stretch of white beach. The resort showcases local art and culture in meticulous detail - highlighting antique & traditional furniture, artifacts & handicrafts, old hardwood doors & floors, as well as an outstanding collection of sculpture & paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amarela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarela Hotel Panglao Island
Amarela Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island
Amarela Hotel Bohol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing