We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing but w/pros & cons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort
Ranked #35 of 49 Hotels in Panglao Island
Malabon, Caloocan, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Refreshing but w/pros & cons”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Pros: Beachfront resort with pool that I've enjoyed very much since it's very warm in Panglao. The room is comfy and clean.

Cons: Breakfast is booked separately and the food is just ok. The free drinking water is limited. You may actually need to order/buy a bottled water since they don't serve any.

Overall, if you're looking for an affordable & good resort, stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loudhel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    154
    93
    48
    43
See reviews for
82
147
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My friend and I (there were 4 of us) stayed at Lost horizon last June and we enjoyed it.

Room - the room we got was big enough to fit 2 additional mattresses comfortably. :) It had a tv, a mini ref, a table with 2 chairs. They also have rooms with balcony, if you prefer this, inform them ahead of time.

Location - the hotel was right on Alona beach and very convenient to reach other establishments by walking,

Staff - the staff were accommodating and friendly, they were very prompt in addressing our concerns/requests.

They also have a swimming pool, restaurant and bar. The food at the restaurant was okay but a bit expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel room was full of ants I can see alooooot of them near the door inside the room, the bathroom cabinet and sink was very dirty full of sand I don't know if this hotel and its housekeeping cares about its people. Obviously it is not. To add to all of that the music that was playing was near the room location and was super noisy I want to sleep buy I can't. All the other hotels nearby was so quiet except this one. Ofcourse I will guarantee that I will not visit this hotel again!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkDragooon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lost Horizon A, General Manager at Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I was very disappointed to hear of the problem you encountered while staying with us. My staff failed to notify me of the problem with ants in your room. We always welcome guest’s comments and take appropriate action to rectify any deficiencies noted. We tracked down the problem area in the balcony coming from the ground floor. The area has been cleaned and treated to preclude reoccurrence. I apologize for your inconvenience during your visit. Again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panglao Island hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I spent the day diving Balicasag island with Lost Horizon dive centre on Bohol and was appalled by some of the diving practices they had.

The group was relatively small (only 3 guests), however, the divemaster didn't really pay much attention to the guests. One diver surfaced with only 20 bar in the tank.
Another diver attempted to ride a Turtle; a practice both distressing and dangerous for the Turtle, which can suffocate, as well as dangerous for the diver. The diver attempted this in full view of the Divemaster who didn't seem to care - he said nothing to the guest to deter him either underwater or once back on the boat.

Once back on the boat things went from bad to worse. They had a local selling all sorts of shells and shark items (teeth etc) which the Boat crew and Dive Staff encouraged us to buy.

The only reason the review was not a 1-star is because the dive sites themselves were quite nice and the room, bar and restaurant at the resort were quite nice (if a little pricey).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lost Horizon A, Manager at Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello Skyly,

We were informed by Lost Horizon resort management regarding your trip advisor entry about unsafe and unsustainable diving practices. Also we are not sure if it is addressed to us because we can’t trace your name in our records (unfortunately you only mentioned your Skyly username). We appreciate your concern because it is very much in line with our environmental advocacy and safe diving practices.
We have a freelance guide in mind who could have been the culprit. Last year he finished his initial interview, we checked his credentials and diving skills and so we gave him a chance to work with us whenever the need arises. Towards the end of his freelance work, we noticed a few negative attitudes and so I decided to not let him work with us anymore.

All our permanent staffs we are employing are undergoing regular refreshers, are renewed Padi members, working with me in environmental protection and preservation and there are with us since Feb 2008.

With regards to ending dives safely, we practiced the 50 bar ascent initiation and with safety stop included, the divers should not be lower than 30-40bar when reaching the surface.

Riding turtles; it is needless to say, that it absolutely forbidden in my dive operation to touch anything but stay away from corals and creatures. And it is the first time since I operate that something like this reached my ear.

Also it is strictly prohibited to let any shell vendor on our boats. Because of my instructions, these vendors are even stamping us as local unfriendly. But I don’t mind about it. We are also telling our guides to discourage boat crews of boats we sometimes rent, to disallow this practice.

Since we can’t trace your name, we were also asking our neighbor dive shop if they recognized you and they said yes. Were you diving with Alona Divers that time?
Hoping that you are nearby again one day, I would like to invite you for a free diving day with us. That way you could also see by yourself that our operation is very serious with regards to environmentally sound and safe diving practices.


Best regards,

Holger Horn
Managing Director
Philippine Fun Divers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the beach front for 5 days. The room is clean..reasonably affordable price with regards to room rates. The staffs are friendly too. They also offered services if you want to tour the island. We never experience the diving and snorkelling activity but they have it there. We had a great vacation..hope to see Bohol again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplemarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

stayed there for three days with my wife and mother last may 2013 the hotel is strageically located in front of the beach and they have a pool and jacuzzi this place is good value for the money and the food is reasonaly priced. There are also restaurant around if you are looking for a cheaper one. Facilities and the staff are all accomodating and good. We are definitely coming back next summer.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank django1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here with family and friends last December, we booked a sunview room and a deluxe room..the sunview room had toilet problems...really old aircon had a man to actually to do something about it but it was no use..was still very hot in the room...so we complained about it when we checked out,we stayed for 2 nights, and they apologized and just gave us some discount...as for the deluxe room..not too good really dark room so opted for a modern room but it was full,was offered the junior suite with a jacuzzi...more expensive but spacious,had a terrace but the jacuzzi wasnt working...if we ever go back to Panglao we would try another hotel..would give this a 2 out of 5...the only good thing about this hotel is the location.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank natalie623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
losthorizonresort, General Manager at Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I appreciate all the comments received from all of our guests. I evaluate all these comments and take appropriate measures to correct any deficiencies noted. You stated in your review that you stayed with us during December. I assume that was 2012. During June and July 2012 we completely renovated all deluxe rooms and 1 suite room (SVR). We installed new split type Air Cons, changed all overhead lighting, purchased new King/Twin beds with 13” mattresses, installed on demand water heaters, installed tiled headboards with bed lamps on each side and purchased new night stands for all rooms. The suite room has a 2 Hp split type air con. This month we installed phones in all rooms with NDD/IDD capability. I hope to see you in the future and you can evaluate our renovation. Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#13 of 49 in Panglao Island
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Panglao Regents Park Resort
#12 of 49 in Panglao Island
527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isis Bungalows
Isis Bungalows
#23 of 49 in Panglao Island
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 49 in Panglao Island
180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bohol South Beach Hotel
Bohol South Beach Hotel
#21 of 49 in Panglao Island
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lost Horizon Dive Resort Annex
Lost Horizon Dive Resort Annex
#26 of 49 in Panglao Island
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort

Property: Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort
Address: Alona Beach Rd, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort offers low price accommodations with restaurant, Bar and beach BBQ as well as a live band 6 days a week, located in the famous Alona Beach, Panglao Island, Bohol, Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Horizon Hotel Panglao Island
Lost Horizon Panglao
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing