We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“snug new hotel with tidy garden in quiet ambiance and with nice thai restaurant”
Review of Isis Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Isis Bungalows
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Panglao Island
saint-petersburg, russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“snug new hotel with tidy garden in quiet ambiance and with nice thai restaurant”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We spent 2 days in Isis and totally liked the place! It's in a peaceful location aside from all the bars and restaurants on Alona Beach, the rooms are cozy and surrounded by tidy little garden!
The local Thai restaurant is worth visiting and Tom Yum was the most savoury we tried in the Philippines. The cute girl - chef cook - came up to us and asked if we liked the soup.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank konbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    98
    38
    19
    8
See reviews for
42
91
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

The location for this hotel is fantastic. The hotel grounds and room were very clean and well designed. The attached Thai restaurant had fantastic food (but not for breakfast as they only had instant coffee!) and cocktails.

BUT...the service was terrible. The woman who sat behind the reception desk was absolutely hopeless. Not only was she not helpful, she wasn't even friendly! She couldn't help us with our laundry, she couldn't help us with a set of extra towels, she didn't even know how to check us out and settle the bill. I'm confused as to what her actual role was?!

But the worst aspect of staying at this hotel was the mangy dogs ALL OVER THE PROPERTY. The hotel itself has a little lounge chair area at the beach front which should have been nice. But there were dogs lying underneath every single lounge chair. I'm talking 6 mangy dogs just lying under the chairs. Please keep in mind that these dogs were not collared and that rabies exists in the Philippines.

When we told the woman behind reception she looked at us like "what do you want me to do about it?". I would have been a nervous wreck if I had children with me because the dogs often snarled and bared teeth with one another. Basically, it was a pack of wild dogs allowed to run around the complex. It probably didnt help that the restaurant fed some of them rice at the back door.

This place would be perfect if they could do 2 things - get more service oriented (either get better people, or train the people you have), and get rid of those dogs.

Wouldn't stay here again because of those last two factors. It's a shame though, the location is great.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyWorldTraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Stayed 5 nights in Isis in november together with my girlfriend.
Checked out many of the hotels along the beach and this was the nicest of them all.
Walk 10 m to the beach, green grass next to the beach if you prefer to stay away from the sand. Nice restaurant. 5 min walk to the center of Alona Beach.
A bit more expencive, but the standard of the rooms are much better than the rest in this class. (we paid 2500 per night, standard price 3000). Only thing missing was a refridgeator in the room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jvmjvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tagbilaran city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2010

very good, nice place to stay..

from the office staff ( mary ann, ate daisy) to the housekeepers, (elmer a.k.a. girl, edgar, rowelyn), resto staffs ( uriel, chai2x, arvel, che2x, jim a.k.a. vice, charmaine) ,the kitchen ( kuya rex, angel, ate sesil, jan2x, kuya doreen, joseph, franz, cynthia, kuya roger) and to the head supervisor, maam maling, with jrnny ang the guard.. . .these are the friendly staffs at this resort..

loike this resort on facebook...isis bunglows on the searchbox..

thanks

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamuriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Very nice hotel, big rooms, directly on the beach! Rooms were clean, airconditioning was excellent! I can recommend to everyone!

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirdzug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

nice place, very clean...with a fantastic view, friendly staff and great service, better than average resturant, thats very close. had my coffee on the beach before day break sitting in the resturant furniture before they opened only 30 yards from my room, with my door in sight.

some problems....no road access at time of visit, had to walk thru public access, water pressure probs

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed at Isis last summer for our yearly vacation and I can say it's worth the stay. The rooms looks just like the pictures in their website. We were given the deluxe room on the second floor isolated from other rooms, so its really relaxing and you can enjoy your privacy. The staff are friendly especially the owner. The beach is great though in the afternoon a lot of boat park near the beach causing hassle when you swim. The only thing I don't like with Isis is the food. Pricey yet just so so.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tobie1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Panglao Regents Park Resort
#11 of 49 in Panglao Island
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#13 of 49 in Panglao Island
218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bohol South Beach Hotel
Bohol South Beach Hotel
#19 of 49 in Panglao Island
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 49 in Panglao Island
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pyramid Beach Resort
Pyramid Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Panglao Island
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bluewater Panglao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isis Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isis Bungalows

Property: Isis Bungalows
Address: Alona Beach, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isis Bungalows is a resort hotel in Panglao Island, Bohol Province in Central Philippines. The resort, which opened in 2005, is under Swiss supervision and boasts of affordable but world-class room accommodations and a spacious, refine, thai and filipino restaurant with a panoramic view of the sea.The resort is located right on the beach of Alona Beach, away from the traffic and the disco. The warm sea is our swimming pool.Isis Bungalows is definitely the place for those who want to experience the sun, the sand and the sea - the best that Panglao Island has to offer at that price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Isis Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isis Bungalows Hotel Panglao Island
Isis Hotel Bohol
Isis Bungalows Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing